Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Small Compact Digitals by Canon 
Thread started 28 Aug 2006 (Monday) 10:06
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Formatting SD Card

 
Storm2
Junior Member
26 posts
Joined Jul 2005
     
Aug 28, 2006 10:06 |  #1

Hi Have got a Canon A60. I have bought 2 new SD 512mb Cards ,I am told I should Format them. How? Just stick them into the Camera's slot. ?:) Storm2
Sorry it is an A620




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
69,628 posts
Likes: 218
Joined Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
     
Aug 28, 2006 10:56 |  #2

On the "Tools" Menu (press the "Menu" button, right-arrow once to the "Tools" menu) there's a "Format" selection.


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Storm2
THREAD ­ STARTER
Junior Member
26 posts
Joined Jul 2005
     
Aug 28, 2006 15:25 |  #3

Hi did as you instructed . All I have is--- Format icon 483mb---
There is no Selection. These are 2 new cards I bought. I already have one 512mb sd card I have been using for couple of mths. All I did was to just put it in the Camera's Card slot . I think back that someone said it will format itself.
Going on Holiday thats why the extra memory .Plus I did not want to screw anything up.
Can you explain please what to do next.
Thanks . Storm2




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
69,628 posts
Likes: 218
Joined Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
     
Aug 28, 2006 17:55 |  #4

Press the Func. Set button, choose "Low Level Format" and "OK" - p. 21 of the Advanced User's Guide.


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Storm2
THREAD ­ STARTER
Junior Member
26 posts
Joined Jul 2005
     
Aug 28, 2006 20:36 |  #5

Please accept my apologies Jon for not looking in the Index. I really mean it .Put it down to Senior Memory lapse :) Thank you
Storm




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jennyb
Member
42 posts
Joined Jul 2006
     
Aug 28, 2006 21:58 |  #6

Is there really any reason to do this (other than the book mentions how to)? I've had 2 digital cameras, used 6 different flash cards and have never "camera-formatted" (or formatted by any other means) a card. Never had a problem.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
69,628 posts
Likes: 218
Joined Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
     
Aug 29, 2006 10:38 |  #7

The manual notes that to take full advantage of "Continuous" shooting mode you need to have low-level-formatted your card. Also that if the camera's starting to slow down reformatting it would be a good idea. ISTR that they also suggest LLF for best video recording performance.


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

31,026 views & 0 likes for this thread
Formatting SD Card
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Small Compact Digitals by Canon 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is shandesh19
747 guests, 278 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.