Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS General Gear Talk Data Storage, Memory Cards & Backup
Thread started 05 Sep 2017 (Tuesday) 11:45
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

File naming/structure before importing into LR

dhyana
49 posts
Joined Jan 2010
Sep 05, 2017 11:45 |  #1

I am a hobbyist/enthusiast and new to LR. I am looking for suggestions on how to structure/name file folders for simplicity.
All my folders have the default YY_MM_DD format from Canon's EOS utility, but I realize that built in filters in LR can easily sort by date, if needed - so its kinda redundant.
I have seen some useful B&H videos on LR organization, but the recommendations seem more applicable/relevant to professionals (with lots of events, jobs, locations, clientele etc. to keep track of). If you have developed a good/simple system for yourself, I'd like to know.
Thanks, in advance!

"Visits always give pleasure - if not the arrival, the departure."
- a Portuguese proverb

sponsored links
john ­ crossley
Goldmember
1,966 posts
Joined Nov 2009
It's Grim Up North
Sep 05, 2017 11:53 |  #2

dhyana wrote in post #18445092 (external link)
I am a hobbyist/enthusiast and new to LR. I am looking for suggestions on how to structure/name file folders for simplicity.
All my folders have the default YY_MM_DD format from Canon's EOS utility, but I realize that built in filters in LR can easily sort by date, if needed - so its kinda redundant.