Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Data Storage, Memory Cards & Backup
Thread started 01 Sep 2017 (Friday) 14:01
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Synology Diskstation

 
thc1979
Senior Member
thc1979's Avatar
Joined Jun 2014
East of England
Sep 01, 2017 14:01 |  #1

Hi all our server at work finally gave up the ghost today after many years. We had already decided we didn't really need a full server as there are only a few of us in the office, so we are think of a NAS, something like a Synology DS416 Diskstation, with possibly 4 x 3TB drives.

Question is how does it actually work? We have a total of 12TB and I am hoping to run a RAID5 setup. I don't completely understand it though. Do the PC's see it as 4 drives or 1 drive? How much room is allocated to it. The Synology site isn't very informative about all this, hopefully someone on here is using one and can enlighten me! I know someone who has one similar (he's currently on holiday) which he said worked a bit like Dropbox.

Many thanks,


Canon EOS 1D X Mark II | Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II, Tough TG-4 | Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM, TS-E 24.0mm f/3.5 L II, EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM, EF 50mm f/1.4 USM, EF 16-35 f/4 L IS USM, EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM | Samyang 24mm f/1.4 ED AS UMC | Canon Speedlite 430EX II, Dedicated flash ST-E3 RT controller , Speedlite 600EX-RT | Yongnuo YN 600EX RT

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
mike_d
Goldmember
mike_d's Avatar
4,917 posts
Joined Aug 2009
Post has been last edited 21 days ago by mike_d. 2 edits done in total.
Sep 01, 2017 14:18 |  #2

thc1979 wrote in post #18442280 (external link)
Hi all our server at work finally gave up the ghost today after many years. We had already decided we didn't really need a full server as there are only a few of us in the office, so we are think of a NAS, something like a Synology DS416 Diskstation, with possibly 4 x 3TB drives.

Question is how does it actually work? We have a total of 12TB and I am hoping to run a RAID5 setup. I don't completely understand it though. Do the PC's see it as 4 drives or 1 drive? How much room is allocated to it. The Synology site isn't very informative about all this, hopefully someone on here is using one and can enlighten me! I know someone who has one similar (he's currently on holiday) which he said worked a bit like Dropbox.

Many thanks,

A Synology (or any NAS) will share one or more folder to the network. Other devices will just see those shares. They will not see the underlying RAID configuration. You manage the Synology from a web browser.

First, I wouldn't use RAID5 because it has some limitations. Synology has their version of RAID5 called SHR which allows you to expand an array in ways that traditional RAID5 cannot. A 4x3TB array will have 9 TB usable since you lose one drive to redundancy.

For an array that large, I would use SHR6 which is Synology's version of RAID6. SHR2/RAID6 allow TWO drives to fail before the entire array fails. The problem with large RAID5 arrays is that you often discover a second bad drive when you're rebuilding from a failed drive. Then your whole array dies.

RAID6/SHR2 reduces this risk but costs you two drive's worth of capacity. So your 4x3TB array would only have 6 TB of usable storage (50% efficient). I recommend looking at the 8 bay Synologys. An 8x3TB SHR2 array would have 18 GB of usable storage (75% efficient) but I would start with larger drives if you're already using 12 TB. As your needs grow, smaller drives can be swapped out for larger ones and the array expanded without your users even knowing, aside from some reduced performance during the process.




LOG IN TO REPLY
thc1979
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
thc1979's Avatar
Joined Jun 2014
East of England
Post has been edited 21 days ago by thc1979.
Sep 01, 2017 14:56 as a reply to mike_d's post |  #3

Thanks Mike. Currently our office stuff totals all of 400GB, photography stuff 1.6TB. I think an 8 bay would be too much for us at the moment cost-wise. Whilst writing this I have ordered the DS916+ and 4 x 4TB WD RED disks. The 916+ allows for expansion via the e-SATA port, although presumably a disk could be pulled and replaced with larger? (when they're a bit cheaper!)


Canon EOS 1D X Mark II | Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II, Tough TG-4 | Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM, TS-E 24.0mm f/3.5 L II, EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM, EF 50mm f/1.4 USM, EF 16-35 f/4 L IS USM, EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM | Samyang 24mm f/1.4 ED AS UMC | Canon Speedlite 430EX II, Dedicated flash ST-E3 RT controller , Speedlite 600EX-RT | Yongnuo YN 600EX RT

LOG IN TO REPLY
mike_d
Goldmember
mike_d's Avatar
4,917 posts
Joined Aug 2009
Sep 01, 2017 15:44 |  #4

thc1979 wrote in post #18442316 (external link)
Thanks Mike. Currently our office stuff totals all of 400GB, photography stuff 1.6TB. I think an 8 bay would be too much for us at the moment cost-wise. Whilst writing this I have ordered the DS916+ and 4 x 4TB WD RED disks. The 916+ allows for expansion via the e-SATA port, although presumably a disk could be pulled and replaced with larger? (when they're a bit cheaper!)

Yes, you can always expand any of them with larger drives. Where does the 12 TB number come from? That's a big difference from the 2 TB referenced above.




LOG IN TO REPLY
thc1979
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
thc1979's Avatar
Joined Jun 2014
East of England
Post has been edited 21 days ago by thc1979.
Sep 01, 2017 15:50 as a reply to mike_d's post |  #5

2tb is what we are currently using (total file sizes). 12tb is what I was planning on getting but I've opted for 16 which should if I'm correct mean 8tb useable and allow for plenty more photos!

Edit: sorry when i said "we have 12tb" I meant as in the example


Canon EOS 1D X Mark II | Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II, Tough TG-4 | Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM, TS-E 24.0mm f/3.5 L II, EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM, EF 50mm f/1.4 USM, EF 16-35 f/4 L IS USM, EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM | Samyang 24mm f/1.4 ED AS UMC | Canon Speedlite 430EX II, Dedicated flash ST-E3 RT controller , Speedlite 600EX-RT | Yongnuo YN 600EX RT

LOG IN TO REPLY
mike_d
Goldmember
mike_d's Avatar
4,917 posts
Joined Aug 2009
Sep 01, 2017 16:07 |  #6

thc1979 wrote in post #18442341 (external link)
2tb is what we are currently using (total file sizes). 12tb is what I was planning on getting but I've opted for 16 which should if I'm correct mean 8tb useable and allow for plenty more photos!

Edit: sorry when i said "we have 12tb" I meant as in the example

OK. Your 4x4TB array with RAID5/SHR will give you 12 TB usable space. You always lose 1 drive's worth of space in RAID5. That'll be fine.




LOG IN TO REPLY
thc1979
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
thc1979's Avatar
Joined Jun 2014
East of England
Sep 01, 2017 16:12 as a reply to mike_d's post |  #7

Based on what you said I think we'll go with raid6


Canon EOS 1D X Mark II | Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II, Tough TG-4 | Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM, TS-E 24.0mm f/3.5 L II, EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM, EF 50mm f/1.4 USM, EF 16-35 f/4 L IS USM, EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM | Samyang 24mm f/1.4 ED AS UMC | Canon Speedlite 430EX II, Dedicated flash ST-E3 RT controller , Speedlite 600EX-RT | Yongnuo YN 600EX RT

LOG IN TO REPLY
mdelrossi
Member
59 posts
Joined Jul 2009
Brooklyn NY
Sep 02, 2017 15:38 as a reply to thc1979's post |  #8

I use a ds1814 and use it as a time machine back up and photo archive.
One great thing about is that you can attach a USB drive to it and have it back up the photo archive to it automatically.
The important thing is to have redundancy. And a current offsite backup.
Good luck
mdr


Corporate: www.delrossiphotograph​y.comexternal link
Family: www.michaeldelrossipho​tography.comexternal link
Facebook:www.facebook.​com/MichaelDelRossiPho​tography

LOG IN TO REPLY
mike_d
Goldmember
mike_d's Avatar
4,917 posts
Joined Aug 2009
Sep 02, 2017 15:41 |  #9

mdelrossi wrote in post #18443046 (external link)
I use a ds1814 and use it as a time machine back up and photo archive.
One great thing about is that you can attach a USB drive to it and have it back up the photo archive to it automatically.
The important thing is to have redundancy. And a current offsite backup.
Good luck
mdr

Important point. RAID is not a replacement for backups.




LOG IN TO REPLY
thc1979
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
thc1979's Avatar
Joined Jun 2014
East of England
Sep 02, 2017 16:00 as a reply to mike_d's post |  #10

I'm still looking at backups but initially what I'm avoiding is drive failure.


Canon EOS 1D X Mark II | Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II, Tough TG-4 | Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM, TS-E 24.0mm f/3.5 L II, EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM, EF 50mm f/1.4 USM, EF 16-35 f/4 L IS USM, EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM | Samyang 24mm f/1.4 ED AS UMC | Canon Speedlite 430EX II, Dedicated flash ST-E3 RT controller , Speedlite 600EX-RT | Yongnuo YN 600EX RT

LOG IN TO REPLY
thc1979
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
thc1979's Avatar
Joined Jun 2014
East of England
Sep 07, 2017 10:20 |  #11

Well, not very impressed with Synology. Virtually no instructions and currently just a flashing blue light.


Canon EOS 1D X Mark II | Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II, Tough TG-4 | Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM, TS-E 24.0mm f/3.5 L II, EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM, EF 50mm f/1.4 USM, EF 16-35 f/4 L IS USM, EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM | Samyang 24mm f/1.4 ED AS UMC | Canon Speedlite 430EX II, Dedicated flash ST-E3 RT controller , Speedlite 600EX-RT | Yongnuo YN 600EX RT

LOG IN TO REPLY
mike_d
Goldmember
mike_d's Avatar
4,917 posts
Joined Aug 2009
Sep 07, 2017 14:07 |  #12

thc1979 wrote in post #18446640 (external link)
Well, not very impressed with Synology. Virtually no instructions and currently just a flashing blue light.

They have lots of documentation online. Download the Synology Assistant to get started. The Synology is managed through a web interface once you know the IP address. You should set a static IP as soon as possible.




LOG IN TO REPLY
thc1979
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
thc1979's Avatar
Joined Jun 2014
East of England
Sep 07, 2017 14:50 |  #13

I've turned it all off for now. One fairly major problem is that three of the fours will not load


Canon EOS 1D X Mark II | Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II, Tough TG-4 | Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM, TS-E 24.0mm f/3.5 L II, EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM, EF 50mm f/1.4 USM, EF 16-35 f/4 L IS USM, EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM | Samyang 24mm f/1.4 ED AS UMC | Canon Speedlite 430EX II, Dedicated flash ST-E3 RT controller , Speedlite 600EX-RT | Yongnuo YN 600EX RT

LOG IN TO REPLY
thc1979
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
thc1979's Avatar
Joined Jun 2014
East of England
Sep 08, 2017 02:06 |  #14

All identical disks, only one is recognised. Cannot find a way to see if the SATA ports are disabled etc.


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.

Canon EOS 1D X Mark II | Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II, Tough TG-4 | Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM, EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM, TS-E 24.0mm f/3.5 L II, EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM, EF 50mm f/1.4 USM, EF 16-35 f/4 L IS USM, EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM | Samyang 24mm f/1.4 ED AS UMC | Canon Speedlite 430EX II, Dedicated flash ST-E3 RT controller , Speedlite 600EX-RT | Yongnuo YN 600EX RT

LOG IN TO REPLY
mike_d
Goldmember
mike_d's Avatar
4,917 posts
Joined Aug 2009
Post has been edited 14 days ago by mike_d.
Sep 08, 2017 11:37 |  #15

thc1979 wrote in post #18447114 (external link)
All identical disks, only one is recognised. Cannot find a way to see if the SATA ports are disabled etc.


thumbnailHosted photo: posted by thc1979 in
./showthread.php?p=184​47114&i=i154783830
forum: Data Storage, Memory Cards & Backup

I'm not sure why your's looks different (I have the latest DSM) but when I go to Storage Manager (on the DSM desktop), HDD/SSD tab (on the left) I see all of my disks and which volume they're assigned to. I'm wondering if you're in the wrong screen. AFAIK there's no way to disable or enable the SATA ports.

Edit: I just found the screen you're showing. Have you tried going to Storage Manager and assigning disk(s) to a volume?




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

848 views & 1 like for this thread
Synology Diskstation
FORUMS General Gear Talk Data Storage, Memory Cards & Backup


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00113 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is CalifDan1951
824 guests, 284 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016