Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS General Gear Talk Changing Camera Brands
Thread started 28 Nov 2017 (Tuesday) 13:15
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

From 6D --> D750 for Wedding Photography

chexjc
Joined Sep 2014
Post has been last edited 13 days ago by chexjc. 2 edits done in total.
Nov 28, 2017 13:15 |  #1

I've been a part-time wedding photographer for a few years now and I'm looking at going full-time for next year. Having recently sold one of my two 6D bodies, I'm in the market for a second camera. I prefer to shoot with two bodies and primes. In an ideal world, I would have two bodies with dual SD card slots. As I'm looking at the 5D3, I'm doing some math:

What I have:

6D
17-40L
35mm ART

50 STM
85 1.8
135L

Twist 60

I only ever use the lenses in bold, especially when it comes to weddings. It would be cheaper for me to sell all of this (for an estimated $3,220) and pick up the following than it would be to buy a 5D3 (used market value of $1,600):

D750
D750
24 f1.8G
35mm f1.4G
85mm f1.8G

Estimated cost: $4,075
Net loss: $855