Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Small Compact Digitals by Canon
Thread started 28 Aug 2006 (Monday) 10:06
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Formatting SD Card

 
Storm2
Junior Member
26 posts
Joined Jul 2005
Aug 28, 2006 10:06 |  #1

Hi Have got a Canon A60. I have bought 2 new SD 512mb Cards ,I am told I should Format them. How? Just stick them into the Camera's slot. ?:) Storm2
Sorry it is an A620




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Jon's Avatar
69,628 posts
Joined Jun 2004
Bethesda, MD USA
Aug 28, 2006 10:56 |  #2

On the "Tools" Menu (press the "Menu" button, right-arrow once to the "Tools" menu) there's a "Format" selection.


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

LOG IN TO REPLY
Storm2
THREAD ­ STARTER
Junior Member
26 posts
Joined Jul 2005
Aug 28, 2006 15:25 |  #3

Hi did as you instructed . All I have is--- Format icon 483mb---
There is no Selection. These are 2 new cards I bought. I already have one 512mb sd card I have been using for couple of mths. All I did was to just put it in the Camera's Card slot . I think back that someone said it will format itself.
Going on Holiday thats why the extra memory .Plus I did not want to screw anything up.
Can you explain please what to do next.
Thanks . Storm2




LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Jon's Avatar
69,628 posts
Joined Jun 2004
Bethesda, MD USA
Aug 28, 2006 17:55 |  #4

Press the Func. Set button, choose "Low Level Format" and "OK" - p. 21 of the Advanced User's Guide.


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

LOG IN TO REPLY
Storm2
THREAD ­ STARTER
Junior Member
26 posts
Joined Jul 2005
Aug 28, 2006 20:36 |  #5

Please accept my apologies Jon for not looking in the Index. I really mean it .Put it down to Senior Memory lapse :) Thank you
Storm




LOG IN TO REPLY
jennyb
Member
42 posts
Joined Jul 2006
Aug 28, 2006 21:58 |  #6

Is there really any reason to do this (other than the book mentions how to)? I've had 2 digital cameras, used 6 different flash cards and have never "camera-formatted" (or formatted by any other means) a card. Never had a problem.




LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Jon's Avatar
69,628 posts
Joined Jun 2004
Bethesda, MD USA
Aug 29, 2006 10:38 |  #7

The manual notes that to take full advantage of "Continuous" shooting mode you need to have low-level-formatted your card. Also that if the camera's starting to slow down reformatting it would be a good idea. ISTR that they also suggest LLF for best video recording performance.


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

30,525 views & 0 likes for this thread
Formatting SD Card
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Small Compact Digitals by Canon


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00178 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is dejan8888
772 guests, 444 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016