Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon EF and EF-S Lenses
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 13th of July 2006 (Thu)   #1
Calzinger

Default First Impressions: Canon 70-200 f/2.8L non-IS

Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM

As one who moved up from the f/4L to the f/2.8L, I will constantly be making comparisons between both lenses. I see that many people have done and might be planning to do what I've just done.

Parting thoughts with 70-200 f/4L
I received this lens today after selling my f/4L to a buyer in NYC this week. As some of you may know, I have been using my f/4L for only six months, but have worked it to death. The lens was basically worn out, though surprisingly still in mint condition. I sold it for a nice $525.

I decided to move up to the f/2.8L after realizing immediately after getting the f/4L that f/4 simply wasn't enough unless there was a ridiculous amount of sunlight. But I knew that before I got the f/4, right? On the contrary, the f/4 was absolutely spectacular when there was enough sunlight. If you're only planning to use your telephoto outdoors, I would recommend the f/4L in a heartbeat. Just be prepared to use higher ISOs when it gets cloudy.

Physical build of the f/2.8L
I'd hate to sound like a broken record, but as you would expect, the build quality is top notch. The weight also makes you feel like you're holding a lens. You actually feel like you're holding a small tank in your hand with, of course, some very gentle glass inside it.