Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 6th of May 2006 (Sat)   #1
EOS-GD
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 9
Default is my 5D broken?

I don't know, but the noise levels I'm getting in my images @ ISO 100 seem too high. The camera has nice high-iso performance as far as noise goes, but at low ISOs, it seems to have a lot more noise then what my digital rebel was throwing into images.

Here's an example:


That shot was @ ISO100, and it's full of noise, look at the green areas above the fly.

I shoot in raw, and sharpen in post-processing. I don't think my post processing is introducing the noise, I basically do the same post processing I have always done with my 300D, but my 5D files are coming out with a lot more noise @ ISO 100.

I was told before that perhaps my raw converter is the one to blame, but I have tried both Rawshooter and ACR but both seem to produce noisy images @ ISO 100.


The majority of my work goes on stock photography websites to earn me some money, and they are sometimes rejecting my images saying they contain too much noise to be used. My 300D images were never rejected for having too much noise.

Am I being too critical? Are those noise levels acceptable for ISO 100? Is it normal to have to run neatimage on all images?
EOS-GD is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 6th of May 2006 (Sat)   #2
PacAce
Moderator
 
PacAce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: ABE, PA USA
Posts: 26,805
Default Re: is my 5D broken?

Looks OK to me. I don't really see any noise at all, at least not the kind I'm used to.
__________________
...Leo
PacAce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th of May 2006 (Sat)   #3
Blue S2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: US
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: is my 5D broken?

Are you ramping up the levels in any way??
Blue S2 is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 6th of May 2006 (Sat)   #4
Ianfp
Senior Member
 
Ianfp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: is my 5D broken?

I am very interested in this thread because I have noticed a similar effect with my 30D. I feel sure my 20D did not suffer noise quite like this, but had had my 20D in winter and 30D in warmer weather. All sensors will have an inherent noise level, which gets higher with temperature. I see noise in background sky if I crop to 100% or more at ISO 100. I tried a Nikon D50 and it didn't seem to have the same level of noise even though it was ISO200. There are 2 types of noise as I understand - Chrominance and luminance. CS2 has some good noise reducing software to enable selection of either. I think I will get used to the noise (when I get my 30D back from Canon). I still haven't fully got to grips with it though.
Your fly photo is great and unless you had mentioned the noise, Iwould not have found it to be obtrusive or indeed a problem.
I would love to read some other views on your photo!
__________________
Ian
5D2 EF17-40 f/4.0 L, EF135 f/2.0L EF200 f/2.8L
EF24-105L, EF100 f/2.8L Macro. EOS-M, 22mm f/2
Hasselblad 500C/M, Planar 80mm f/2.8
Ianfp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th of May 2006 (Sat)   #5
spaced
Member
 
spaced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North West of UK
Posts: 488
Default Re: is my 5D broken?

It looks like PP or cropping to me?

What lens was this shot taken with?
__________________
Never delete a photo.

http://www.photoboxgallery.com/macfadyen
All proceeds go to Cancer Research UK.
spaced is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th of May 2006 (Sat)   #6
EOS-GD
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 9
Default Re: is my 5D broken?

Quote:
Originally Posted by spaced
It looks like PP or cropping to me?

What lens was this shot taken with?

The only PP I did was sharpening and cropping. The crop is maybe like a 30% crop. Most of the noise was there before sharpening, I only really sharpened the fly itself.


Lens is the Canon EF 100mm F2.8 USM Macro Lens.

Here is exif:
Camera Make: Canon
Camera Model: Canon EOS 5D
Image Date: 2006:05:05 10:52:21
Flash Used: Yes (Manual)
Focal Length: 100.0mm
CCD Width: 7.41mm
Exposure Time: 0.0050 s (1/200)
Aperture: f/13.0
ISO equiv: 100
White Balance: Auto
Metering Mode: Matrix
Exposure: Manual
Exposure Mode: Manual
EOS-GD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th of May 2006 (Sat)   #7
EOS-GD
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 9
Default Re: is my 5D broken?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue S2
Are you ramping up the levels in any way??
Just some minor adjustments in ACR, but that shouldn't really introduce much noise should it? If it does, that kind of defeats the purpose of raw.
EOS-GD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th of May 2006 (Sat)   #8
PacAce
Moderator
 
PacAce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: ABE, PA USA
Posts: 26,805
Default Re: is my 5D broken?

Quote:
Originally Posted by EOS-GD
Just some minor adjustments in ACR, but that shouldn't really introduce much noise should it? If it does, that kind of defeats the purpose of raw.
Any time your exposure is under and you correct via raw converter or levels, you are going to see an increase in noise. How much you see depends on how much underexposure you corrected.
__________________
...Leo
PacAce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th of May 2006 (Sat)   #9
EOS-GD
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 9
Default Re: is my 5D broken?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PacAce
Any time your exposure is under and you correct via raw converter or levels, you are going to see an increase in noise. How much you see depends on how much underexposure you corrected.
Here's what the histogram looks on that particular raw file at "straight from camera" settings.


It IS underexposed, but I'm noticing tons of noise in other images @ ISO 100 that are not underexposed. And on this fly one for instance, I can still see noise in the photo before I even do any adjustments to the raw file.

I'm convinced my 5D is defective. I owned the 300D for 2 years and never had the image quality problems I'm having with the 5D. Is there any way to trade my 5D in for another 5D using my warranty or something? lol.

edit: Oh, I'm going to go take a few shots in my studio in a few mins. My studio shots are always perfectly exposed, I'm going to check out the noise levels from those when I'm done and post results.

Last edited by EOS-GD : 6th of May 2006 (Sat) at 19:26.
EOS-GD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of May 2006 (Sun)   #10
Ianfp
Senior Member
 
Ianfp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: is my 5D broken?

I think within 28 days, Canon will replace a defective camera, but after that it is warranty repair if they think there is a fault.
__________________
Ian
5D2 EF17-40 f/4.0 L, EF135 f/2.0L EF200 f/2.8L
EF24-105L, EF100 f/2.8L Macro. EOS-M, 22mm f/2
Hasselblad 500C/M, Planar 80mm f/2.8
Ianfp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of May 2006 (Sun)   #11
racketman
Cream of the Crop
 
racketman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Richmond Surrey
Posts: 19,387
Default Re: is my 5D broken?

darker areas in high magnification macros tend to be a bit noisy.
__________________
Toby

Flickr collections
ipernity gallery
Gear
racketman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of May 2006 (Sun)   #12
EOS-GD
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 9
Default Re: is my 5D broken?

Quote:
Originally Posted by racketman
darker areas in high magnification macros tend to be a bit noisy.
whys that?
EOS-GD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
85 mm 1.2 Broken!! Mr. EMJAY Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 32 25th of September 2006 (Mon) 19:18
Broken Wes Urban Life & Travel 0 16th of July 2006 (Sun) 15:26
Do you think it's broken? chemicalbro Macro 14 14th of April 2006 (Fri) 11:41
All broken up... benvision People 2 6th of February 2005 (Sun) 17:20
Is My G3 Broken? Brian Tilley Canon G-series Digital Cameras 8 12th of March 2004 (Fri) 11:50


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 00:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.