Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > Talk About Photography > General Photography Talk
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18th of March 2006 (Sat)   #1
Transportithere
Senior Member
 
Transportithere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Puget Sound, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,089
Question Fat or fat 32 when formatting CF card?

Fat or fat 32 when formatting CF card?
__________________
POTN is a wonderful source of information.
POTN has taken me around the world.
Transportithere is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 18th of March 2006 (Sat)   #2
madferrit
Senior Member
 
madferrit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,043
Default Re: Fat or fat 32 when formatting CF card?

I can't remember, but don't you just format it in the camera?
__________________
My Canon can.. I just need to find out how
madferrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th of March 2006 (Sat)   #3
Transportithere
Senior Member
 
Transportithere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Puget Sound, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,089
Default Re: Fat or fat 32 when formatting CF card?

I want to do it on the computer.
I guess I could re-format with the camera.
My CF card had a bunch of junk in the trunk. The camera format would not get rid of it.
I mentioned it on a thread and was directed to another thread that said to format.
The computer gave me a number of format options..I did a fat format.
So I did, I will need to try the camera again.. I will keep you posted.
__________________
POTN is a wonderful source of information.
POTN has taken me around the world.

Last edited by Transportithere : 18th of March 2006 (Sat) at 04:14.
Transportithere is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 18th of March 2006 (Sat)   #4
Transportithere
Senior Member
 
Transportithere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Puget Sound, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,089
Default Re: Fat or fat 32 when formatting CF card?

fat works fat 32 will work also. its a matter of manageing disk/card space. do you want blocks of 64 or blocks of 32. You 'can' depending on the size of you photo, get twice as many photos on a disk/card with fat 32.

The reason I ask was because in the canonmsc file had a group of files that the camera would not delete, taking up memory...
by formating on the computer I cleared the memory completely.
__________________
POTN is a wonderful source of information.
POTN has taken me around the world.
Transportithere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th of March 2006 (Sat)   #5
kevin harding
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 19
Default Re: Fat or fat 32 when formatting CF card?

The camera is just going to recreate the 'canonmsc' folder once you plug the card in and take photos... It's safer to format the cards in the camera so that you avoid any chance of corruption.

Also, some higher capacity cards should only be formatted in FAT32, I believe.
__________________
kevin harding | photography
eos 300D
70-300 f3.5/5.6
18-55 kit
50mm 1.8
580ex flashgun
kevin harding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th of March 2006 (Sat)   #6
Jon
Moderator

Cocker Spaniel Mod

 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 67,582
Default Re: Fat or fat 32 when formatting CF card?

I believe the 300D will support FAT32; if it doesn't, just reformat in-camera and it'll make it FAT16. But the folders will be re-created regardless of how and where you format it when the camera sees that blank card.
__________________
Jon
----------

Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities


Image Posting Rules
and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th of March 2006 (Mon)   #7
Nidz
Goldmember
 
Nidz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: VIC, Australia
Posts: 2,407
Default Re: Fat or fat 32 when formatting CF card?

FAT 32 is what most things up to windows 98 will use.. FAT16 is oldschool.. Used for small capacity drives back in the old DOS days.
__________________
Stop or I'll shoot!

CANON DIGITAL REBEL XT


Nidz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th of March 2006 (Mon)   #8
dpastern
User is banned from forums
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ipswich, Queensland, Australia
Posts: 13,765
Default Re: Fat or fat 32 when formatting CF card?

Fat 8 is old days, fat 16 was used up to and including Windows 95 (windows 95B supported fat32, as did NT4). Fat 32 allows for smaller cluster sizes of data on the disk, and that's desirable. Fat 16 (from memory), has a cluster size of 4k, so if the file is say, 6k, it'll use 2 clusters, wasting 2k effectively. Fat 32 has (from memory), 16k clusters, making it that much more efficient. NTFS (NT file system) is even better, and adds ACL (Access Control Listing) controls to data as well. This is all old school, cos Unix systems like UFS and NFS have been allowing this for many years. Linux supports more file systems than you can poke a stick at as well these days.

In a nutshell, go with fat32. Format the card in the camera.

Dave

PS From memory, there are differences in the compression algorithms that fat16/32 use as well, and that does affect the overall size of data that's being stored on a disk.
dpastern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st of March 2006 (Tue)   #9
Jon
Moderator

Cocker Spaniel Mod

 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 67,582
Default Re: Fat or fat 32 when formatting CF card?

FAT16 vs FAT32 won't appreciably affect card capacity since the files are so (relatively) large. FAT32, however, lets you go beyond 2 GB in card sizes, if the camera supports it.
__________________
Jon
----------

Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities


Image Posting Rules
and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st of March 2006 (Tue)   #10
nat869
Member
 
nat869's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: South San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 936
Default Re: Fat or fat 32 when formatting CF card?

Format in the camera, less likely to have problems that way.
__________________
Canon 5D with grip
50mm 1.4, 24-70 2.8L, 70-200 IS 2.8L, 300mm f4, 100mm 2.8, 1.4 teleconverter, 12mm & 25mm extension tubes
Tamron 17-35 2.8-4
550EX and MR-14EX
nat869 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st of March 2006 (Tue)   #11
CyberDyneSystems
Admin (type T-2000)
 
CyberDyneSystems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Providence RI
Posts: 39,824
Default Re: Fat or fat 32 when formatting CF card?

FAT 16 is limited to 2GB partitions... ie it won't support a card larger than 2GB.
FAT16 cluster size @ 2GB partition is 32KB with 65,526 clusters (FAT16's max).

300D will support FAT32 and will use FAT32 for cards larger than 2GB.
FAT32 has a max FAT table of 524,208 clusters whose size can vary from 4KB to 32KB. Thus FAT32 can use a 4KB cluster size up to an 8GB partition.. after that cluster sizes go up to 8KB, 16KB and so on.

Why format a 4GB card on PC?

With Microdrives,. they perform MUCH quicker using a larger cluster size (and thus smaller FAT)
So format with FAT32 and a 32KB cluster size in Windows...

I doubt this cluster size issue plays much of a factor with solid state CF cards of 4GB or larger.

Last edited by CyberDyneSystems : 21st of March 2006 (Tue) at 15:59.
CyberDyneSystems is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th of March 2006 (Sun)   #12
sumunz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2
Default Re: Fat or fat 32 when formatting CF card?

I just purchased camera and new to it all.. How do you format a memory card?
sumunz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th of March 2006 (Mon)   #13
G M Fude
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 61
Default Re: Fat or fat 32 when formatting CF card?

There'll be a menu item under Settings, sumunz, titled 'Format card' or something like that. Be aware that formatting the card erases every single photo or video on it... everything.

If you tell us which model you have, we can give more detailed instructions (assuming you've lost the Owners Manual that came with your new camera, because that'll have full details on formatting too).
__________________
Steve
G M Fude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do I look fat to you? rw2 Birds 5 17th of March 2007 (Sat) 19:45
Do you think I look Fat? Miniflash Wildlife 3 20th of February 2007 (Tue) 18:51
Compatiblity of FAT 32 with the 5D adcolon Canon EOS Digital Cameras 4 17th of May 2006 (Wed) 04:19
Where’s all the fat gone? larlen Wildlife 6 2nd of June 2005 (Thu) 13:49


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.