Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Community Talk, Chatter & Official Stuff The Lounge
Thread started 28 Aug 2006 (Monday) 17:00
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Dead Mobo, Monarch gone.(Can't wait for new System to arrive!)

 
CyberDyneSystems
Admin (type T-2000)
CyberDyneSystems's Avatar
47,706 posts
Gallery: 78 photos
Joined Apr 2003
Rhode Island USA
Aug 28, 2006 17:00 |  #1

**EDIT**
UPDATE 3-2007
When I finally got this system my feelings of the Vendor, Monarch computers, was mixed.
The System itself is awesome and was very well put together with a high attention to detail.
This same detail is one of the reasons that many reviews historically had rated Monarch Highly.
However it seems I purchased at the end of Monarchs reign..

Monarch Computers is GONE!

I find this out as a growing issue has revealed itself to be a now dead Motherboard.

No recourse left with Monarch.

Thsi is mixed news, as I have to foot the bill for a system that was under warranty, but on the other hand, at least I know where I stand and can avoid the wasted time dealing with Monarch.


This will be the first Computer I have owned that I did not build myself since,, well, the first PC I ever owned (a 486)

Why didn't I build it myself this time? Two reasons:

1. No price advantage. In fact it was less expensive to have it built with a warranty thn to get the parts through Newegg.

2. I just don't find trying to figure out which compnent out of a dozen is the problem any more, and I will stiull have to dedicate a month to fighting the latest install of a Microsoft product to bend it to my will anywyas.

So what's the bid deal?

My current system is very long in the tooth. I try to "future proof" a system as best I can, and lasty time I did a great job of it. Current rig is now nearly 5 years old. Larger files and many filters bog it down.

So in keeping with the need for speed and future proofing as best I can, I have built custom specced "SkyNet V 3.0"

It starts with the Mobo, Dual Opteron by Supermicro, the H8DCe (click pic for larger image)

IMAGE: http://www.plonter.co.il/graphics/product_images/full/H8DCE.gif
[IMAGE'S LINK: http://images10.newegg​.com ...ctimage/13-182-081-04.jpg] (external link)

Yes, that is 8 SATA ports (on two controllers with raid) and 8 dimm slots. With AMD's NUMA Ememory archtecture, each CPU can be assigned it's own unshared bank of four DIMMS.. for a total of 16GB max (8x 2GB dimms)


A pair of these;
IMAGE: http://www.gamepc.com/images/labs/rev-opteron275-front.jpg

Opteron 275s... each is a Dual Core 2.2GHz Opteron, so were talking QUAD CORE BABY!


Sporting one of these on each;
IMAGE NOT FOUND IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
HTTP response: 404 | MIME changed to 'text/html' | Byte size: ZERO


8 of these; (a total of 8 1GB sticks ECC memory)
IMAGE: http://www.pcper.com/images/reviews/307/corsairmemory.jpg

Some of these;
IMAGE: http://www.superwarehouse.com/images/products/western_wd740GD.jpg

A Lite On 16X DVD-RW Dual layer etc...
IMAGE NOT FOUND IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
HTTP response: 404 | MIME changed to 'text/html' | Byte size: ZERO


a rather lame graphics card for the time being.. (Might get a Matrox in PCIe)

and it's all stuffed into the "CM Stacker" by Cooler Master. (click pic for more details)

IMAGE: http://www.bit-tech.net/content_images/2007/03/cm_stacker_mod_by_snakez_and_ediejo/page1-2.jpg
[IMAGE'S LINK: http://www.tomshardwar​e.com/2004/06/16/coole​r_master/] (external link)


Installing WinXP 64 to take full advantage of the multi proc and NUMA memory architecture...

I can't wait!

GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
Jake Hegnauer Photography (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Becca
Lady in Red
Becca's Avatar
Joined Apr 2005
Glendale, Arizona
Aug 28, 2006 17:06 |  #2

Whooohooo! That sounds like some system! Congrats, Jake!


Becca
"The world is a book, and those who do not travel read only one page." ~ Saint Augustine
Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY
condyk
Africa's #1 Tour Guide
condyk's Avatar
20,886 posts
Joined Mar 2005
Birmingham, UK
Aug 28, 2006 17:09 |  #3

I've always built my own so I knew the quality was there, but am ready for an overhaul after 4 years. So, have you spec'd it and someone else is building it then, or what? I might follow your general purchase lead as I'm sure you checked it all out for value and performance.


http://photography-on-the.net .../showthread.php?t=1​203740

LOG IN TO REPLY
lakiluno
slightly jealous
lakiluno's Avatar
2,895 posts
Joined Oct 2005
Leeds, UK (formerly Edinburgh, Scotland)
Aug 28, 2006 17:19 |  #4

and there was me thinking upgrading my RAM to 1GB was exciting!


Leo
20D|Tamron 17-50 2.8|Sigma 70-300mm APO DG Macro|50 1.8|Sigma EF-500 DG Super|
My Photo Galleryexternal link *New* | My Gear List | Backup Photos Easily with Robocopy

LOG IN TO REPLY
Billginthekeys
Billy the kid
Billginthekeys's Avatar
7,359 posts
Joined Nov 2005
Islamorada, FL
Aug 28, 2006 17:22 |  #5

nice setup indeed. who did you order from?


Mr. the Kid.
Go Canes!
My Galleryexternal linkMy Gear
what the L. just go for it.

LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
THREAD ­ STARTER
Admin (type T-2000)
CyberDyneSystems's Avatar
47,706 posts
Gallery: 78 photos
Joined Apr 2003
Rhode Island USA
Aug 28, 2006 17:23 |  #6

Yes, I specced it and it is being built for me, thus I will get a 2 year warranty (could have done three, but figured in two years of anything breaks it will be cheap to replace anyway)

It's all good solid stuff. I'll leave it up to the boys to get it all talking to eachother :)

I decided on "Monarch"
I found four on line vendors that deal in such workstations with very similar value, Monrach and "Polywell" had the best prices.

But AVA Direct and JNCS probably would be better choices for cutomer support.
JNCs unfortunately did not have the Mobo I wanted as an option, the SuperMicro is far more accepted in the real workstation world than the Tyan's that JNCS is pushing.

Polywell, I think this may have been the best of both worlds, but they are on the West coast, JNCS and Monarch are a few hours from me, so I went based on location once I narrowed it down.


Those beastly air coolers from Zalman should give me leeway to push those CPUs up to about 2.5GHz or so.. :mrgreen:


GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
Jake Hegnauer Photography (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
cmM
Goldmember
cmM's Avatar
5,705 posts
Joined Apr 2004
Chicago / San Francisco
Aug 28, 2006 18:14 |  #7
banned

looks great...
I have to get a new system myself... I have Mac thoughts though :D




LOG IN TO REPLY
nitsch
Goldmember
2,393 posts
Joined Feb 2005
Aug 28, 2006 18:30 |  #8

Did anyone else lose POTN for a few minutes there?! For a moment I was concerned that Cyberdyne's Skynet3 had become self aware and decided the fate of POTN in a microsecond!! :lol:

Nice system CDS!




LOG IN TO REPLY
Mark0159
I say stupid things all the time
Mark0159's Avatar
12,717 posts
Gallery: 27 photos
Joined Mar 2003
Hamilton, New Zealand
Aug 29, 2006 01:30 |  #9

what a fine setup that would, the only question I have is why AMD. I thought that the lastest intel chips would be better in the long run and be a lot coller than a couple of amds


Mark
https://www.flickr.com​/photos/52782633@N04 (external link)
Canon EOS 6D | Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM, EF 17-40mm f/4L USM, EF 50mm f/1.4 USM, EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM | Tamron SP 35mm F1.8 Di VC USD | Canon Speedlite 550EX -|- Film | Canon EOS 3 | Olympus OM2 | Zuiko 35mm f2

LOG IN TO REPLY
SimonG
Goldmember
SimonG's Avatar
1,007 posts
Joined Jan 2006
Kitchener, ON
Aug 29, 2006 01:45 |  #10

IMAGE: http://i96.photobucket.com/albums/l162/Simon_G/Emoticons/slobber.gif

Nice specs. I've been running a dualie Opteron (246s) machine for three years now, and it's still plenty powerful enough for most things (though I'd love to drop in a pair of 275s). Your system should keep you happy for at least a few years!

BTW, the CM Stacker is a gem of a case. I'd outgrown my previous server case (Yeong Yang 0221 Cube), and found that the Stacker was the perfect fit, particularly since it can hold a pair of PSUs. Just glad the thing has castors. ;)

-- Michael (a.k.a. SimonG)
EOS 5D | 17-40 f/4L | 24-105 f/4L | 40 f/2.8 | 50 f/1.4 | 85 f/1.4 | 430EX | Zenfolioexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
THREAD ­ STARTER
Admin (type T-2000)
CyberDyneSystems's Avatar
47,706 posts
Gallery: 78 photos
Joined Apr 2003
Rhode Island USA
Aug 29, 2006 10:39 as a reply to Mark0159's post |  #11

nzl-g3user wrote:
what a fine setup that would, the only question I have is why AMD. I thought that the lastest intel chips would be better in the long run and be a lot coller than a couple of amds

A number of reasons really
1. I've been married to AMD since the first Athlon, :)
2. Have you looked at the cost of a Dual XEON system with Dual Cores?
3. There is no published data to be found anywhere that the new Intels have closed the gap in performance running Photoshop that the Opterons have had for the past few years.
4. There is published data that still shows the Dual Opteron's in XP64 as the fastest Photoshop Machines on the planet (sorry Mac fans)
5. I'm sure the new intels will be faster for a lot of apps, I bet that games in particular will be faster on the new intels,. whoop dee doo.. :lol:
6. I began the work to configue this sytem and began saving for it before the new intels existed. (do they exist now, or is this still a "will be soon" thing anyway?)
7. Cooler? I could have gone for the low wattage Opterons at nearly double the cost per unit, they run at 55watt as opposed to 95watts,. very very cool. But unless I am a massive server farm running dozens/hundreds of servers, the difference in price is not really cost effective for me.


GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
Jake Hegnauer Photography (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
THREAD ­ STARTER
Admin (type T-2000)
CyberDyneSystems's Avatar
47,706 posts
Gallery: 78 photos
Joined Apr 2003
Rhode Island USA
Aug 29, 2006 10:49 as a reply to SimonG's post |  #12

SimonG wrote:
[GIFS ARE NOT RENDERED IN QUOTES]

Nice specs. I've been running a dualie Opteron (246s) machine for three years now, and it's still plenty powerful enough for most things (though I'd love to drop in a pair of 275s). Your system should keep you happy for at least a few years!

BTW, the CM Stacker is a gem of a case. I'd outgrown my previous server case (Yeong Yang 0221 Cube), and found that the Stacker was the perfect fit, particularly since it can hold a pair of PSUs. Just glad the thing has castors. ;)

Glad to hear it, yep those 248's should be fine for a few years to come. What's the Mobo?
IF you ever felt the NEED to upgrade, it may take the Dual Cores no problem.

I've been eyeing that "Stacker" for some time. though it will be physically smaller and lighter than the old steel server case my current "Skynet V2.6" is installed in, it looks easier to work in and .. NOTHING else has the 11 front drive bays! Since I install all my hard drives in removeable racks, the more front real estate I have the better. I do not use internal drive cages at all, so those would be wasted space.

Skynet V-2.0 circa 2002 = The one on the right :)

IMAGE NOT FOUND IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
HTTP response: 404 | MIME changed to 'text/html' | Byte size: ZERO


Also the dual power suplly thing is a huge plus.
My current case was modded to take a second power supply as well, so I could fire up a chain of SCSI hard drives ( "SKynet V2.0" still had a bunch of SCSI hard drives) The second supply was an old AT power supply, I only turned it on if I wanted acces to the SCSI chain, otherwise the whole system would boot from IDE and run without the extra storage. At the time, it was near impossible to find a single PSU that could power all of those drives, AND the Mobo etc..

GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
Jake Hegnauer Photography (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
Nortelbert
Goldmember
Nortelbert's Avatar
Joined Nov 2004
Calgary, Alberta
Aug 29, 2006 11:15 |  #13

CyberDyneSystems wrote:
Installing WinXP 64 to take full advantage of the multi proc and NUMA memory architecture...

I can't wait!

Does XP 64 actually have a lot of apps that take advantage of it?




LOG IN TO REPLY
SimonG
Goldmember
SimonG's Avatar
1,007 posts
Joined Jan 2006
Kitchener, ON
Aug 29, 2006 12:10 |  #14

My mobo is an Iwill DK8N, which will take dual core chips if I ever am able to pay for them (which is doubtful, because I'd rather have a new lens than a faster computer). ;)

What are you planning for storage? I presume that you're going all SATA? Maybe a Raptor or two?


-- Michael (a.k.a. SimonG)
EOS 5D | 17-40 f/4L | 24-105 f/4L | 40 f/2.8 | 50 f/1.4 | 85 f/1.4 | 430EX | Zenfolioexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
pushtoexit
Member
pushtoexit's Avatar
219 posts
Joined Jan 2005
Toronto, Ontario
Aug 29, 2006 12:26 |  #15

Your pocket protecter is showing again.;)

Sure wish I knew what you were talking about...but it certainly sounds impressive and should surely carry you through another 20,000 or so posts.

Congratulations.


A Beginners Galleryexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

14,464 views & 0 likes for this thread
Dead Mobo, Monarch gone.(Can't wait for new System to arrive!)
FORUMS Community Talk, Chatter & Official Stuff The Lounge


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00335 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.04s
Latest registered member is shapps
957 guests, 472 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016