Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Small Flash and Studio Lighting
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 1st of June 2006 (Thu)   #1
LewisImaging
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 477
Default extension cords?

i thought i read somewhere (unless i was dreaming again ) not to use extension cords with strobes, but... if you have to then what amp should they be? (2 600w strobes)
LewisImaging is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 1st of June 2006 (Thu)   #2
Atomic79
Member
 
Atomic79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Santa Clarita, CA USA
Posts: 214
Default Re: extension cords?

I did a quick search on the web. I found this in an AlienBee FAQ:

"If you use an extension cord that is 25 feet or longer, use a 16-3 or larger gauge wire (3 #16 AWG wires) extension cord. Smaller numbers indicate a larger wire (go figure), so a 14-3 extension cord (3 #14 AWG wires) is larger than a 16-3 cord."

I didn't come across any statement positive or negitive regarding the use of extension cords, however since AlienBees does mention them I'd assume it was ok as far as they are concerned, but I'd check with the manufacturer of whatever brand you have.
__________________
No matter how slow the film, Spirit always stands still long enough for the photographer It has chosen. Minor White
Atomic79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st of June 2006 (Thu)   #3
tim
Light Bringer
 
tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 49,068
Default Re: extension cords?

I didn't know that, I bought some extension cords at a cheap place here and they work fine.
tim is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 1st of June 2006 (Thu)   #4
Inspired Photography
Goldmember
 
Inspired Photography's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Central Coast, NSW, Australia
Posts: 2,096
Default Re: extension cords?

From an Electronic Engineer's perspective, i can't see any problem with it. Maybe use one per strobe, but that'd be it...

If you are using powerpacks and running at full power with hundreds of flashes an hour, then maybe you would start causing some heat issues, but i can't imaging it being a real problem otherwise.

Some of the big strobe (like an AB1600 or something) will be sucking some power on a full recycle, so maybe keep an eye on it, but yeah... if it doesn't blow your circuit breakers, and extension cable should be fine.

Rob
__________________
Robert Bell - Inspired Photography (formerly "Inspired Graphix" [and "Shooter-Boy" a long time ago])
Inspired Photography
email: info@inspiredphotography.net.au
Inspired Photography is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd of June 2006 (Fri)   #5
LewisImaging
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 477
Default Re: extension cords?

yeah, these units are roughly the same as the bee 1600 (600 true w/s opposed to AB 640). tim, most of the time i couldn't imaging any cord being a problem except with the cheap tiny ones. make sure it's a "heavy duty" one. they often come in orange. i bought a red one that is 100ft, 14 gauge and 13 amps. it says that it can support circular saw, reciprocating saw, and a chain saw lol. i don't think i'll have any problems. i also bought a surge protector. most likely i'll be running both lights off this cord, but i usually never go over half power anyway. the next size up was 14 or 15 amps and ran generators and other larger objects, but that cord was around $45... thanks for the confirmation guys!

tim, does your cord get hot when you are using the flashes alot? make sure to keep an eye on it like shooter-boy suggested. we don't want any fires!!!!!
LewisImaging is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Non genuine off shoe cords forno Small Flash and Studio Lighting 7 21st of June 2007 (Thu) 09:52
Flash Cords - Why So Short? kbreit Small Flash and Studio Lighting 3 5th of April 2007 (Thu) 17:43
Are PC cords PC cords are.... Steveo31 General Photography Talk 8 26th of December 2004 (Sun) 16:33
Paramount Cords Mtrsportsphotog Canon EOS Digital Cameras 0 25th of October 2003 (Sat) 19:33
1D and synch cords chekhov61 Canon EOS Digital Cameras 0 22nd of December 2002 (Sun) 00:36


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.