Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Small Compact Digitals by Canon
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 28th of August 2006 (Mon)   #1
Storm2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 26
Default Formatting SD Card

Hi Have got a Canon A60. I have bought 2 new SD 512mb Cards ,I am told I should Format them. How? Just stick them into the Camera's slot. ? Storm2
Sorry it is an A620

Last edited by Storm2 : 28th of August 2006 (Mon) at 10:12.
Storm2 is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 28th of August 2006 (Mon)   #2
Jon
Moderator

Cocker Spaniel Mod

 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 67,629
Default Re: Formatting SD Card

On the "Tools" Menu (press the "Menu" button, right-arrow once to the "Tools" menu) there's a "Format" selection.
__________________
Jon
----------

Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities


Image Posting Rules
and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th of August 2006 (Mon)   #3
Storm2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 26
Default Re: Formatting SD Card

Hi did as you instructed . All I have is--- Format icon 483mb---
There is no Selection. These are 2 new cards I bought. I already have one 512mb sd card I have been using for couple of mths. All I did was to just put it in the Camera's Card slot . I think back that someone said it will format itself.
Going on Holiday thats why the extra memory .Plus I did not want to screw anything up.
Can you explain please what to do next.
Thanks . Storm2
Storm2 is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 28th of August 2006 (Mon)   #4
Jon
Moderator

Cocker Spaniel Mod

 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 67,629
Default Re: Formatting SD Card

Press the Func. Set button, choose "Low Level Format" and "OK" - p. 21 of the Advanced User's Guide.
__________________
Jon
----------

Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities


Image Posting Rules
and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th of August 2006 (Mon)   #5
Storm2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 26
Default Re: Formatting SD Card

Please accept my apologies Jon for not looking in the Index. I really mean it .Put it down to Senior Memory lapse Thank you
Storm
Storm2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th of August 2006 (Mon)   #6
jennyb
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 42
Default Re: Formatting SD Card

Is there really any reason to do this (other than the book mentions how to)? I've had 2 digital cameras, used 6 different flash cards and have never "camera-formatted" (or formatted by any other means) a card. Never had a problem.
jennyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th of August 2006 (Tue)   #7
Jon
Moderator

Cocker Spaniel Mod

 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 67,629
Default Re: Formatting SD Card

The manual notes that to take full advantage of "Continuous" shooting mode you need to have low-level-formatted your card. Also that if the camera's starting to slow down reformatting it would be a good idea. ISTR that they also suggest LLF for best video recording performance.
__________________
Jon
----------

Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities


Image Posting Rules
and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4GB card only formatting to 2GB pgo Accessories & Storage 11 12th of March 2007 (Mon) 10:22
Will formatting a CF card affect Continuous numbering? TMR Design Accessories & Storage 3 29th of October 2006 (Sun) 20:56
How do you maximize the CF card capacity when formatting Carl Gee Small Compact Digitals by Canon 3 27th of October 2004 (Wed) 14:54
Formatting 512 CF card on D60 ivilyn RAW, Post Processing and Printing 0 6th of November 2002 (Wed) 15:44
Formatting the memory card?? Braveheart Canon G-series Digital Cameras 5 29th of October 2002 (Tue) 16:09


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.