Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon G-series Digital Cameras
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18th of April 2001 (Wed)   #1
Novice1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 8
Default Should I get a Microdrive for my G1

I'm thinking about buying a 1GB IBM Microdrive. These question go out to all of you lucky (perhaps unlucky) Microdrive owners.

- If this is in essence a hard drive, does it have many bad sectors?

- How bad is the battery drain as compared to when you use CF cards?

- Do the vibrations of the spinning platters cause blur in your photos?

- I heard that you can't use the drive above 10,000 ft. elevation. Ok, how about if I'm on a plane at 35,000 ft. with the camera off. If there's turbulance, will the drive be damaged?

- Is it safe to pass the Microdrive through airport scanners?

- What's the warranty on these things?

Thanks in advance for you answers. It'll help me make a more informed decision about this.
Novice1 is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 19th of April 2001 (Thu)   #2
polak187
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 44
Default Re: Should I get a Microdrive for my G1

I worked with every single macrodrive that is out there 170, 340, .5 and 1 gig. We use them in out rental department and in comparison to those monster type III cards IBM microdrives were the best as far as the durability goes. Currently I have a 1 gig car in my camera and another one in my notebook. I'm just carefull with them. No more jumping, running and throwing. I saw maybe 5 or 6 dead microdrives. All of them destroyed becasue they were droped on a concrete floor during photo shoots. But I guess your camera will be dead too if that happened. I heard stories about people droping microdrives on the carpet and loosing them. Never happened to me but I also never dropped mine. I'm not taking any chances. Treat your macro drive like your treat your camera and you will be fine.

- If this is in essence a hard drive, does it have many bad sectors?

Didn't run into bad sectors but there are fragments that not always can be seen, especially by Mac users. Those fragments have a tendency to pile up and slow down your drive.

- How bad is the battery drain as compared to when you use CF cards?

Maybe. I still haven't run into this problem. I bought extra battery but I still haven't use it. I shoot about 50-60 pictures a day.

- Do the vibrations of the spinning platters cause blur in your photos?

Nope.

- I heard that you can't use the drive above 10,000 ft. elevation. Ok, how about if I'm on a plane at 35,000 ft. with the camera off. If there's turbulance, will the drive be damaged?

I had microdrives in my bag when traveling to Vegas and LA for photo shows no problem.

- Is it safe to pass the Microdrive through airport scanners?

No problem here either.

- What's the warranty on these things?

One year but if you mess it up (drop, physcial abuse and damage) you are on you own.
polak187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of April 2001 (Thu)   #3
John - NJ
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 132
Default Re: Re: Should I get a Microdrive for my G1

These two were questions I had also. Thanks for putting my mind at ease.

Quote:
polak187 wrote:
I had microdrives in my bag when traveling to Vegas and LA for photo shows no problem.

- Is it safe to pass the Microdrive through airport scanners?
No problem here either.
John - NJ is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 19th of April 2001 (Thu)   #4
Novice1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 8
Default Re: Should I get a Microdrive for my G1

Thanks. Your comments on the Microdrives have helped me a lot. I'm going to go out and get one.
Novice1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of April 2001 (Thu)   #5
jays
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 11
Default Re: Should I get a Microdrive for my G1

The concern about the 10,000 foot limit is due to the drop in air pressure (i.e. the thinning of the air). If the air thins enough, the heads of the drive will not "fly" and you'll have a hard crash. Above 10,000 feet they recommend CF cards, which don't have the limitation. Airlines maintain cabin pressure and therefore the air does not thin, so the microdrive should have no problem in a pressurized cabin.

jays
jays is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of April 2001 (Thu)   #6
John - NJ
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 132
Default Re: Re: Should I get a Microdrive for my G1

Now I'm worried again. What if the microdrive is in your suitcase in the baggage section without pressurization? Does it only matter if it is being used?
Thanks.

Quote:
jays wrote:
Airlines maintain cabin pressure and therefore the air does not thin, so the microdrive should have no problem in a pressurized cabin.
John - NJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of April 2001 (Thu)   #7
prosurfer
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Hellsinki
Posts: 67
Default Re: Re: Re: Should I get a Microdrive for my G1

I was almost worried for the airport scanners - and then I thought of the millions of people who put their laptops thru the scanners every day and noticed I'm getting paranoid again =)

Just for curiosity: My Microdrive had no warnings at all conserning altitude/thin air. It did have plenty of other warnings printed on the one-page manual...

Quote:
John - NJ wrote:
These two were questions I had also. Thanks for putting my mind at ease.

Quote:
polak187 wrote:
I had microdrives in my bag when traveling to Vegas and LA for photo shows no problem.

- Is it safe to pass the Microdrive through airport scanners?
No problem here either.
__________________
Body: 40D Lenses: 20-35/2.8L, 70-200/4L, 135/2L, 300/4L, Canon 1.4x
Misc: Canon 420EX, Gitzo G2220+MagicBall, Manfrotto 679B

It's not the size, but how you use it.
prosurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of April 2001 (Thu)   #8
jays
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 11
Default Re: Should I get a Microdrive for my G1

There is no problem if the drive is not running. It is my understanding that the heads on the microdrive are not unlike the heads for ZIP or JAZZ drives, they have wings that allow the heads to float on the vortex of air the drive creates while spinning. If the drive is active and the air is thin enough, the wings can not lift the heads. You would have the same problem with the ZIP or JAZZ drives is the air was thin enough. I would not recommend the microdrive to be in your suitcase in case it is lost or stolen, not because of the unpressurized compartment. I'd carry the drive and your camera in your carry-on.

Have fun,

jays
jays is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th of April 2001 (Fri)   #9
polak187
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 44
Default Re: Should I get a Microdrive for my G1

Never ever check in your equipment. Always bring it as a carry on. In this case pressure will be least of your worries. The way that your check-in bags are handled will ruin your microdrive not becasue of pressure but becasue of shock that your MD will go thru when your stuff is being thrown around. All power to handlers for their tough jobs and long shifts but if you hand around the airports long enough you will see your bags falling off the transporter belts, being thrown, falling of the cargo bays, getting stuck. I made it simple for my self: I have a photo bag that always stays with me. No problems, no surprises, no worries.
polak187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd of April 2001 (Sun)   #10
Guy1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 13
Default Re: Should I get a Microdrive for my G1

A the price of 128 MB flash cards, (~100 $), you could get more than 500 MB of flash cards for the same price of a relatively short lived MD.

Flash cards are not on the same playing field as MD. They are so much superior in almost every aspect.

IMHO, IBM should increase the capacity or better, decrease the price of the MD, to remain competive in this market.

Guy
Guy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd of April 2001 (Sun)   #11
Rick
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 64
Default Re: Should I get a Microdrive for my G1

Not to start a fight, but with 1 gig MD's at 350 bucks there is no way you can do better with flash cards. Secondly I dont see where you can backup the short lived statement on MD's. There are too many people using them myself included, that can refute that statement. Also check some of the polls being taken such as at www.dpreview.com they also suggest your info might be too subjective.

Rick
Rick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th of April 2001 (Tue)   #12
prosurfer
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Hellsinki
Posts: 67
Default Re: Re: Should I get a Microdrive for my G1

Quote:
guy1 wrote:
A the price of 128 MB flash cards, (~100 $), you could get more than 500 MB of flash cards for the same price of a relatively short lived MD.

Flash cards are not on the same playing field as MD. They are so much superior in almost every aspect.

IMHO, IBM should increase the capacity or better, decrease the price of the MD, to remain competive in this market.

Guy
Sure, electromagnetic device (flash card) is faster and more reliable than a mechanical device (microdrive).

It is as well far more expensive. I bought my 1 GB Microdrive for 450 Euros, and the cheapest on-line store in Finland sells 128 MB CF for 200 Euros. So the price/MB is about 3.5x in favour of Microdrive.

I also don't want to empty my CF (or Microdrive) to my notebook HD while traveling, nor carry several cards around afraid losing them. So Microdrive is more useful here.

And finally, 1GB HD size of a coin is far more impressive than a piece of silicone of the same size =)
__________________
Body: 40D Lenses: 20-35/2.8L, 70-200/4L, 135/2L, 300/4L, Canon 1.4x
Misc: Canon 420EX, Gitzo G2220+MagicBall, Manfrotto 679B

It's not the size, but how you use it.
prosurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of May 2001 (Mon)   #13
Hanmen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 6
Default Re: Should I get a Microdrive for my G1

I bought a 340MB microdrive for my G1 in China, it cost me near US$180. An 64MB CF card is about US$60 here. Do I have any choice to select one of above?
The bad news is a 1GB one is more expensive so far, US$600 nearly, or I will choose it.
Hanmen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th of May 2001 (Tue)   #14
polak187
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 44
Default Re: Should I get a Microdrive for my G1

Where are you getting your prices of Microdrives from? Average price of 1 GIG is around $450 (store next door right here in NYC). And I saw posts on this forum claiming that 1GIG could be purchased for $390. One of the mail order places that will have it would be B&H.
polak187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th of May 2001 (Tue)   #15
Hanmen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 6
Default Re: Should I get a Microdrive for my G1

I'm a Canadian working in China. I bought my G1 from Canon agent here recently and it just cost me US$830. But the price of 1GB microdrive is more expensive here. So I have to buy a 340MB instead.
Hanmen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MICRODRIVE 6 Gb jsotris Accessories & Storage 14 19th of March 2006 (Sun) 16:09
Microdrive vs cf sony23 Accessories & Storage 19 5th of March 2006 (Sun) 17:01
microdrive kirktalon Small Compact Digitals by Canon 5 30th of March 2003 (Sun) 04:36
4 GB Microdrive!! bmwracer General Photography Talk 2 7th of January 2003 (Tue) 10:04
microdrive johneb2 Canon G-series Digital Cameras 15 20th of May 2002 (Mon) 10:35


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 14:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.