Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses
Thread started 08 Jan 2018 (Monday) 12:40
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

What Prime would you suggest?

 
anitaw2
Member
anitaw2's Avatar
236 posts
Joined Jun 2015
Canada
Jan 08, 2018 12:40 |  #1

ok, I'm sure this question has been asked a number of times, but I'm starting a new thread. I was having problems with my 85mm 1.8 on my 7D. I tried it on my daughter's camera canon T5 and on a canon 6D and it worked perfectly. I have a canon 7D and it just wont lock focus most of the time so this lens is not meant to be ...I bought it used. I love the look of the 135L lens so It was suggested the 85mm.

What are your suggestions for under $1000. I know most of you tried every lens on the market and you know which ones to keep away from and which ones you love. Any suggestions would be much appreciated. I would even buy a new canon 85mm 1.8 because when it did lock focus, it was beautiful.


Anita W.

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
ed ­ rader
"I am not the final word"
ed rader's Avatar
22,691 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Joined May 2005
silicon valley
Jan 08, 2018 12:46 |  #2

if the 85 wasn't locking focus there was an issue with the lens, the camera or the operator.


http://instagram.com/e​draderphotography/ (external link)
5D4, 80d, 16-35L III, 24-70L II, 70-200L F4 IS, 100-400L II, sigma 15mm FE, 35mm ef-s macro, 430exII, gitzo 3542, markins Q10, kirk, really right stuff

LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
TeamSpeed's Avatar
32,638 posts
Gallery: 63 photos
Joined May 2002
Northern Indiana
Post has been edited 10 days ago by TeamSpeed.
Jan 08, 2018 12:50 |  #3

Amazon..... (that is the prime I use)


:D

That being said, I agree with Ed, there is something wrong that should be addressed. You don't want to use the 6D as it can focus in much lower light than the 7D and could give false impressions about any capability or lack of with the 7D, but I would run more tests side by side with the T5 perhaps? Same scene, etc...


Past Equipment | My Gallery (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
cristphoto
Senior Member
817 posts
Joined Feb 2010
Maryland
Jan 09, 2018 07:34 |  #4

Per your post it sounds like the problem is with the camera since the same lens focuses fine on two other bodies. Have you tried another lens on the 7D?


5D MKIV, 5D MKIII, 1D MKIV, 24L II, 35L, 50L, 85L II, 100L Macro, 135L, 300LIS, 16-35L, 24-70L, 70-200LIS, 100-400LIS

LOG IN TO REPLY
MalVeauX
"Looks rough and well used"
MalVeauX's Avatar
Joined Feb 2013
Florida
Jan 09, 2018 08:06 |  #5

The issue is most likely with the camera body and/or the operator. If the lens operates appropriately on other camera bodies, then something is likely going on with your current camera body and it's settings and how your AF is setup, which is operator choices. I think we've been through all of your 85 & 7D MFA and AF issue threads and all. I know you've done some MFA with your 7D and the 85, but not really sure how accurate it was done.

Did you ever perform the dot tune MFA method?

Very best,


My Flickr (external link) :: My Astrobin (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
Left ­ Handed ­ Brisket
That's my line!
Left Handed Brisket's Avatar
Joined Jun 2011
The Uwharrie Mts, NC
Jan 09, 2018 08:21 |  #6

I agree that the problem is likely not the lens.


PSA: The above post may contain sarcasm, reply at your own risk | Formerly he's gone before apostrophe-gate | Not in gear database: Canon 70-210 3.5-4.5, Auto Sears 50mm 2.0 / 3x CL-360, Nikon SB-28, SunPak auto 322 D, Minolta 20

LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
TeamSpeed's Avatar
32,638 posts
Gallery: 63 photos
Joined May 2002
Northern Indiana
Post has been edited 9 days ago by TeamSpeed.
Jan 09, 2018 12:45 as a reply to MalVeauX's post |  #7

AFMA itself won't likely cause AF acquisition issues, it is a final step motor change at the end of the focusing function as a positional offset.

However, it is possible other AF changes or functions on the 7D might be causing issues perhaps, as you have pointed out. It might be best to do a complete factory reset on the 7D and start over?


Past Equipment | My Gallery (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
anitaw2
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
anitaw2's Avatar
236 posts
Joined Jun 2015
Canada
Jan 09, 2018 13:33 |  #8

cristphoto wrote in post #18536967 (external link)
Per your post it sounds like the problem is with the camera since the same lens focuses fine on two other bodies. Have you tried another lens on the 7D?

I have a canon 70-200 f4 and Sigma 17-70 2.8 and they work great. I rarely if ever miss focus.


Anita W.

LOG IN TO REPLY
anitaw2
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
anitaw2's Avatar
236 posts
Joined Jun 2015
Canada
Jan 09, 2018 13:34 |  #9

TeamSpeed wrote in post #18537187 (external link)
AFMA itself won't likely cause AF acquisition issues, it is a final step motor change at the end of the focusing function as a positional offset.

However, it is possible other AF changes or functions on the 7D might be causing issues perhaps, as you have pointed out. It might be best to do a complete factory reset on the 7D and start over?

Good Idea


Anita W.

LOG IN TO REPLY
anitaw2
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
anitaw2's Avatar
236 posts
Joined Jun 2015
Canada
Jan 10, 2018 08:32 |  #10

Got home last night, did a reset on my camera and took out the battery. Put the battery back in, tried the lens and it seems to be focusing perfectly and fast. I just played with it in the house (it is freezing out) so on the weekend, I'm going to try it outside. I hope this fixed the problem but now I'm stumped because my 2 other lenses were working perfectly...


Anita W.

LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
TeamSpeed's Avatar
32,638 posts
Gallery: 63 photos
Joined May 2002
Northern Indiana
Post has been edited 9 days ago by TeamSpeed.
Jan 10, 2018 08:42 |  #11

It has been shown that sometimes a complete reset will fix random issues that pop up with AF. I don't believe we have ever figured it out, but that is the reason the suggestion to do a reset is given so many times. Just like Windows boxes, sometimes a reboot just fixes things inexplicably. :)

In other situations, even a reflash of the same firmware you have might fix issues. Again, this is inexplicable. My guess is that system level registry values and settings that the user cannot directly influence get corrupted, and a reset and/or firmware reflash resets all of that back, ie. there might be a memory leak in the Canon firmware code that corrupts AF tables, etc.


Past Equipment | My Gallery (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
cristphoto
Senior Member
817 posts
Joined Feb 2010
Maryland
Jan 10, 2018 08:57 |  #12

anitaw2 wrote in post #18537779 (external link)
Got home last night, did a reset on my camera and took out the battery. Put the battery back in, tried the lens and it seems to be focusing perfectly and fast. I just played with it in the house (it is freezing out) so on the weekend, I'm going to try it outside. I hope this fixed the problem but now I'm stumped because my 2 other lenses were working perfectly...

Yes it is perplexing. Perhaps there was a micro-adjustment setting in the body for the suspect lens. But even that should just be a fine tuning adjustment at best - not enough to throw images out of focus. Glad to hear you have it solved.


5D MKIV, 5D MKIII, 1D MKIV, 24L II, 35L, 50L, 85L II, 100L Macro, 135L, 300LIS, 16-35L, 24-70L, 70-200LIS, 100-400LIS

LOG IN TO REPLY
anitaw2
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
anitaw2's Avatar
236 posts
Joined Jun 2015
Canada
Jan 10, 2018 18:36 |  #13

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.
after rebooting my camera, I shot this with the 85mm (focus on nose)...what do you think? it looks like it's focusing a lot better. I will try shooting outside this weekend and see if the focus is better.

Anita W.

LOG IN TO REPLY
zoom_zoom
Senior Member
881 posts
Joined Dec 2008
AB, Canada
Jan 11, 2018 04:59 |  #14

Focus looks good to me. Looks like the reset worked.




LOG IN TO REPLY
Soft ­ Focus
Member
Joined Dec 2017
Mill Valley, Ca
Jan 11, 2018 06:36 |  #15

Sometimes you can get some crud on the contacts, which causes problems. Taking the lens off and on will then wipe the crud off and everything works fine, leaving you scratching your head.




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

996 views & 2 likes for this thread
What Prime would you suggest?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00117 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.03s
Latest registered member is TheSandValor
950 guests, 489 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017