LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


How much to re-chip lens

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses
Thread started 14 Apr 2006 (Friday) 18:57   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
taemersonphotos
Hatchling
Joined Jan 2006
9 posts
central virginia
[MORE/SHARE]

Can someone tell me about how much to rechip a lens. 400mm f/5.6 sigma for canon 20d. Thanks for any help.

Post #1, Apr 14, 2006 18:57:07


Canon 20d, Sigma 70-200mm F2.8, Sigma 120-300mmF2.8, Sigma 17-70mm 2.8-4.5,Canon 24mm F2.8, Canon 28-135mmIS 3.5-5.6, Canon 50mm F1.8

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Tee ­ Why
"Monkey's uncle"
Tee Why's Avatar
Joined Feb 2006
10,595 posts
Pasadena, CA
[MORE/SHARE]

If Sigma can do it, it's free. All you have to do is call/e-mail to confirm that it is possible and send the lens to them with the note describing the camera(s) you are using it with.

Note that some really old or less popular lenses may not be rechipped.

Post #2, Apr 14, 2006 20:43:32


Gallery: http://tomyi.smugmug.c​om/external link

http://groups.yahoo.co​m/group/LAShooters/external link

LOG IN TO REPLY
cjm
Goldmember
cjm's Avatar
Joined Mar 2005
4,740 posts
Edmonton, Alberta
[MORE/SHARE]

Yeah but shipping there and back to you will be your cost Tee Why. As it is with everything.

Post #3, Apr 15, 2006 00:26:48


Christopher J Martin
Gear: 1D MKIII - 60D - G16 - 24mm f1.4 L
- 24-70mm F2.8 L - 70-200mm IS f2.8 L - 100-400 f4.5-5.6 IS L and more...

LOG IN TO REPLY
FlashZebra
This space available
FlashZebra's Avatar
Joined Mar 2006
4,426 posts
Northern Kentucky
[MORE/SHARE]

taemersonphotos wrote:
Can someone tell me about how much to rechip a lens. 400mm f/5.6 sigma for canon 20d. Thanks for any help.

If it is either the Sigma 400mm F5.6 APO Macro (with HSM and 77mm Filter) or the Sigma 400mm F5.6 APO Macro (without HSM, but also with a 77mm filter), you are out of luck.

I just contacted Sigma regarding this issue a few weeks ago and they no longer have the required spare parts to make the upgrade.

These particular lenses (the exact one I cite above) are very good lenses. It is too bad that Sigma cannot resurrect those out there.

In addition, these lenses are no longer produced.

Please be aware that Sigma also produced:

400mm F5.6 (this lens has a terrible reputation)
400mm F5.6 APO with 72mm filter (a decent lens, but not nearly as good as the 77mm versions) - I don't think Sigma is upgrading this lens either, but I am not positive.

Enjoy! Lon

Post #4, Apr 15, 2006 23:34:08


*
http://flashzebra.com/external link
*

LOG IN TO REPLY
ScottE
Goldmember
Joined Oct 2004
3,179 posts
Kelowna, Canada
[MORE/SHARE]

I had the 400/5.6 APO with 72 mm filter and Sigma was not able to re-chip it either.

Post #5, Apr 16, 2006 00:14:17




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)


LIST NEARBY THREADS
1,219 views & 0 likes for this thread
How much to re-chip lens
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00068 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.01s
783 guests, 507 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is PhotoKraze

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.