Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing
Thread started 09 Jan 2018 (Tuesday) 05:07
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Photoshop help, please

MatthewK
Goldmember
Joined Apr 2009
Maryland
Jan 09, 2018 05:07 |  #1

Hey everyone, I need an assist with Photoshop CC. I've searched online, watched videos, trial & error'd in PS itself, and I can't seem to find the answer. More than likely I'm not using the correct search terms, so my results aren't landing. I'm usually very savvy with software (I do IT for a living), but PS is giving me fits. So, I'm hoping to get some expert advice from POTN photogs before I pull my hair out.

Simple, really: pretend that you're editing a headshot portrait, and you want to do three things: 1) remove fly-away hairs, 2) whiten teeth, 3) & 4) remove bags from under eyes (one layer for each). How do you do each one as it's own layer?

What I'm doing: first thing I do is create a Background copy, and work from there. From there, I have it in my mind that you create a layer for each of the (4) edits above, so you'd end up with 6 total layers (bg, bg-copy, hair, teeth, eye 1, eye 2). Yet, that isn't going so smoothly...