Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > The Business of Photography
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 11th of July 2006 (Tue)   #1
Tee Why
"Monkey's uncle"

Default Anyone selling Prints on Smugmug?

Hi,
I'm just wondering if there are any here that are using the Pro Account on Smugmug to sell their prints and what kind of volume and pricing to expect.
Right now I've a basic account and am wondering if the extra $110 for a pro account will pay for itself if I can sell the prints. I'm not a working pro photog but just wishing to make a few dollars selling prints that of shots that I take for my own pleasure. I'm just trying to find an easy way of going about this.

I thought about selling it directly through PayPal, but this seems to be a lot more hassel than just letting smugmug handle the process and getting the commission.

Any thoughts?
Thanks

Tee Why is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 11th of July 2006 (Tue)   #2
MazerRakhm
Colonel Mustard

Default Re: Anyone selling Prints on Smugmug?

I use a SmugMug pro account, and I know quite a few others here as well do.

A couple of good SmugMug threads:
Smugmug users: Are you happy with the service?

Post Your SmugMug Gallery!

What you really have to ask yourself before doing any site is if you are going to have enough $$$ in sales to justify it's expense. Or if you the expense vs hassle is worth it to you.

Smugmug is rather cheap and easy way with little to no hassle. For $150 a year you get unlimited photos plus a really large chunk of bandwidth to show them in. They take the orders process the CC’s and give the orders to the printer who ships the pictures by the consumers preferred method.

All you really have to do is take the pictures, post them to galleries.