Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers
Thread started 21 Oct 2017 (Saturday) 11:00
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

no video just stills. is this good enough computer

 
Ltdave
Goldmember
Joined Apr 2012
the farthest point east in michigan
Oct 21, 2017 11:00 |  #1

Dell - Inspiron 15.6" Laptop - Intel Core i7 - 16GB Memory - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 - 512GB Solid State Drive

ill be saving 90% of my work on a portable hard drive so im not overly concerned with only 512g of hard drive




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
davesrose
Goldmember
2,869 posts
Joined Apr 2007
Atlanta, GA
Oct 21, 2017 20:30 |  #2

Yes, that configuration should be more then adequate for PS or Lightroom.


Canon 5D mk III , 7D mk II
EF 135mm 2.0L, EF 70-200mm 2.8L IS II, EF 24-70 2.8L II, EF 50mm 1.4, EF 100mm 2.8L Macro, EF 16-35mm 4L IS, Sigma 150-600mm C, 580EX, 600EX-RT, MeFoto Globetrotter tripod, grips, Black Rapid RS-7, CAMS plate and strap system, Lowepro Flipside 500 AW, and a few other things...
smugmug (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
MalVeauX
"Looks rough and well used"
MalVeauX's Avatar
Joined Feb 2013
Florida
Oct 21, 2017 20:36 |  #3

Tons and tons of cycles and memory for basic still photo editing of file sizes of the 5D3.

But, depends on your level of pixel editing actually. It could be vast overkill for basic RAW handling and minor edits. It could also be just enough for someone that regularly creates 4Gb+ single image files in Photoshop via massive amounts of layering.

Very best,


My Flickr (external link) :: My Astrobin (external link) :: Canon 135L For Sale | Canon 17-40L For Sale | Canon 50mm STM For Sale | YN622C-TX & YN622C x 2 For Sale

LOG IN TO REPLY
Wilt
Reader's Digest Condensed version of War and Peace [POTN Vol 1]
Wilt's Avatar
39,172 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Joined Aug 2005
Belmont, CA
Post has been edited 1 month ago by Wilt.
Oct 22, 2017 01:31 |  #4

Well someone seems to be the 'victim' of good marketing, fueling your doubts about adequacy of a PC configuration.
I still use a Win7 PC with 2.6GHz dual core Pentium processor with only 6GB of RAM, a NVIDIA GEforce 700 to drive a 2560x1440 IPS monitor, a 512GB spinning drive, to run LR 5.7 to edit 7DII images.
OTOH I have not used LR brushes very much at all, I simply have not found the need.


You need to give me OK to edit your image and repost! Keep POTN alive and well with member support http://photography-on-the.net/forum/donate.p​hp
Canon dSLR system, Olympus OM 35mm system, Bronica ETRSi 645 system, Horseman LS 4x5 system, Metz flashes, Dynalite studio lighting, and too many accessories to mention

LOG IN TO REPLY
EverydayGetaway
Cream of the Crop
EverydayGetaway's Avatar
Joined Oct 2012
Bowie, MD
Oct 22, 2017 11:33 |  #5

Wilt wrote in post #18478063 (external link)
Well someone seems to be the 'victim' of good marketing, fueling your doubts about adequacy of a PC configuration.
I still use a Win7 PC with 2.6GHz dual core Pentium processor with only 6GB of RAM, a NVIDIA GEforce 700 to drive a 2560x1440 IPS monitor, a 512GB spinning drive, to run LR 5.7 to edit 7DII images.
OTOH I have not used LR brushes very much at all, I simply have not found the need.

Solid points.

You really don't need a lot of hardware to edit photos. There's not a huge speed difference with LR between my desktop (i7 3960x, 2x GTX 980 Ti SLI, 16gb of RAM, and a Samsung EVO 850 SSD) and my Surface Pro 4 (i5, 4gb of RAM).

The only time I notice a big difference is when the RAM fills up on the Surface, as long as you have 8gb of RAM it'll never be an issue in my experience.


Fuji X-Pro2 // Fuji X-T1 // Fuji X-100T // XF 18mm f2 // XF 35mm f1.4 // XF 60mm f2.4 // Rokinon 12mm f2 // Rokinon 21mm f1.4 // XF 18-55mm f/2.8-4 // XF 55-200mm f3.5-4.8 // Rokinon 85mm f1.4 // Zhonghi Lensturbo ii // Various adapted MF lenses
flickr (external link) // Instagram (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
7,460 posts
Joined May 2003
Southeast Pennsylvania
Post has been edited 1 month ago by John from PA.
Oct 22, 2017 11:59 |  #6

Ltdave wrote in post #18477536 (external link)
Dell - Inspiron 15.6" Laptop - Intel Core i7 - 16GB Memory - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 - 512GB Solid State Drive

Tell us a bit about what you are currently using. The results of something as simple as an upgrade to a SSD can be absolutely amazing. A 512 GB Samsung drive would cost you about $250.




LOG IN TO REPLY
Ltdave
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Joined Apr 2012
the farthest point east in michigan
Oct 22, 2017 12:38 |  #7

John from PA wrote in post #18478326 (external link)
Tell us a bit about what you are currently using. The results of something as simple as an upgrade to a SSD can be absolutely amazing. A 512 GB Samsung drive would cost you about $250.


6gb ram on a 7yr old Inspiron 15 something (15.6" screen)...
512gb hard drive...
i3 processor 2330 @ 2.2ghz
dead battery...
1 dead USB port...
a couple of dead (or almost dead) keys...
broken case...

LR 5.7.1


honestly i wish i had bought 2 of the 2-in-1s like my wifes when i got her a new computer about a year or so ago...




LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
7,460 posts
Joined May 2003
Southeast Pennsylvania
Oct 22, 2017 12:43 |  #8

Ltdave wrote in post #18478346 (external link)
6gb ram on a 7yr old Inspiron 15 something (15.6" screen)...
512gb hard drive...
i3 processor 2330 @ 2.2ghz
dead battery...
1 dead USB port...
a couple of dead (or almost dead) keys...
broken case...

LR 5.7.1

honestly i wish i had bought 2 of the 2-in-1s like my wifes when i got her a new computer about a year or so ago...

Probably not worth trying to recover. Keep your eyes on the PC Magazine deals page at https://www.pcmag.com/​best-deals-today (external link). Some good deals there.




LOG IN TO REPLY
PineBomb
I have many notable flaws
PineBomb's Avatar
Joined Apr 2014
Psych Ward, East Wing, USA
Post has been edited 1 month ago by PineBomb.
Oct 22, 2017 13:03 |  #9

Ltdave wrote in post #18478346 (external link)
dead battery...
1 dead USB port...
a couple of dead (or almost dead) keys...
broken case...

On the bright side of things it sounds as if you wrung every bit of life out of it.


-Matt
Website (external link) | flickr (external link) | instagram (external link) | street portrait project on instagram (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
Wilt
Reader's Digest Condensed version of War and Peace [POTN Vol 1]
Wilt's Avatar
39,172 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Joined Aug 2005
Belmont, CA
Oct 22, 2017 13:17 |  #10

Folks keep trying to do image processing on a laptop, when the typical laptop has inadequate monitor quality!
IMHO the minimum your laptop should be able to provide IPS 1920 x 1080 screen res, even better would be a laptop that could support driving an external IPS 27" monitor with 256x1440 resolution.

Unfortunately, PC manufacturers are very coy in divulging information about their laptops and SCREEN RES is one of those specs they all too frequently HIDE from us in their web sites, and sometimes you have to wade deeply into the purchase configuration process to even discover what options are offered!


You need to give me OK to edit your image and repost! Keep POTN alive and well with member support http://photography-on-the.net/forum/donate.p​hp
Canon dSLR system, Olympus OM 35mm system, Bronica ETRSi 645 system, Horseman LS 4x5 system, Metz flashes, Dynalite studio lighting, and too many accessories to mention

LOG IN TO REPLY
EverydayGetaway
Cream of the Crop
EverydayGetaway's Avatar
Joined Oct 2012
Bowie, MD
Oct 22, 2017 14:07 |  #11

Wilt wrote in post #18478366 (external link)
Folks keep trying to do image processing on a laptop, when the typical laptop has inadequate monitor quality!
IMHO the minimum your laptop should be able to provide IPS 1920 x 1080 screen res, even better would be a laptop that could support driving an external IPS 27" monitor with 256x1440 resolution.

Unfortunately, PC manufacturers are very coy in divulging information about their laptops and SCREEN RES is one of those specs they all too frequently HIDE from us in their web sites, and sometimes you have to wade deeply into the purchase configuration process to even discover what options are offered!

Screen quality was actually the main factor in me choosing a Surface Pro.


Fuji X-Pro2 // Fuji X-T1 // Fuji X-100T // XF 18mm f2 // XF 35mm f1.4 // XF 60mm f2.4 // Rokinon 12mm f2 // Rokinon 21mm f1.4 // XF 18-55mm f/2.8-4 // XF 55-200mm f3.5-4.8 // Rokinon 85mm f1.4 // Zhonghi Lensturbo ii // Various adapted MF lenses
flickr (external link) // Instagram (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
7,460 posts
Joined May 2003
Southeast Pennsylvania
Oct 22, 2017 14:11 |  #12

Wilt wrote in post #18478366 (external link)
Folks keep trying to do image processing on a laptop, when the typical laptop has inadequate monitor quality!
IMHO the minimum your laptop should be able to provide IPS 1920 x 1080 screen res, even better would be a laptop that could support driving an external IPS 27" monitor with 256x1440 resolution.

Unfortunately, PC manufacturers are very coy in divulging information about their laptops and SCREEN RES is one of those specs they all too frequently HIDE from us in their web sites, and sometimes you have to wade deeply into the purchase configuration process to even discover what options are offered!

Actually as demand for IPS has increased I find that manufacturers do commonly make note of the applicable specs. Sure you have to look for it, but these days when you likely are spending more than $1000, you should be wading through the purchase configuration.

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.



LOG IN TO REPLY
davesrose
Goldmember
2,869 posts
Joined Apr 2007
Atlanta, GA
Oct 22, 2017 14:58 |  #13

Wilt wrote in post #18478366 (external link)
Folks keep trying to do image processing on a laptop, when the typical laptop has inadequate monitor quality!
IMHO the minimum your laptop should be able to provide IPS 1920 x 1080 screen res, even better would be a laptop that could support driving an external IPS 27" monitor with 256x1440 resolution.

Unfortunately, PC manufacturers are very coy in divulging information about their laptops and SCREEN RES is one of those specs they all too frequently HIDE from us in their web sites, and sometimes you have to wade deeply into the purchase configuration process to even discover what options are offered!

Not for current laptops. Many new laptops are IPS with resolutions past 1920x1080. I recently bought another laptop, and saw that most manufacturers gave their specs for displays (15 and 17" displays now have options for 1080p or 3840x2160...and IPS seems to be the standard). HP Spectre x2 12" laptop is 3000x2000 IPS. Even integrated Intel graphics have supposed to have improved in performance (to be able to drive resolutions past 1080P)


Canon 5D mk III , 7D mk II
EF 135mm 2.0L, EF 70-200mm 2.8L IS II, EF 24-70 2.8L II, EF 50mm 1.4, EF 100mm 2.8L Macro, EF 16-35mm 4L IS, Sigma 150-600mm C, 580EX, 600EX-RT, MeFoto Globetrotter tripod, grips, Black Rapid RS-7, CAMS plate and strap system, Lowepro Flipside 500 AW, and a few other things...
smugmug (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
Archibald
You must be quackers!
Archibald's Avatar
Joined May 2008
Calgary
Oct 22, 2017 15:33 |  #14

John from PA wrote in post #18478326 (external link)
Tell us a bit about what you are currently using. The results of something as simple as an upgrade to a SSD can be absolutely amazing. A 512 GB Samsung drive would cost you about $250.

An SSD makes practically no difference for LR performance. I've tried it. No noticeable difference. But big hassles in eventually transferring files to a bigger HDD when the SSD fills up.


Pentax Spotmatic F with 28/3.5, 50/1.4, 50/1.8, 135/3.5; Canon digital gear
C&C always welcome.
Picture editing OK

LOG IN TO REPLY
tim
Light Bringer
tim's Avatar
50,862 posts
Joined Nov 2004
Wellington, New Zealand
Post has been edited 1 month ago by tim.
Oct 22, 2017 15:34 |  #15

Make sure you keep at least two copies of all your important data. Cloud backup is one good way to do this.

There's a 3-2-1 rule for data. It's something like three copies, two different media (two different disks), at least one offsite. I use Amazon S3 and Amazon Glacier for some of my backups. They each keep your data in multiple data centers.


Professional wedding photographer, solution architect and general technical guy with multiple Amazon Web Services certifications.
Read all my FAQs (wedding, printing, lighting, books, etc)

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

1,448 views & 8 likes for this thread
no video just stills. is this good enough computer
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00137 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.06s
Latest registered member is Fishingaddict
931 guests, 435 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016