Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 21 Jan 2018 (Sunday) 15:27
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Orange CTO for Flash questions

stanwelks
166 posts
Joined Dec 2010

Jan 21, 2018 15:27 |  #1

I'm new to working with flash photography.

1. When shooting in tungsten lighting with a flash do you just put a orange CTO on the flash and white balance using the tungsten preset?

2. Does it matter what strength of orange CTO should be used?

3. When shooting during golden hour, does it matter what strength of orange CTO you put on the flash? Which WB preset should be used?

Thanks.

sponsored links
MalVeauX
"Looks rough and well used"
12,673 posts
Gallery: 1080 photos
Best ofs: 2
Joined Feb 2013

Jan 21, 2018 15:51 |  #2

1) Flash is approximately daylight temperature (5200k +/- a little bit). So when you use a CTO on it, you're warming it to match ambient, assuming ambient is warm light (like tungsten). So if you use tungsten white balance, it should appear neutral, and the warmed flash will blend in and also appear neutral, if you wish it to. I would suggest you ensure you shoot RAW so you can change white balance after the fact to taste.