Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers
Thread started 15 Sep 2017 (Friday) 00:11
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

What is your monitor profile look like after calibrated

 
walkien
Senior Member
784 posts
Joined Sep 2003
West Covina, CA
Sep 15, 2017 00:11 |  #1

I think I need to upgrade my 5 years old monitor

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.

Canon 1D Mark II N, Canon 5D Mark II with grip, Canon 7D II with grip, Canon 10D with grip, broken Canon G2. 28-135 mm IS, 50 mm F1.8 II, 24-70 f2.8L, 70-200 f2.8L IS, 70-200 f4 L, 85 f1.8, 100 macro 2.8 IS
420 EX/580 EX/580EXII, 2 600 EX-RT, Bogen 3321 tripod
Sekonic L-358 Flash Meter, 2 Alien Bees b800, 60" umbrella, large octogon softboxes LightSphere II, Omnibounce. Tronix Explorer 1200, pocket wizard

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Scatterbrained
Cream of the Crop
Scatterbrained's Avatar
Joined Jan 2010
Chula Vista, CA
Sep 15, 2017 00:48 |  #2

I would have to agree. Fortunately for me, my almost 8 year old monitor is still hanging in.

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.

VanillaImaging.com (external link)"Vacuous images for the Vapid consumer"
500px (external link)
flickr (external link)
1x (external link)
instagram (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
walkien
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
784 posts
Joined Sep 2003
West Covina, CA
Sep 15, 2017 03:12 as a reply to Scatterbrained's post |  #3

Wow...your profile is almost perfect, I could never get close to 60% for RGB, and 70% SRGB .
Do you mind show me your calibration process?

Here's my procedures:
1. reset monitor setting to factory default (75% brightness, 75% contrast)
2. turn off all the lights in the room
3. start the Spyder 4 Pro calibration
4. follow the instruction to adjust the monitor brightness to match the cd m2
5. save the profile.

Please advise


Canon 1D Mark II N, Canon 5D Mark II with grip, Canon 7D II with grip, Canon 10D with grip, broken Canon G2. 28-135 mm IS, 50 mm F1.8 II, 24-70 f2.8L, 70-200 f2.8L IS, 70-200 f4 L, 85 f1.8, 100 macro 2.8 IS
420 EX/580 EX/580EXII, 2 600 EX-RT, Bogen 3321 tripod
Sekonic L-358 Flash Meter, 2 Alien Bees b800, 60" umbrella, large octogon softboxes LightSphere II, Omnibounce. Tronix Explorer 1200, pocket wizard

LOG IN TO REPLY
Scatterbrained
Cream of the Crop
Scatterbrained's Avatar
Joined Jan 2010
Chula Vista, CA
Sep 15, 2017 03:45 |  #4

I set the Gamma (2.2), Brightness (142cd/m), and Color Temp (6500k) as per Spyder software recommendation. After that I let the software do it's thing. It's really just a factor of the monitor I'm using (NEC PA241W).


VanillaImaging.com (external link)"Vacuous images for the Vapid consumer"
500px (external link)
flickr (external link)
1x (external link)
instagram (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
walkien
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
784 posts
Joined Sep 2003
West Covina, CA
Sep 15, 2017 04:10 as a reply to Scatterbrained's post |  #5

do you turn off all light before the calibration?


Canon 1D Mark II N, Canon 5D Mark II with grip, Canon 7D II with grip, Canon 10D with grip, broken Canon G2. 28-135 mm IS, 50 mm F1.8 II, 24-70 f2.8L, 70-200 f2.8L IS, 70-200 f4 L, 85 f1.8, 100 macro 2.8 IS
420 EX/580 EX/580EXII, 2 600 EX-RT, Bogen 3321 tripod
Sekonic L-358 Flash Meter, 2 Alien Bees b800, 60" umbrella, large octogon softboxes LightSphere II, Omnibounce. Tronix Explorer 1200, pocket wizard

LOG IN TO REPLY
Scatterbrained
Cream of the Crop
Scatterbrained's Avatar
Joined Jan 2010
Chula Vista, CA
Sep 15, 2017 04:18 |  #6

I usually keep a desk lamp on, but I have a hood on my monitor so the desk lamp doesn't effect it.


VanillaImaging.com (external link)"Vacuous images for the Vapid consumer"
500px (external link)
flickr (external link)
1x (external link)
instagram (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
Mark ­ Vuleta
Goldmember
Mark Vuleta's Avatar
Joined Aug 2006
Auckland NZ
Post has been edited 2 months ago by Mark Vuleta.
Sep 15, 2017 04:41 |  #7

walkien wrote in post #18452686 (external link)
I think I need to upgrade my 5 years old monitor

Yep, that's pretty poor alright.

I see your adjusting your screen brightness but are doing anything the RGB sliders??

What brightness are you working off?, in a dark room with lights out, it should be pretty low, around 80 - 90 cd/m or even lower.

EDIT: Actually, it may be as designed. from the spec's on that monitor Colour gamut:72 % of NTSC.
Working from memory, NTSC & sRGB are fairly close so your plot may be spot on. Still, pretty poor then and very much so now.




LOG IN TO REPLY
walkien
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
784 posts
Joined Sep 2003
West Covina, CA
Sep 15, 2017 04:53 as a reply to Mark Vuleta's post |  #8

I have the RGB sliders disable. Please advise
I set the working brightness to 90 cd m2

after the calibration, it software set the white point to 5000k, brightness to 90


Canon 1D Mark II N, Canon 5D Mark II with grip, Canon 7D II with grip, Canon 10D with grip, broken Canon G2. 28-135 mm IS, 50 mm F1.8 II, 24-70 f2.8L, 70-200 f2.8L IS, 70-200 f4 L, 85 f1.8, 100 macro 2.8 IS
420 EX/580 EX/580EXII, 2 600 EX-RT, Bogen 3321 tripod
Sekonic L-358 Flash Meter, 2 Alien Bees b800, 60" umbrella, large octogon softboxes LightSphere II, Omnibounce. Tronix Explorer 1200, pocket wizard

LOG IN TO REPLY
Mark ­ Vuleta
Goldmember
Mark Vuleta's Avatar
Joined Aug 2006
Auckland NZ
Sep 15, 2017 04:57 |  #9

I edited my post regarding the colour gamut of the screen.

Your brightness seems to be fine but why are you setting your colour temp so low. Most run around 6500k.




LOG IN TO REPLY
walkien
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
784 posts
Joined Sep 2003
West Covina, CA
Sep 15, 2017 05:08 |  #10

Mark Vuleta wrote in post #18452776 (external link)
I edited my post regarding the colour gamut of the screen.

Your brightness seems to be fine but why are you setting your colour temp so low. Most run around 6500k.

I set color temp at 6500k, but SpyderPro recommend target setting to 5000K during the calibration


Canon 1D Mark II N, Canon 5D Mark II with grip, Canon 7D II with grip, Canon 10D with grip, broken Canon G2. 28-135 mm IS, 50 mm F1.8 II, 24-70 f2.8L, 70-200 f2.8L IS, 70-200 f4 L, 85 f1.8, 100 macro 2.8 IS
420 EX/580 EX/580EXII, 2 600 EX-RT, Bogen 3321 tripod
Sekonic L-358 Flash Meter, 2 Alien Bees b800, 60" umbrella, large octogon softboxes LightSphere II, Omnibounce. Tronix Explorer 1200, pocket wizard

LOG IN TO REPLY
Mark ­ Vuleta
Goldmember
Mark Vuleta's Avatar
Joined Aug 2006
Auckland NZ
Sep 15, 2017 05:13 |  #11

I don't know why they want that. 6500k is standard.

If you were doing a lot of printing yourself, i.e. at home, it may be advantageous but if your images are mainly for web or monitor display, I don't see any use.

As I said in my earlier edited post, it may be all that this monitor is capable of.




LOG IN TO REPLY
walkien
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
784 posts
Joined Sep 2003
West Covina, CA
Sep 15, 2017 05:22 as a reply to Mark Vuleta's post |  #12

I will try "Keep current setting" as 6500k and 120 cd m2 instead of "Accept suggest settings"

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.

Canon 1D Mark II N, Canon 5D Mark II with grip, Canon 7D II with grip, Canon 10D with grip, broken Canon G2. 28-135 mm IS, 50 mm F1.8 II, 24-70 f2.8L, 70-200 f2.8L IS, 70-200 f4 L, 85 f1.8, 100 macro 2.8 IS
420 EX/580 EX/580EXII, 2 600 EX-RT, Bogen 3321 tripod
Sekonic L-358 Flash Meter, 2 Alien Bees b800, 60" umbrella, large octogon softboxes LightSphere II, Omnibounce. Tronix Explorer 1200, pocket wizard

LOG IN TO REPLY
Moppie
Moderator
Moppie's Avatar
14,715 posts
Gallery: 19 photos
Joined Sep 2004
Akarana, Aotearoa. (Kiwiland)
Sep 18, 2017 04:28 |  #13

walkien wrote in post #18452778 (external link)
I set color temp at 6500k, but SpyderPro recommend target setting to 5000K during the calibration

The spyder sets recommended targets based on the ambient light in the room. If you don't have day light balanced bulbs are working under artificial light, then it will often suggest a non standard white balance to try and compensate.

But, unless your monitor works at a different native white balance, then you should set it to 6500K.

The brightness, or luminance level can be set to the recommended level, but you need to be very careful about bright light sources in a dark space, they can throw it off, leaving you with a brightness setting that is to high, making it impossible to accurately judge whites and light greys.
We run monitors in our studio with a value of 90 cd/m2, but the recommended value based on the meter reading is 120 or higher depending on what model lights or over hear lights we have on around the work station. Doing the calibration with a brightness level above 90 is to bright for the generally very dark studio. In the office however, which has large windows and lots of light, we use 120.


However, for a monitor like a Dell 2209 you really can't expect to much. It's a nice monitor, but is not designed to be used for anything colour accurate. It's a mid level business monitor, something nicer than a cheap TN panel for a large workforce to use. It's designed to make Outlook and your business software look good.


flickrexternal link

Have you Calibrated your Monkey lately?

LOG IN TO REPLY
Tacroy00
Member
30 posts
Joined Jun 2009
Sep 20, 2017 19:03 |  #14

You might also want to try display cal. It is alternate calibration software. I have had really good luck with it!




LOG IN TO REPLY
rantercsr
Goldmember
rantercsr's Avatar
Joined Mar 2014
Sep 20, 2017 20:08 |  #15

Apologies if this is off topic...
When editing photos i always need to bring sauration down so that things look pretty pale.. so that when i export sturation wil look right... more so with skin tones.
If i dont do this and make things how i want it to look as a final product then when i export sometimes people look way too orange or red.

Does this issue have anything to do with monitor calibration?
Ive never color calibrated my monitor, purchased about 9 months ago.. though its supposed to be pretty decent in color accuracy


Canon 5DIV*T4i/10-18/24 f2.8/ 35 f1.4Lii /50 f1.4/ 85 f1.8
Pentax k1000* k50 f2*135 f2.
Fuji XT2 // 23 f2/ 50 f2
https://www.instagram.​com/shotbypops/ (external link) MYflickr (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

1,283 views & 0 likes for this thread
What is your monitor profile look like after calibrated
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00119 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.03s
Latest registered member is mrvair
973 guests, 509 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017