Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 9th of August 2006 (Wed)   #1
flawlessly
Member
 
flawlessly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 233
Default How to check the "Shutter Counts"?

Anyone knows it?
__________________
Gear List
flawlessly is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 9th of August 2006 (Wed)   #2
XBGM3R
Member
 
XBGM3R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NOR*CAL
Posts: 194
Default Re: How to check the "Shutter Counts"?

Quote:
Originally Posted by flawlessly
Anyone knows it?
i suggest you to read the manual book will tell you about "shutter counts" where you will find...

My assume that shutter counts tell you as look at picture of below:



But I might am wrong... who knows
__________________
| P&S: A610 & G12| EOS Body: 7NE, 30D & M | EF 75-300 III USM| ]TAMRON [177DE] AF 28-80 ASPH | EF-S 18-55 USM | EF 40 STM | EFM 22 STM |
XBGM3R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th of August 2006 (Wed)   #3
Bonjour43ma
Member
 
Bonjour43ma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 192
Default Re: How to check the "Shutter Counts"?

Cancount

Opanda

PExtractor
__________________
Ron from Vancouver, Canada
----------------------------
I have a camera and some lenses and I take pictures with them.
Bonjour43ma is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 9th of August 2006 (Wed)   #4
ccp900
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,190
Default Re: How to check the "Shutter Counts"?

that opanda and PExtractor work with 30d? i think the cancount can olny be used with 1d bodies right?
ccp900 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th of August 2006 (Wed)   #5
flawlessly
Member
 
flawlessly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 233
Default Re: How to check the "Shutter Counts"?

Yup, that's what I was t hinking about... works with 30D?
__________________
Gear List
flawlessly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th of August 2006 (Wed)   #6
flawlessly
Member
 
flawlessly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 233
Default Re: How to check the "Shutter Counts"?

Quote:
Originally Posted by XBGM3R
i suggest you to read the manual book will tell you about "shutter counts" where you will find...

My assume that shutter counts tell you as look at picture of below:



But I might am wrong... who knows
I think when you reset the cam, that # will back to "0"
__________________
Gear List
flawlessly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th of August 2006 (Thu)   #7
Jon
Moderator

Cocker Spaniel Mod

 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 67,633
Default Re: How to check the "Shutter Counts"?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bonjour43ma
Cancount

Opanda

PExtractor
Only on the 1-series. Canon's diagnostic software (specific versions for each camera model) can read it from other cameras, but that's generally unavailable, and very tightly controlled. For the other cameras, just hope noone shoved in a card from another camera, with higher frame/folder numbers and noone did a frame numbering reset.
__________________
Jon
----------

Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities


Image Posting Rules
and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th of August 2006 (Fri)   #8
Blackvault
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Lisburn, Northern Ireland, UK
Posts: 128
Default Re: How to check the "Shutter Counts"?

Found this great little progamme.

i'm not sure if it works with Canons tho it works with my Nikon. Just select the last photograph that you took and it will find how many shutter counts have been done.

Blackvault
__________________
1D MKII | 30D | 24 - 70 F/2.8 L | 70 - 200 F/4 L | 430 EX
Gear List
Blackvault is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th of August 2006 (Fri)   #9
Jon
Moderator

Cocker Spaniel Mod

 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 67,633
Default Re: How to check the "Shutter Counts"?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackvault
Found this great little progamme.

i'm not sure if it works with Canons tho it works with my Nikon. Just select the last photograph that you took and it will find how many shutter counts have been done.

Blackvault
Documentation says "Most Nikons" and only Nikons.
__________________
Jon
----------

Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities


Image Posting Rules
and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th of August 2006 (Fri)   #10
Blackvault
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Lisburn, Northern Ireland, UK
Posts: 128
Default Re: How to check the "Shutter Counts"?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon
Documentation says "Most Nikons" and only Nikons.
Sorry didn't know that. Well it might come in useful for those Nikon users on the forums. hehe

Blackvault
__________________
1D MKII | 30D | 24 - 70 F/2.8 L | 70 - 200 F/4 L | 430 EX
Gear List
Blackvault is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th of August 2006 (Fri)   #11
Digitalwave
Member
 
Digitalwave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 806
Default Re: How to check the "Shutter Counts"?

I don't know how to "check it" but I know mine because I have always formatted my memory cards before shooting so the body maintains the same count, and I haven't pasted 10,000 clicks yet, so the number of the photo coming off the card is accurate (6,xxx right now). After 10,000, I might keep tallies so I know how many I'm at. For instance, 5,000 clicks on the card + 2 tallies = 25,000 total.
Digitalwave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st of August 2006 (Mon)   #12
cjm
Goldmember
 
cjm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 4,740
Default Re: How to check the "Shutter Counts"?

I know on Older bodies like the 10D you can roll back the oddometer. I wont say how and I have not dared to try this with my 20D but lets just say when I did roll it back on my 10D I had I was not happy at all and made sure to make sure to tell the buyer of it that the count is not the right one.

I sort of worry about this glitch being in 1D bodies since I am looking to buy one someday. That would suck being scammed into a low shutter count camera when infact it has something like 80,000! Which still ok (probably) would hardly be worth the price I would most likely have paid.
__________________
Christopher J Martin
Gear: 1D MKIII - 60D - G16 - 24mm f1.4 L
- 24-70mm F2.8 L - 70-200mm IS f2.8 L - 100-400 f4.5-5.6 IS L and more...
cjm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st of August 2006 (Mon)   #13
hemuni
Senior Member
 
hemuni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default Re: How to check the "Shutter Counts"?

Breezebrowser, in the exifdata, shows an image serial number like this: "118-1886" where "1886" is the image number within the last 9999 - works for 20D and 350D, but not for 5D.

This number doesn't seem to change with cards, but i haven't actually tested.
__________________
((¯`•.¸hemuni¸.•´¯)) 1000D • 85F1.8 • 50F1.4 • 28F2.8 • 18-55IS • YN565EX - POTN gallery

Last edited by hemuni : 21st of August 2006 (Mon) at 00:51.
hemuni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st of August 2006 (Mon)   #14
jdkeck
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA
Posts: 654
Default Re: How to check the "Shutter Counts"?

For a 20D, you can select Auto Reset or Continous from the Set-up Menu. Auto reset renumbers from XXX-0001 every time a card is inserted. It's easy to roll the count to 0001. I originally used that selection because of my file management, not to potentially deceive a buyer of the camera.

Jeff
__________________
Life is not measured by the number breaths we take but by the moments that take our breath away.
jdkeck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Echo", "Cleopatra", "Kahn", & "Yeager". PhotosGuy Wildlife 24 24th of March 2010 (Wed) 21:16
Heading out in the morning on roadtrip, will somebody "check" my checklist? :) Laramie General Photography Talk 3 20th of May 2007 (Sun) 16:02
Petition to divide the "People" forum to "Babies/Kids" and "Adults" Wildewinds Forum Talk 22 27th of September 2006 (Wed) 18:09


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 23:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.