Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 01 Feb 2018 (Thursday) 16:19
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

help, please <3 - I am a Geologist struggling to find the proper camera settings (Canon Rebel XT)

Kat9055
23 posts
Joined Feb 2018
Feb 01, 2018 16:19 |  #1

Hi, my name is Kat and I am a geologist with a small, environmental consulting firm. I work at a drill-site, where I take photos of sediments (dirt...) every 5-ft, using a camera stand to make sure the photos are consistent. We use a gray card in every photo and a Canon Ring Flash. We post-process the photos using Photoshop.

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.

I am newly in charge of post-processing these photos and they are INCREDIBLY inconsistent! My problem is that there are several geologists and although we all use the same model camera, because of light changing with weather and throughout the day, user error (I have some older coworkers that struggle with technology), and camera settings, our photographs often are dark and blue tinted, or sometimes over-exposed using the same settings.

I have been trying to learn what I can to find the best settings, but my supervisor wants to use only one setting that is unchanging, despite changing environments, otherwise, she thinks the photos will be too inconsistent among different geologists.

Is there a setting I can use that will reduce the amount of post-processing (especially color)? Or any other advice??

Here are some examples of samples taken from the same camera with the same settings: