Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 20 Mar 2018 (Tuesday) 10:56
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Flash Diffuser Question

tspencer1
111 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Joined Oct 2015

Mar 20, 2018 10:56 |  #1

I have been asked to do photos for a one-year old by an acquaintance. I am an amateur; skills lie in photographing marching bands and similar, not portraits.

For this session, the shoot will be indoors. I have a Canon 70D and will likely purchase this flash: https://www.bhphotovid​eo.com …ttl_camera_spee​dlite.html (external link)

I'd like to use this diffuser: https://www.amazon.com …fRID=QXZ99GNRQD​X2ZM9VED3C (external link) .

Does anyone have experience with this? Or a different recommendation?

Thanks all,

Tim

sponsored links
Gart
410 posts
Gallery: 7 photos
Joined Sep 2007

Mar 20, 2018 11:01 |  #2

I can't say anything negative about the flash. Regarding the diffuser, I would recommend watching this video to help understand what results you may get by using such: LINK (external link)

Gart

Wilt
Reader's Digest Condensed version of War and Peace [POTN Vol 1]
40,111 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Joined Aug 2005
Post edited 1 month ago by Wilt. (2 edits in all)

Mar 20, 2018 11:12 |  #3

Diffusers (softboxes or umbrellas) need to be used no farther than 2X-3X their longest dimension in order for them to create 'soft' light.