Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Small Flash and Studio Lighting
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 31st of October 2006 (Tue)   #1
flumpki

Default Inexpensive Lighting alternative

I am looking at trying to create a studio. I am relatively new to photography and have mostly done landscape type of shooting. I am a recently graduated, but unemployed college student, so I am trying to do what I can on a budget. Anyway, I found some cheap ($9.99) work lights on sale at Sears (Craftsman 500 Watt Tripod Light with Portable Stand ). I was just wondering if these might be okay to get me started before I have enough money to invest in better lighting. Thanks
Old 31st of October 2006 (Tue)   #2
flumpki

Default Re: Inexpensive Lighting alternative

They also have a 1000Watt Tripod available for a little more. What do you think?
Old 31st of October 2006 (Tue)   #3
TeeJay
Goldmember

They would work - maybe bounce the light off a white wall/ceiling - and use a custom WB setting, but just be careful how close you get to them, they'll get EXTREMELY HOT! (not very comfortable for any model!)

There are some threads on POTN that feature this type of lighting - sorry but I haven't time now, but use the search facility and see if you can find them.
1DsMkIII | 1DMkIIN | 70-200 f/2.8L IS | 24-70 f/2.8L | 24-105 f/4L IS | 17-40 f/4L | 50 f/1.2L | WFT-E1 & E2 Transmitters - Click Here for setup advice | CP-E4 Battery Pack x 2 | ST-E2 | 580EX | 550EX | 430EXII | 420EX | Tripod + monopod | Bowens Esprit Gemini 500W/s heads & Travel-Pak | All this gear - and still no idea
TeeJay is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 31st of October 2006 (Tue)   #4
John Sims

Quote:
Originally Posted by flumpki View Post
They also have a 1000Watt Tripod available for a little more. What do you think?