Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > Photography Industry News > Rumors > Lens Rumors and Predictions
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 7th of July 2006 (Fri)   #1
robert5_p

Default Dreaming of EF-S 600mm f/4 IS

Dreaming of EF-S 600mm f/4 IS:

This is my first post on this forum. I am an amateur photographer/enthusiast with interest in all kinds of photography, wildlife photography in particular.
I would like to learn what other people think of the idea of EF-S super tele.

So far the EF-S lens mini-series covers the wider focal lengths. It seems like Canon focus is mostly on solving the limitations of 1.6 crop factor dSLRs in wide-angle photography. On each photography forum on the web, I see foresights of full frame censors eventually replacing APS-C and the claims that everyone will want to upgrade to full frame as soon as the price is right.

In my dream the opposite happens: Canon designs a new EF-S lens in the lens category where the 1.6 crop has a clear advantage. EF-S 600mm would clearly change the future outlook of smaller sensor size dSLRs.

It is clear that the extreme 12lbs weight and 7K$ cost of EF 600 f/4L results largely from the physical limitations of f/4 and 36mm wide film/sensor.
So how much lighter and cheaper would the imaginary EF-S 600mm f/4 be?

WEIGHT: Well, who knows, but a 1.6 diameter reduction of 600mm monster should yield quadratic (2.56x) reduction or event cubic (4x) reduction of some lens elements (some lens elements will become thinner as well). Lighter glass should allow less sturdy housing. So we can hope for somewhere around 4lbs! Think handholding 12lbs vs 4 lbs!!!

COST: Canon prices for big gun primes seem to be strongly depended on their weight (I think of their pricing as paying per pound of quality optics).