Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Small Compact Digitals by Canon
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12th of September 2006 (Tue)   #1
laq
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 162
Default can you get this with an a620?

just wanting to know the opinions... im not really sure if linking this is allowed..if not sorry, and delete if ya need to this guy has some nice shots.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/spilopt...7594182288721/
__________________
G10
laq is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 12th of September 2006 (Tue)   #2
elise1030
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 569
Default Re: can you get this with an a620?

You probably could get it with an A610/20. I'd try it if I had a willing subject to perform tests . I do know the A610/20's have awesome macro though.
__________________
~350d -- kitlens -- ef 75-300mm -- A610~ 'thank you John'

http://www.flickr.com/photos/elise1030/
elise1030 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th of September 2006 (Tue)   #3
locky
User is banned from forums
 
locky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Montague, Michigan
Posts: 2,663
Default Re: can you get this with an a620?

You wont have any problems with the A620 taking shots like that or better.
locky is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 12th of September 2006 (Tue)   #4
laq
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 162
Default Re: can you get this with an a620?

what would i use besides the raynox 250 ive got?..looking at that shot, i dont think theres anyway i could duplicate it.
__________________
G10
laq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th of September 2006 (Thu)   #5
Pixel9ine
Member
 
Pixel9ine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 861
Default Re: can you get this with an a620?

Quote:
Originally Posted by laq
what would i use besides the raynox 250 ive got?..looking at that shot, i dont think theres anyway i could duplicate it.
First of all, this shot is absolutely acheievable with an A620. I've had great success with my A95, and your camera is slightly more capable still.

Have you checked out megaweb's sticky at the top of this section? You really should... he tells you exactly what you will need to get these types of shots (primarily a lens adapter, macro coupler, and a reversed MF lens):

Canon A70 Super Macro
__________________
Andre B :: gearlist
www.pixel9ine.com
Pixel9ine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th of September 2006 (Thu)   #6
laq
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 162
Default Re: can you get this with an a620?

yeah...ive been looking at that thread alot and trying to figure out if its what i want to do..can anyone post a link for decent lenses i can use..or what do i need to look for on the lens to know if i can use it. we have a pawn shop near by with alot of lenses- i just dont know what to look for if i buy one.

thanks alot!

-tony
__________________
G10
laq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th of September 2006 (Thu)   #7
Pixel9ine
Member
 
Pixel9ine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 861
Default Re: can you get this with an a620?

Megaweb used an EF-mount 35mm prime lens - probably becuase that's what he had. However, you do not need an autofocus lens, since it's the camera's built-in lens that will do the focusing (or, you will simple move the camera back and forth.)

So, if you're looking for a decent cheap lens, an old manual-focus lens (Canon/Nikon/Pentax, etc) will do quite well, and is fairly cheap to buy. Personally, the FD 50mm 1.8 is easy to find on eBay or local pawn shops and camera stores-- since you will be reverse-mounting the lens, wider focal lengths will give you more magnification. Hence, a 35mm prime might do quite better still.

Personally, I use a Canon FD 50mm 1.8 - easy to use since the lens is already threaded for 52mm filters. Plus it was free - I had stopped using it when I bought a 50mm 1.4 for my AE-1.
__________________
Andre B :: gearlist
www.pixel9ine.com

Last edited by Pixel9ine : 14th of September 2006 (Thu) at 09:40.
Pixel9ine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th of September 2006 (Thu)   #8
laq
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 162
Default Re: can you get this with an a620?

thanks alot for the info!...think this would work?

edit...link didnt work...

anyway, it was a canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II lens that i saw on Amazon. am i at least in the right ballpark?

-tony
__________________
G10
laq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th of September 2006 (Thu)   #9
Jon
Moderator

Cocker Spaniel Mod

 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 67,735
Default Re: can you get this with an a620?

Yeah. That'll work. Probably more expensive, but not much quality difference, than an old FD lens. And if you move onto a DSLR you've already got a pretty good portrait lens.
__________________
Jon
----------

Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities

Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th of September 2006 (Thu)   #10
jkdlee
Member
 
jkdlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Central London
Posts: 66
Default Re: can you get this with an a620?

the a620 can go as close as a 1cm i think. Does it really need other lenses?
Will the outcome of the pics differ from the ones shot with the a620?
what are differences ?

Last edited by jkdlee : 14th of September 2006 (Thu) at 18:01.
jkdlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th of September 2006 (Thu)   #11
laq
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 162
Default Re: can you get this with an a620?

i know that with my raynox i can get alot closer than without it. i think its about magnafication ( excuse the spelling ) not just how close you can get.

has anyone done this to a s3? is that possible?
__________________
G10
laq is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i own a a620 and... adavem Small Compact Digitals by Canon 11 27th of February 2007 (Tue) 02:20
A620 again ! Storm2 Small Compact Digitals by Canon 7 10th of August 2006 (Thu) 07:40
A620 HELP IbSab Small Compact Digitals by Canon 2 27th of July 2006 (Thu) 10:05
a620 or g6 morningcalm Small Compact Digitals by Canon 5 20th of July 2006 (Thu) 20:21
A620 vs S2-IS LynnE. Small Compact Digitals by Canon 13 14th of February 2006 (Tue) 15:25


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.