Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Photo Sharing & Visual Enjoyment Astronomy & Celestial
Thread started 25 Jun 2017 (Sunday) 15:34
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Beginner questions.

Bassat
"I am still in my underwear."
6,288 posts
Joined Oct 2015
Bourbon, Indiana - USA
Jun 25, 2017 15:34 |  #1

I am an experienced amateur shooter, but know nothing of astrophotography. My grandson wants a telescope. I have considered photography with it. I may at some point buy a motor thingy to track objects with, but I will never stack multiple photos or that kind of stuff. Some serious moon shots and maybe the gas giants if I can pull them in.

What kind of 'scope' do I need/want. I am looking at a 120mm refractor and 6" reflector. The 6" gets me more glass on target, and costs less, but requires collimating from time to time. I can just just 'point and look' with the refractor. I could stretch the budget to an 8" reflector, if the gain over 6" is significant. Photography is not required, but would be nice at some future point. I just want to buy enough 'scope' so the kid finds it interesting.

If the photography is too involved, I won't mess with it. In that case, should I just get the kid a 90mm refractor?

Tom

TCampbell
Joined Apr 2012
Jun 25, 2017 16:25 |  #2

Since you're just starting out, I'd skip astrophotography and just get an 8" dobsonian reflector. This will be a completely manual scope and it won't be suited to astrophotography but it will be easy to use and affordable.

Keep reading if you want more details on options...