LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


Sigma 80-400 OS Minireview and example shots.

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 22 Jan 2004 (Thursday) 04:00   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
J.A.F. ­ Doorhof
Goldmember
Joined Jul 2003
3,242 posts
Emmeloord, The Netherlands
[MORE/SHARE]

Couldn't wait for the delivery/review, but today is the day the Sigma 80-400 OS lens will arrive here for me to play with, I have taken the afternoon off (easy as an own boss ;D) so keep posted for a minireview, if it's here before dark.

Greetings,
Frank

Post #1, Jan 22, 2004 04:00:51


www.frankdoorhof.comexternal link
www.frankdoorhof.com/p​ortfolioexternal link
follow me on twitterexternal link
teaching at Photoshop World 2013external link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
J.A.F. ­ Doorhof
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Joined Jul 2003
3,242 posts
Emmeloord, The Netherlands
[MORE/SHARE]

It's here, my precious ;D.

If first impressions say anything it's WOW, this lens is big.
It's much thicker than my previous 134-400 Sigma, and a beautiful made appearance.

There are 2 settings (well actualy 3).
OFF (duh)
1, after a second or so the OS kicks in and gives a truely stable picture.
2, Vertical movement is eliminated, good for panning.

I will go out in about an hour to do some more testing outside, but the first impression is very positive.

Only drawback is the focus, this can take some time compared to my 28-75 f2.8 but on the other hand it's offcourse a much bigger reach lens.

When focussing however it goes really fast, it only hunts from close to far away.

The package is very complete again with a Hood and carrying case + straps.

Keep reading for some test shots in about 2-3 hours.

Greetings,
Frank

Post #2, Jan 22, 2004 06:15:35


www.frankdoorhof.comexternal link
www.frankdoorhof.com/p​ortfolioexternal link
follow me on twitterexternal link
teaching at Photoshop World 2013external link

LOG IN TO REPLY
J.A.F. ­ Doorhof
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Joined Jul 2003
3,242 posts
Emmeloord, The Netherlands
[MORE/SHARE]

Well ok, the weather here is VERY VERY bad, no sunlight and big grey clouds, but I don't care ;D it's better to really test those low shutterspeeds I guess.

So don't judge from quality standing, the lens can do MUCH better in better weather.

The first shot is done out of the hand with a 1.4 Sigma EX convertor:

IMAGE NOT FOUND IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
http://www.xs4all.nl/~​itc/tests/noos.jpgexternal link
HTTP response: 404 | MIME changed to 'text/html' | Byte size: ZERO

specs:
Iso 200
f 8
Exp. 1/60 sec
Focal length 896

Pretty useless.

IMAGE NOT FOUND IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
http://www.xs4all.nl/~​itc/tests/OS.jpgexternal link
HTTP response: 404 | MIME changed to 'text/html' | Byte size: ZERO

specs:
Iso 200
f 8
Exp. 1/50 sec
Focal length 896

much better but still not as I would use

IMAGE NOT FOUND IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
http://www.xs4all.nl/~​itc/tests/OSiso800.jpgexternal link
HTTP response: 404 | MIME changed to 'text/html' | Byte size: ZERO

specs:
Iso 800
Exp 1/200s
f8
Focal length 896mm

This is more like it ;D.

The object was really far away, combined with the rain and bad light I think this is really impressive, I would not dream to shoot my old 400mm lens WITHOUT 1.4x convertor under 1/600sec and with convertor not even under 1/800 and even then the picture would be blurry because on 400mm the 135-400 was allready soft.

One thing however, even with the 1.4x convertor I loose autofocus and lowest apperture becomes f8. That's a shame, but the lens focusses really nice and fine, so it's not really a problem, when I shoot with the 1.4 convertor autofocus is not that important anyway and manual is easy to do.

Overall I'm at the moment VERY impressed with the OS system, I tried the Canon once and was also impressed but it seems the OS from Sigma is a bit more solid but there has been some time passed on that test.

I can't wait to go out and shoot in some normal weather.

I made some standard shots and the colors look very good, so does contrast and sharpness, but I can really judge that on a normal day.

Keep you posted.

Greetings,
Frank

Post #3, Jan 22, 2004 08:07:09


www.frankdoorhof.comexternal link
www.frankdoorhof.com/p​ortfolioexternal link
follow me on twitterexternal link
teaching at Photoshop World 2013external link

LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
Admin (type T-2000)
CyberDyneSystems's Avatar
Joined Apr 2003
40,772 posts
Providence RI
[MORE/SHARE]

Frank,

Looking forward to some pics without the 1.4X
...see what that OS can do with a bit more light...

For AF speed,. compare it with the OS on and then with the OS OFF,.. with the Canon lenses,. I find that "IS" slows intital autifocus,. as it has to wait for the "IS" to spin up...

I have to say,. I would consider this lens over the Canon 100-400mm jst for the Zoom ring (as opposed to push pull) I know I'll get flamed for that statement (soory Jim! :) ) but I really couldn't bare the push pull :(

Keep us updated :)

Post #4, Jan 22, 2004 11:05:19


GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
My POTN Share Threads
Jake Hegnauer Photographyexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
J.A.F. ­ Doorhof
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Joined Jul 2003
3,242 posts
Emmeloord, The Netherlands
[MORE/SHARE]

Bad weather again, but here is an example of the 80mm setting.
Indoors, no flash and a realy difficult situation a Cat in a rather dark living room in front of the window.
Only the eyes have been a little enhanced in PS.

IMAGE NOT FOUND IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
http://www.xs4all.nl/~​itc/tests/testOS17.jpgexternal link
HTTP response: 404 | MIME changed to 'text/html' | Byte size: ZERO


Overall I'm VERY happy with the lens, the OS is really amazing and very effective, I can shoot under 1/100 on 400mm and still get reasonable good shots, when I go to 1/200 on 400 they are really good, with my previous lens and with OS of you can really forget this.

The Focusspeed is very slow, that's true, but to be honest it's still fast enough for anything I do, on continues focus it can easily track birds and soccer players so that's no problem.

The manual focus is really amazing precise and quick.

The sound of the lens is maybe a problem for some wildlife shooters, but I think the 400mm reach will give you enough space between your subject, it's not a really noisy lens but it's a bit noisier than for example my 70-210 f2.8 APO from Sigma.

Overall I'm glad I choose the Sigma over the 100-400L from Canon.
I shoot ALOT on 400mm wide open and the quality is outstanding optical, even when stopped down two stops there is hardly any difference in sharpness, so my uneducated quess is the optical quality is good.

I can whole heartedly advice anyone the 80-400 OS.

Greetings,
Frank

Post #5, Jan 23, 2004 10:01:44


www.frankdoorhof.comexternal link
www.frankdoorhof.com/p​ortfolioexternal link
follow me on twitterexternal link
teaching at Photoshop World 2013external link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
ChrisNardone
Senior Member
Joined Jun 2003
199 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

CyberDyneSystems wrote:
Frank,

Looking forward to some pics without the 1.4X
...see what that OS can do with a bit more light...

For AF speed,. compare it with the OS on and then with the OS OFF,.. with the Canon lenses,. I find that "IS" slows intital autifocus,. as it has to wait for the "IS" to spin up...

I have to say,. I would consider this lens over the Canon 100-400mm jst for the Zoom ring (as opposed to push pull) I know I'll get flamed for that statement (soory Jim! :) ) but I really couldn't bare the push pull :(

Keep us updated :)

CDS, I'm with you on the zoom ring.

Frank,
Thanks for the review. Keep the samples coming. I am very interested in this lens. BTW, where did you buy it?
Chris

Post #6, Jan 23, 2004 17:45:14




LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
Admin (type T-2000)
CyberDyneSystems's Avatar
Joined Apr 2003
40,772 posts
Providence RI
[MORE/SHARE]

I am completely baffled as to why Sigma did not use an HSM focus motor for this lens????

I remember when this was first preveiwed in a press release it did say it would have HSM,. then later (still before any were released) the print material all omited any mention of HSM,.

But from your description of the focus speed and noise,. (especially as compared to your much older 70-210mm) combined with the fact that Sigma still does not list it as HSM,. we must assume it has there standard focus motor.

Was it an incompatibility with the OS system?

Weird.

Post #7, Jan 23, 2004 17:59:09


GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
My POTN Share Threads
Jake Hegnauer Photographyexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
J.A.F. ­ Doorhof
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Joined Jul 2003
3,242 posts
Emmeloord, The Netherlands
[MORE/SHARE]

To be honest that also puzzles me, on the other hand, who gives.....
The OS kicks in in about the same time the focus is achieved, sometimes even a bit later (under 1 second by the way).

The only time I really find it annyoing is when I have to travel the whole range, when you switch from something far away to something a bit less far away it's fast enough.

HSM would make it a perfect lens.

The only thing that also puzzles me is why the 1.4x extender looses autofocus ?
Does any one know if that's normal ?
And I read there was a workarround with blanking a pin ???
There is MORE than enough light coming through the viewfinder.

One nice side effect.
The lens is very thick, and the 10D really looks like a small camera now :D, it carries very easy on those Zoo tours, just grab onto the lens.

Greetings,
Frank

Post #8, Jan 24, 2004 01:11:28


www.frankdoorhof.comexternal link
www.frankdoorhof.com/p​ortfolioexternal link
follow me on twitterexternal link
teaching at Photoshop World 2013external link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Guillermo ­ Freige
Senior Member
Guillermo Freige's Avatar
Joined Jun 2003
704 posts
La Plata, Argentina
[MORE/SHARE]

JAF:
I think AF loss is perfectly normal, as you are loosing 1 stop with the converter, and AF is lost for lenses darker than f/5.6, and the 4.5-5.6 becomes a f/7.1-8.0 with the teleconverter. You must tape a contact in the teleconverter (but I don't know which one) to regain AF, but probably not a very reliable one.

Post #9, Jan 24, 2004 01:20:46


Guillermo
EOS 5D MkII, 40D and 20D owner.
EF 17-40L, 24-105L IS , 70-300 IS, 24 f2.8, 35 f2, 50 f2.5 Macro, 85 f1.8.
EF-s 18-55 IS. Sigma 12-24, Tamron 17-50 Di II

LOG IN TO REPLY
J.A.F. ­ Doorhof
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Joined Jul 2003
3,242 posts
Emmeloord, The Netherlands
[MORE/SHARE]

Ah, I thought I lost AF with f8 or f11.
Sorry.

Greetings,
Frank

Post #10, Jan 24, 2004 01:27:13


www.frankdoorhof.comexternal link
www.frankdoorhof.com/p​ortfolioexternal link
follow me on twitterexternal link
teaching at Photoshop World 2013external link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Guillermo ­ Freige
Senior Member
Guillermo Freige's Avatar
Joined Jun 2003
704 posts
La Plata, Argentina
[MORE/SHARE]

AFAIK, only the top models keeps AF at f/8 (the ones using the 45 point AF system), at only in selected AF points (or only central one, I don't remember). That includes the EOS 1v,1D,1Ds and 3 cameras only (at least in current models)

Post #11, Jan 24, 2004 01:36:15


Guillermo
EOS 5D MkII, 40D and 20D owner.
EF 17-40L, 24-105L IS , 70-300 IS, 24 f2.8, 35 f2, 50 f2.5 Macro, 85 f1.8.
EF-s 18-55 IS. Sigma 12-24, Tamron 17-50 Di II

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
J.A.F. ­ Doorhof
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Joined Jul 2003
3,242 posts
Emmeloord, The Netherlands
[MORE/SHARE]

Found it.
http://www.fredmiranda​.com/TipsPage/external link

Will try this in the summer, in these light conditions I think I'm better of with manual focus.

Greetings,
Frank

Post #12, Jan 24, 2004 02:06:37


www.frankdoorhof.comexternal link
www.frankdoorhof.com/p​ortfolioexternal link
follow me on twitterexternal link
teaching at Photoshop World 2013external link

LOG IN TO REPLY
J.A.F. ­ Doorhof
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Joined Jul 2003
3,242 posts
Emmeloord, The Netherlands
[MORE/SHARE]

Couldn't wait so I tested it tonight, in house (very very low light), I expected to get an error 99 straight away but to my surprise it works right away, the focus is just as fast as normal, or at least I could not detect a difference.

Are there any bad things about this mod ?
Like not working appertures or something else ?

Greetings,
Frank

Post #13, Jan 24, 2004 12:35:23


www.frankdoorhof.comexternal link
www.frankdoorhof.com/p​ortfolioexternal link
follow me on twitterexternal link
teaching at Photoshop World 2013external link

LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
Admin (type T-2000)
CyberDyneSystems's Avatar
Joined Apr 2003
40,772 posts
Providence RI
[MORE/SHARE]

As the camera meters through the lens,. it does not matter to the camera that the lens can no longer report the proer aperture,. the camera will still expose correctly...

The downside is,. it is hit or miss how well this trick will work,. both from one type of lens to the next,. as well as from one copy to another.

It lucks like you have indeed been lucky!!!!

I have had luck with some lenses as well,. but the lens I was both really hoping it would work well with,. and by all logical deduction SHOULD have worked well with this trick,...


It so happens that my 500mm f/4.5 Prime DOES NOT like the tape trck :( :(

It is only f/4.5... many f/5.6 will work no problem,.. so the f/4.5 being sooooo close to an f/4 which will ALLWAYS work with a 1.4X....

Oh well,. it does "sort of " work,. but it has problems sometimes as well.. regardless of available light.

Post #14, Jan 24, 2004 23:49:10


GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
My POTN Share Threads
Jake Hegnauer Photographyexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
J.A.F. ­ Doorhof
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Joined Jul 2003
3,242 posts
Emmeloord, The Netherlands
[MORE/SHARE]

Tried some more last night.
It hunts on the low light in the kitchen (but only on 400) but that also happens without the convertor, so that's no problem, as soon as I hower aim at a kitchen device it's in focus (rather normal I would say).

One thing I did notice last week when I got the 1.4x convertor was that my 70-210f2.8 keeps saying it's a f2.8 so I think that lens also has no communication with the camera.

The main reason I asked because I read somewhere that the 10D has two focus methods, one being for good conditions and that one is very accurate, and one less acurate for bad conditions, when using the tape trick this could fool the camera into thinking it's always bad.
This is no issue on the 80-400 because I'm glad I HAVE autofocus back, but could be an issue on the 70-210f2.8.

So anyone heard about that one ?

Greetings,
Frank

Post #15, Jan 25, 2004 02:20:49


www.frankdoorhof.comexternal link
www.frankdoorhof.com/p​ortfolioexternal link
follow me on twitterexternal link
teaching at Photoshop World 2013external link

LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
19,472 views & 0 likes for this thread
Sigma 80-400 OS Minireview and example shots.
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00179 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.03s
954 guests, 710 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is Predrag

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.