Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 02 Jun 2006 (Friday) 17:18
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

30D & Folder Naming

 
dsze
Goldmember
dsze's Avatar
2,241 posts
Joined May 2004
On The Lake!
Jun 02, 2006 17:18 |  #1

When I got my first 30D a few weeks back, it immediately started with creating folder "941" on my CF card and the first image was 0001. I thought nothing of it.

Today I picked up a second 30D and the first folder it created was "100." and first image was 001.

Why would my first 30D have started with folder 941 and this one with folder 100?


-daniel
"Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away."
-Gear List-

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Jon's Avatar
69,628 posts
Joined Jun 2004
Bethesda, MD USA
Jun 02, 2006 19:20 |  #2

You were using a card that had previously been used in a digicam in your first one. The second one started with clean card. If you never had digitals before, someone else put a "used" card in your first one before you got it.


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

LOG IN TO REPLY
dsze
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
dsze's Avatar
2,241 posts
Joined May 2004
On The Lake!
Jun 02, 2006 20:11 |  #3

Hi Jon, that was my first thought too, but even though it had started with folder 941, the images started with 0001. If someone had put an old card in there, wouldn't it start with that file # when I got it?


-daniel
"Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away."
-Gear List-

LOG IN TO REPLY
Leandro ­ Bento
Member
143 posts
Joined Apr 2006
Bronx, NY
Jun 02, 2006 23:22 |  #4

Hi all,

I got the 30D also, a week after its release, and I bought a (I think) brand new CF card straight out of the plastic box. But my camera also started with the folder #943. Why is that? I mean, it doesn't bother me, and the camera works fine, I just wonder if the camera picks out a random number for its folder.

leo




LOG IN TO REPLY
FSALESI
Member
160 posts
Joined Mar 2006
NJ
Jun 03, 2006 01:09 |  #5

I also started with 943. Conicidence?


--- Frank

[30D] [580ex II x2] [580ex] [24-70L] [70-200 F4L] [100-400L] [85 1.8] [50 1.8] [18-55] [1.4x] [Sunpak 383 Flash x2]

LOG IN TO REPLY
dsze
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
dsze's Avatar
2,241 posts
Joined May 2004
On The Lake!
Jun 03, 2006 08:24 |  #6

...strange, but I'm glad to see that it has happened to others. It never even struck me as being odd until I saw that my 2nd 30D started with folder 100. I don't think that my first 30D was used and sold to me as new or anything like that, because it didn't have a mark on it. I don't think it had ever had a lens mounted.


-daniel
"Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away."
-Gear List-

LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Jon's Avatar
69,628 posts
Joined Jun 2004
Bethesda, MD USA
Jun 03, 2006 08:45 |  #7

Examples pulled for random factory testing?
A card inserted into a camera, but not used, will get the current folder number created. Same with a card reformatted in that camera. The next camera it was inserted in would inherit that number.


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

LOG IN TO REPLY
dsze
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
dsze's Avatar
2,241 posts
Joined May 2004
On The Lake!
Jun 03, 2006 08:47 |  #8

Could be random factory testing I suppose. I don't know. It bothers me less now that I know it has happened to others as well. Strange that its all in the 94X's.


-daniel
"Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away."
-Gear List-

LOG IN TO REPLY
danmic@mac.com
Hatchling
2 posts
Joined Jun 2006
1 Degree North
Jun 03, 2006 08:48 as a reply to Jon's post |  #9

Hi All, Greetings from newbie.

A related question: The folder nuber increases (from 100 to 101...110etc) everytime I format my CF card with the camera. Is there anyway I can reset that? And does it mean the CF card is useless when it reaches 999 as stated in the manual?:oops:

Cheers!
Dan


Canon A-1
Canon EOS 30D
EF 24-70 f2.8L USM
EF 70-200 f2.8L USM.

LOG IN TO REPLY
dsze
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
dsze's Avatar
2,241 posts
Joined May 2004
On The Lake!
Jun 03, 2006 08:51 |  #10

Hi Dan, Welcome to the forum!

Are you talking about a 30D here? The folder number shouldn't increase everytime you format in camera on the 30D. On older bodies like the 10D, it will just reset itself when the images reach 10,000 from what I've heard.


-daniel
"Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away."
-Gear List-

LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Jon's Avatar
69,628 posts
Joined Jun 2004
Bethesda, MD USA
Jun 03, 2006 08:51 as a reply to dsze's post |  #11

dsze wrote:
Could be random factory testing I suppose. I don't know. It bothers me less now that I know it has happened to others as well. Strange that its all in the 94X's.

Same card used serially?
Can't see them using a new card for each test.


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Jon's Avatar
69,628 posts
Joined Jun 2004
Bethesda, MD USA
Jun 03, 2006 08:53 as a reply to danmic@mac.com's post |  #12

danmic@mac.com wrote:
Hi All, Greetings from newbie.

A related question: The folder nuber increases (from 100 to 101...110etc) everytime I format my CF card with the camera. Is there anyway I can reset that? And does it mean the CF card is useless when it reaches 999 as stated in the manual?:oops:

Cheers!
Dan

Which camera? And when the folder no. hits 999, you just create a new folder \DCIM\100CANON on an otherwise empty card.


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

LOG IN TO REPLY
dsze
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
dsze's Avatar
2,241 posts
Joined May 2004
On The Lake!
Jun 03, 2006 08:53 |  #13

Yeah, I suppose. I think I'll just recreate folder 100 on mine. Out of sight, out of mind ;)


-daniel
"Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away."
-Gear List-

LOG IN TO REPLY
danmic@mac.com
Hatchling
2 posts
Joined Jun 2006
1 Degree North
Jun 03, 2006 08:59 as a reply to dsze's post |  #14

Yes. It is a 30D. Funny 'cos that's exactly what it did. I didn't notice it at first. I set it to continuous numbering. It also happen when I does a 'Manual reset':(


Canon A-1
Canon EOS 30D
EF 24-70 f2.8L USM
EF 70-200 f2.8L USM.

LOG IN TO REPLY
dkangel
Senior Member
583 posts
Joined May 2005
Jun 18, 2006 00:58 as a reply to danmic@mac.com's post |  #15

I had the same problem - put in an old card. What you have to do is take your card out and format it on your computer. Then before you put the card back in change the file numbering to automatic reset. Put card in camera and format it in camera. Take a picture. Reset file numbering to continuous. You will now have folders reset to 100 and image reset to 0001, - well 0002 cause you just took one.




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

2,570 views & 0 likes for this thread
30D & Folder Naming
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00161 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is RichardGates
1038 guests, 510 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017