Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre Astronomy & Celestial Talk
Thread started 05 Sep 2017 (Tuesday) 15:16
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Is this normal?

TomCruise06
Joined Jun 2017
Post has been edited 1 month ago by TomCruise06.
Sep 05, 2017 15:16 |  #1

Hi all,

I bought the Rokinon 14mm 2.8 recently for Astro photography.

Please see this image attached (cropped)and let me know if the lens is good? The stars are like distorted. I am an amateur so not good with the technical terms or to find if the lens is flawless. I am still u see the 1 year warranty if that would help.

Thank you so much for your help.

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.

sponsored links
katodog
Goldmember
4,038 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Joined Nov 2008
Carol Stream, Illinois
Sep 05, 2017 20:13 |  #2

First problem is focusing, that's always a trick getting perfect. The other thing is that you have to remember that the Earth rotates, which makes the sky move. Unless you're using a tracking mount you're not going to get pinpoint stars.

The only stupid question is the one that goes unasked - Photographers shoot to thrill, not to kill
My Gear- Flickr (external link) - Facebook (external link) - Smoke Photography - - Sound-Activated Paint

TomCruise06
THREAD ­ STARTER
Joined Jun 2017
Sep 05, 2017 23:22 as a reply to katodog's post |  #3

I totally agree that I am going to get star trails and I am fine with that. But if you see the pic above, those are not trails. Some sort of distortion like - each star has a beard. Is this something called the mustache distortion???