Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Data Storage, Memory Cards & Backup
Thread started 25 Nov 2017 (Saturday) 09:20
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

6dmk2 - wifi backup?

 
kaitanium
Goldmember
kaitanium's Avatar
3,890 posts
Joined Sep 2005
Sacramento/San Francisco USA
Post has been edited 17 days ago by kaitanium.
Nov 25, 2017 09:20 |  #1

Does anyone know of an option out there where I can auto-backup as I shoot wirelessly to a harddrive (no computer or phone) of some sort in my backpack? Does my camera even allow something like this? Can the canon connect station do this?




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
mike_d
Cream of the Crop
mike_d's Avatar
5,012 posts
Joined Aug 2009
Nov 26, 2017 15:12 |  #2

Even if it could, it would be v e r y s l o w.




LOG IN TO REPLY
joeseph
"smells like turd"
joeseph's Avatar
Joined Jan 2004
Auckland, New Zealand
Nov 29, 2017 03:16 |  #3

From a speed perspective & given the 6D2 doesn't seem to have 5GHz wifi built in, then real-world transfer speeds would probably be less than 70Mb/s, meaning a full res file (say 33MB) would take close to 4 seconds to transfer under ideal conditions if my maths is correct. In our neck of the woods, the 2.4G wifi bands are usually heavily congested, so transfer time could well be double that.


some fairly old canon camera stuff, canon lenses, Manfrotto "thingy", 1D MK II converted for IR, and now an M5
TF posting: here :-)

LOG IN TO REPLY
kaitanium
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
kaitanium's Avatar
3,890 posts
Joined Sep 2005
Sacramento/San Francisco USA
Post has been edited 13 days ago by kaitanium.
Nov 29, 2017 11:41 |  #4

i guess i would be a solo use case as regular wifi speeds are good enough for me especially if the camera is running all day and the hdd is running all day in my backpack backing up (battery life would probably be another issue). Its not like ill need to man the backup while im shooting throughout the day. I use regular 2.4ghz backing up my raw files via wifi and the speeds are more than bearable

Ill dream on, one day!




LOG IN TO REPLY
kaitanium
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
kaitanium's Avatar
3,890 posts
Joined Sep 2005
Sacramento/San Francisco USA
Dec 07, 2017 12:00 |  #5

This is beast
https://www.indiegogo.​com ...eless-camera-controller#/ (external link)

but sadly need a computer as no hdd will support this standalone




LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
7,501 posts
Joined May 2003
Southeast Pennsylvania
Dec 07, 2017 12:34 |  #6

kaitanium wrote in post #18512698 (external link)
This is beast
https://www.indiegogo.​com ...eless-camera-controller#/ (external link)

but sadly need a computer as no hdd will support this standalone

Why introduce more hardware into the situation? Use multiple relatively small cards and in the evening properly back them up.




LOG IN TO REPLY
kaitanium
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
kaitanium's Avatar
3,890 posts
Joined Sep 2005
Sacramento/San Francisco USA
Dec 07, 2017 14:02 |  #7

John from PA wrote in post #18512714 (external link)
Why introduce more hardware into the situation? Use multiple relatively small cards and in the evening properly back them up.

This is all personal preference. I do not want to get home at 12AM from an event and sit there backing things up (or spend that same time the next day). Better to back things up as the day goes, get home, sleep, wake up, plug in hdd, edit away.




LOG IN TO REPLY
mike_d
Cream of the Crop
mike_d's Avatar
5,012 posts
Joined Aug 2009
Dec 07, 2017 15:04 |  #8

Honestly, I wouldn't do paid work without dual-slot camera set to mirror everything to both cards. Boom. Instant backup.




LOG IN TO REPLY
kaitanium
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
kaitanium's Avatar
3,890 posts
Joined Sep 2005
Sacramento/San Francisco USA
Dec 07, 2017 16:54 |  #9

mike_d wrote in post #18512827 (external link)
Honestly, I wouldn't do paid work without dual-slot camera set to mirror everything to both cards. Boom. Instant backup.

except youll still have to transfer images at the end of the day.




LOG IN TO REPLY
mike_d
Cream of the Crop
mike_d's Avatar
5,012 posts
Joined Aug 2009
Dec 07, 2017 18:15 |  #10

kaitanium wrote in post #18512895 (external link)
except youll still have to transfer images at the end of the day.

Sure, but I can start an import into Lightroom and go to bed. Importing and backing up are really separate issues.




LOG IN TO REPLY
kaitanium
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
kaitanium's Avatar
3,890 posts
Joined Sep 2005
Sacramento/San Francisco USA
Dec 07, 2017 23:31 |  #11

mike_d wrote in post #18512936 (external link)
Sure, but I can start an import into Lightroom and go to bed. Importing and backing up are really separate issues.

my import is the backup. well at least my current workflow is. then ill back it up again somewhere else. That way i have 3 copies 1. on the sd card, 2. on the work hdd, 3. elsewhere.




LOG IN TO REPLY
mike_d
Cream of the Crop
mike_d's Avatar
5,012 posts
Joined Aug 2009
Dec 07, 2017 23:33 |  #12

kaitanium wrote in post #18513092 (external link)
my import is the backup. well at least my current workflow is. then ill back it up again somewhere else. That way i have 3 copies 1. on the sd card, 2. on the work hdd, 3. elsewhere.

What happens if your memory card dies during a shoot?




LOG IN TO REPLY
kaitanium
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
kaitanium's Avatar
3,890 posts
Joined Sep 2005
Sacramento/San Francisco USA
Dec 08, 2017 00:42 |  #13

mike_d wrote in post #18513094 (external link)
What happens if your memory card dies during a shoot?

it has before actually and sandisks rescue pro actually works wonders. I probably lost 2 pics out of the 900 that were on that card.




LOG IN TO REPLY
joeseph
"smells like turd"
joeseph's Avatar
Joined Jan 2004
Auckland, New Zealand
Dec 08, 2017 02:45 |  #14

And when it loses the lot?


some fairly old canon camera stuff, canon lenses, Manfrotto "thingy", 1D MK II converted for IR, and now an M5
TF posting: here :-)

LOG IN TO REPLY
kaitanium
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
kaitanium's Avatar
3,890 posts
Joined Sep 2005
Sacramento/San Francisco USA
Dec 08, 2017 10:23 |  #15

joeseph wrote in post #18513145 (external link)
And when it loses the lot?

i was saying the entire card went kaput and i was able to rescue 898 of the 900.




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

297 views & 0 likes for this thread
6dmk2 - wifi backup?
FORUMS General Gear Talk Data Storage, Memory Cards & Backup


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00139 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is mrvair
987 guests, 485 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017