Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS General Gear Talk Camera Vs. Camera
Thread started 20 Oct 2017 (Friday) 11:02
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

trying full-frame on family shoot - which Canon body?

jamsomito
Joined Apr 2016
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Oct 20, 2017 11:02 |  #1

I've decided to rent a full frame body to try out on a family photo shoot in the next few weeks. I've been shooting crop bodies for about 10 years and would just like to get my feet wet. I also want it to be worth the money, so I want the best results for the money. My local camera shop doesn't have a great selection, but provided me with a discount code for lensrentals.com that would more or less cover shipping costs, which is fine by me. So, which would you choose?

1. 6D mk1 - $70/7days
2. 6D mk2 - $120/7days
3. 5D mk3 - $116/7days

5D4 seems marginally better for a lot more money, so I'm not considering it. If you must know, it's $168/7days.

I'll also be renting a lens along with it, either an 85 f/1.2 mk2 or 50 f/1.2.

I'll be shooting kids, who will likely be pretty active, and I tend to use focus points all over the viewfinder. I like the price of the 6D mk1, but I think I'd benefit from the additional focus points in the 6D mk2 or 5D mk3.

Thoughts? Many thanks in advance.

sponsored links
MalVeauX
"Looks rough and well used"
Joined Feb 2013
Florida
Oct 20, 2017 11:21 |  #2

Heya,