Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos The Business of Photography
Thread started 13 Oct 2017 (Friday) 20:04
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Need some career advice

Lifestylechoice
Mostly Lurking
11 posts
Joined Oct 2017
Kitchener, Canada
Oct 13, 2017 20:04 |  #1

Hi everyone,

So this is the first time I am posting here, (slightly long post)

I am currently in my last year of university enrolled in General BA at Laurier, I did 2 years in Business Technology Management, but didn't enjoy it that much. So now I am doing a general degree which doesn't really help in the real world.

I know I want to do automotive photography, and that is where my passion lies. I just needed some advice as to how to reach my goal of being a photographer for automotive magazines, and commercial work for car brands. This is probably a generic post of yet another person trying to go pro. And I know there are lots of automotive photographers out there, but I am sure I enjoy it, and I know it isn't the easy path.

Anyways, I have been working on my short-term goal at the moment, which is to work for a company that reviews cars as their in-house photography, get some connections and learn as much as possible. Apart from getting myself out there and setting up a portfolio. (Which I have been working on this past summer, and will continue to do), what should I be doing? I usually do client shoots, but I never know how to approach them and convince them to pay me.