FORUMS Photo Sharing & Visual Enjoyment Weddings & Other Family Events
Thread started 24 Jun 2006 (Saturday) 14:26   
LIST NEARBY THREADS

radiohead1075
Joined May 2006
174 posts
PA
[MORE/SHARE]

Looking for tips on photographing a tall groom and short bride. Main concern is trying to limit the visual perception of the height difference (dealing with about one foot of difference in height). What are some creative ways to "conceal" the height difference so that it does not stand out so much in a photo?

Post #1, Jun 24, 2006 14:26:19

5D
50mm f/1.2L | 16-35mm f/2.8L II | 24-70mm f/2.8L I | 70-300 f/4-5.6 IS
My Photosexternal link

sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
mackb
Joined Jan 2004
537 posts
Columbus, OH-IO
[MORE/SHARE]

Well, Im no expert, but in the movies they always film low angles to make people look taller and film people at diff depth to make people look closer in height. For example War of the worlds with Tom Cruie and .......I forgot the other guys name, but one guy is like 5'7" and the other is like 6' 3". OK..........it's a wedding not a movie. I guess you could
1. have her in the foreground and him backgound 1-2' back. Play with the DOF to get the right look.
2. You could have them lying down.
3. he could pick her up (although this might look like dad holding a little kd).
4. You can have them stand on diff steps and just use close ups.
5. You could have her looking up into his eyes, from the side.

Just helping you brainstorm, no expert here
Billy

Post #2, Jun 24, 2006 16:18:09

Billy

samnz
Goldmember
Joined Feb 2006
1,315 posts
Blenheim, Marlborough
[MORE/SHARE]