Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 09 Aug 2006 (Wednesday) 19:02
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

How to check the "Shutter Counts"?

 
flawlessly
Member
Avatar
233 posts
Joined Jul 2006
Location: USA
     
Aug 09, 2006 19:02 |  #1

Anyone knows it?


Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
XBGM3R
Member
Avatar
196 posts
Joined Mar 2006
Location: NOR*CAL
     
Aug 09, 2006 19:18 |  #2

flawlessly wrote:
Anyone knows it?

i suggest you to read the manual book will tell you about "shutter counts" where you will find...

My assume that shutter counts tell you as look at picture of below:

IMAGE NOT FOUND
IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
HTTP response: NOT FOUND | MIME changed to 'image/png'


But I might am wrong... who knows

| P&S: A610 & G12 (external link)| EOS Body: 7NE, 30D & M (external link), SL1 | EF 75-300 III USM| TAMRON [177DE] AF 28-80 ASPH | EF-S 18-55 USM | EF 40 STM | EFM 22 STM |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bonjour43ma
Member
Avatar
192 posts
Joined Aug 2006
     
Aug 09, 2006 19:29 |  #3

Cancount

Opanda

PExtractor


Ron from Vancouver, Canada
---------------
I have a camera and some lenses and I take pictures with them.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ccp900
Goldmember
1,477 posts
Likes: 111
Joined Jun 2006
     
Aug 09, 2006 20:31 |  #4

that opanda and PExtractor work with 30d? i think the cancount can olny be used with 1d bodies right?


[Sony A7R Mark 3 | Sony A7S | Sony Zeiss 16-35m f/4.0 | Sony FE 28m f2 | Sony Zeiss 55m f1.8 | Sony FE 28-70m f/3.5-5.6 | Helios 44-2 | Helios 44-3 | Nikon 105m f/2.5 AIS | Contax Zeiss Planar 50m f1.7 | Contax Zeiss Planar 100m f2 | Voigtlander Nokton 40m f/1.4 | Canon 24-105m f/4.0L | Canon 85m f/1.8 | Sigma 30m f/1.4 | Canon 10-22m f/3.5-4.5 | Canon 100m f/2.8 Macro USM | Canon 580 EX Ver 1.0]

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
flawlessly
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
233 posts
Joined Jul 2006
Location: USA
     
Aug 09, 2006 21:05 |  #5

Yup, that's what I was t hinking about... works with 30D?


Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
flawlessly
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
233 posts
Joined Jul 2006
Location: USA
     
Aug 09, 2006 21:06 as a reply to  @ XBGM3R's post |  #6

XBGM3R wrote:
i suggest you to read the manual book will tell you about "shutter counts" where you will find...

My assume that shutter counts tell you as look at picture of below:

IMAGE NOT FOUND
HTTP response: NOT FOUND | MIME changed to 'image/png'


But I might am wrong... who knows

I think when you reset the cam, that # will back to "0"


Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
69,628 posts
Likes: 218
Joined Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
     
Aug 10, 2006 11:33 as a reply to  @ Bonjour43ma's post |  #7

Bonjour43ma wrote:
Cancount

Opanda

PExtractor

Only on the 1-series. Canon's diagnostic software (specific versions for each camera model) can read it from other cameras, but that's generally unavailable, and very tightly controlled. For the other cameras, just hope noone shoved in a card from another camera, with higher frame/folder numbers and noone did a frame numbering reset.


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Blackvault
Member
128 posts
Joined Apr 2006
Location: Lisburn, Northern Ireland, UK
     
Aug 11, 2006 08:52 |  #8

Found this (external link) great little progamme.

i'm not sure if it works with Canons tho it works with my Nikon. Just select the last photograph that you took and it will find how many shutter counts have been done.

Blackvault


1D MKII | 30D | 24 - 70 F/2.8 L | 70 - 200 F/4 L | 430 EX
Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
69,628 posts
Likes: 218
Joined Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
     
Aug 11, 2006 09:26 as a reply to  @ Blackvault's post |  #9

Blackvault wrote:
Found this (external link) great little progamme.

i'm not sure if it works with Canons tho it works with my Nikon. Just select the last photograph that you took and it will find how many shutter counts have been done.

Blackvault

Documentation says "Most Nikons" and only Nikons.


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Blackvault
Member
128 posts
Joined Apr 2006
Location: Lisburn, Northern Ireland, UK
     
Aug 11, 2006 09:56 as a reply to  @ Jon's post |  #10

Jon wrote:
Documentation says "Most Nikons" and only Nikons.

Sorry didn't know that. Well it might come in useful for those Nikon users on the forums. hehe

Blackvault


1D MKII | 30D | 24 - 70 F/2.8 L | 70 - 200 F/4 L | 430 EX
Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Digitalwave
Senior Member
Avatar
806 posts
Joined Mar 2006
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
     
Aug 11, 2006 09:59 |  #11

I don't know how to "check it" but I know mine because I have always formatted my memory cards before shooting so the body maintains the same count, and I haven't pasted 10,000 clicks yet, so the number of the photo coming off the card is accurate (6,xxx right now). After 10,000, I might keep tallies so I know how many I'm at. For instance, 5,000 clicks on the card + 2 tallies = 25,000 total.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
cjm
Goldmember
Avatar
4,786 posts
Gallery: 11 photos
Likes: 25
Joined Mar 2005
Location: Calgary & Edmonton, Alberta
     
Aug 21, 2006 00:30 |  #12

I know on Older bodies like the 10D you can roll back the oddometer. I wont say how and I have not dared to try this with my 20D but lets just say when I did roll it back on my 10D I had I was not happy at all and made sure to make sure to tell the buyer of it that the count is not the right one.

I sort of worry about this glitch being in 1D bodies since I am looking to buy one someday. That would suck being scammed into a low shutter count camera when infact it has something like 80,000! Which still ok (probably) would hardly be worth the price I would most likely have paid.


Christopher J. Martin
Join me at instagram.com/canadaph​otographer (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
hemuni
Goldmember
Avatar
1,019 posts
Joined Jul 2005
     
Aug 21, 2006 00:47 |  #13

Breezebrowser, in the exifdata, shows an image serial number like this: "118-1886" where "1886" is the image number within the last 9999 - works for 20D and 350D, but not for 5D.

This number doesn't seem to change with cards, but i haven't actually tested.


((¯`•.¸hemuni¸.•´¯)) 1000D • 85F1.8 • 50F1.4 • 28F2.8 • 18-55IS • YN565EX - POTN gallery

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jdkeck
Senior Member
654 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Oct 2005
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA
     
Aug 21, 2006 08:07 |  #14

For a 20D, you can select Auto Reset or Continous from the Set-up Menu. Auto reset renumbers from XXX-0001 every time a card is inserted. It's easy to roll the count to 0001. I originally used that selection because of my file management, not to potentially deceive a buyer of the camera.

Jeff


Life is not measured by the number breaths we take but by the moments that take our breath away.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

5,617 views & 0 likes for this thread
How to check the "Shutter Counts"?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.0forum software
version 2.0 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Nidge
818 guests, 440 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.