Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting
Thread started 15 Oct 2017 (Sunday) 15:21
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Profoto vs Broncolor

Ratishaw
Hatchling
2 posts
Joined Oct 2017
Oct 15, 2017 15:21 |  #1

Hiya -

I'm a portrait and fashion photographer. I've built a business on less expensive lights but I need to upgrade to more robust lights and have narrowed down my choices to Profoto and Broncolor. There are pros and cons to each and I'm struggling with making a choice based on one particular hangup.

I love parabolic umbrellas but am concerned that the recessed bulb in the B1 and D2 may not make the best use of a parabolic design. Has anyone used a B1 or D1/D2 with either a Broncolor or Westcott (Zeppelin) parabolic umbrella? Is this something I should be concerned with?

Cheers and thank you!

CV

sponsored links
RandallB
Joined Mar 2013
Montreal
Oct 16, 2017 07:49 |  #2

This is what pushed my decision to Broncolor. If you google profoto/broncolor para there should be a few reviews discussing this. Most find using a recessed tube doesnt get the best performance out of a para.

6D w/Vello grip, 650 w/Canon grip, 85 1.8, 16-35L, 40mm 2.8, 100mm 2.8 L Macro Broncolor Siros 400S
BOWIE RIP!

Alveric
Goldmember
Joined Jan 2011
Canada
Oct 16, 2017 12:19 |  #3

I've never cared for Profoto's redefinition of 'bare bulb'. It still looks more like a flashgun design to me, with the light being projected rather than going in ~360° all around (a true bare bulb). When I was using brollies with flashguns, I did not get an even fill, but more of a hot spot.