Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Photo Sharing' section > Weddings and Other Family Events
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 24th of June 2006 (Sat)   #1
radiohead1075

Default Tall groom, short bride - how to shoot?

Looking for tips on photographing a tall groom and short bride. Main concern is trying to limit the visual perception of the height difference (dealing with about one foot of difference in height). What are some creative ways to "conceal" the height difference so that it does not stand out so much in a photo?
radiohead1075 is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 24th of June 2006 (Sat)   #2
mackb

Default Re: Tall groom, short bride - how to shoot?

Well, Im no expert, but in the movies they always film low angles to make people look taller and film people at diff depth to make people look closer in height. For example War of the worlds with Tom Cruie and .......I forgot the other guys name, but one guy is like 5'7" and the other is like 6' 3". OK..........it's a wedding not a movie. I guess you could
1. have her in the foreground and him backgound 1-2' back. Play with the DOF to get the right look.
2. You could have them lying down.
3. he could pick her up (although this might look like dad holding a little kd).
4. You can have them stand on diff steps and just use close ups.
5. You could have her looking up into his eyes, from the side.

Just helping you brainstorm, no expert here
Billy
Old 25th of June 2006 (Sun)   #3
samnz

Ask them FIRST if they have a complex about their height differences. I'm 5'7 and my WIFE is 6'1. During our wedding photo shoot the photographer tried to make me stand on blocks of wood, steps and anything else he could think of to make me "taller". The photos looked rediculous 'cause all my family know I'm shorter than (w)...so the wedding photos looked fake.