Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre Astronomy & Celestial Talk 
Thread started 14 Feb 2018 (Wednesday) 03:01
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Focusing!

Jocce
236 posts
Gallery: 12 photos
Joined Jun 2012

Feb 14, 2018 03:01 |  #1

So, I'm new to the Astoscape Photography.

One of the hard things is to get the focus correctly.

Right now I am using live-view and 10x magnification and trying to get the focus correct.
But this is REALLY hard when it is pitch black outside and just looking at a small single star in the live view.

So, any more tips about this?

(Using a Mark IV and Samyang 14mm/2,8)

/Jocce

Feel free to correct my English. I'm from Sweden ;)

My Website (external link)
Fotointresse.se (external link)
Twitter (external link)

sponsored links
DesolateMirror
302 posts
Gallery: 62 photos
Joined Oct 2015

Feb 14, 2018 05:47 |  #2

Some people focus the lens during the day and mark it with tape or just tape it in position but changes in temperature can throw that out a bit. Some focus on a bright object in the distance.

Considering the hyperfocul distance for your setup should be about 7.62 ft, focusing anywhere past that (but not past infinity, which these lenses can do) should get the stars in focus, but the lenses aren't always made with the best quality control and the focus ring can be a bit off with the measurements.

This blog recommends 10ft: http://intothenightpho​to.blogspot.com.au …ng-rokinon-14mm-lens.html (external link)