Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos The Business of Photography
Thread started 26 Aug 2017 (Saturday) 22:50
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Architecture and Photography

Architective
175 posts
Joined Mar 2009
Aug 26, 2017 22:50 |  #1

I've had this post in my mind for a while. It may ramble a bit, but I want to give the whole picture.

I am an Architect by trade, and have been at it about 15 years to get to the point that I am at in my life. I am an Associate, coming up on partner at my firm. The firm is successful and I feel that I am a big part of it. I love my job, for the most part, and I work my ass off.

Since 2009, I've had an architectural photography business that has gradually ramped up as I've gotten better skills and equipment. It's to the point now that I make about half of my daytime income with this business, and I only do it part time. The best times to shoot for architecture are typically when people aren't in facilities, so nights, lunch and weekends are when I'm available with my own time. I shoot for Contractors, other Architects, Product Manufacturers, and a variety of people in the industry that I'm in. I don't shoot for other people during my day job - 8 to 5 except lunch occasionally.

I really enjoy shooting. I even enjoy the editing and making beautiful pictures of architecture, and I've gotten really good.