Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11th of November 2006 (Sat)   #1
Fenka856
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 67
Angry ???How to clean inside my camera???

i have a fiber thats inside my camer. the only problem is that it's not on the sensor nor is it on the mirror. it's on the piece that has the focal points. i've tried to blow it off but no go. it doesn't seem to affect the picture quality but it annoys the hell out of me.
Fenka856 is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 11th of November 2006 (Sat)   #2
Jon
Moderator

Cocker Spaniel Mod

 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 67,543
Default Re: ???How to clean inside my camera???

On the focussing screen? That's a fairly delicate plstic, IIRC. If you ahve one of hte APS-C models I'd suggest just living with it. If you have a 1D/5D model the screens are intended to be user-replaceable so directions are readily available. The screens in the others are user-replaceable with 3rd-party screens so not necessarily as user-friendly to remove/replace.
__________________
Jon
----------

Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities


Image Posting Rules
and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th of November 2006 (Sat)   #3
coreypolis
User is banned from forums
 
coreypolis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mercer Island, WA
Posts: 6,793
Default Re: ???How to clean inside my camera???

you can usea anti static cloth or a bulb blower to try and get it.
coreypolis is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 11th of November 2006 (Sat)   #4
still crawfish
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sand Hills of NC
Posts: 27
Default Re: ???How to clean inside my camera???

It seems that I have the same problem. The "dust" seems to be inside the viewfinder. I've cleaned the sensor, remover the focus screen, used a large rocker blower but I still see it. It isn't on my pictures but seeing those dust spots every time I look into the viewfinder is very distracting. Send in for cleaning?
still crawfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th of November 2006 (Sat)   #5
Mike_Canon5D
Member
 
Mike_Canon5D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: P.R. USA
Posts: 929
Default Re: ???How to clean inside my camera???

Interesting thread, I also would like to know. I've taken the focusing screen off on my 5D, blown inside with a rocket blower, and the little strand still seats there, inside the viewfinder.
__________________
Gear
Mike Carrio
Mike_Canon5D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th of November 2006 (Sat)   #6
SkipD
Cream of the Crop
 
SkipD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Southeastern WI, USA
Posts: 19,592
Default Re: ???How to clean inside my camera???

Just hire this guy.....

Camera Sensor Cleaning Man.jpg

(Swiped this shot a while back. Forgot the source.)
__________________
Skip Douglas
A few cameras and almost 50 years behind them .....
..... but still learning all the time.
SkipD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th of November 2006 (Sat)   #7
Julio
Member
 
Julio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 170
Default Re: ???How to clean inside my camera???

__________________
Julio
www.photosbyjulio.com
Julio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th of November 2006 (Sun)   #8
Fenka856
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 67
Default Re: ???How to clean inside my camera???

thanks for the input folks. i think i'm gonna have to live with it for a while . just have to make sure that it really isnt going to mess up my pics
Fenka856 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th of November 2006 (Sun)   #9
Woolburr
Mr. PMS Himself
 
Woolburr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Tupperware capitol of eastern Oregon...Leicester, NC!
Posts: 66,139
Default Re: ???How to clean inside my camera???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fenka856 View Post
thanks for the input folks. i think i'm gonna have to live with it for a while . just have to make sure that it really isnt going to mess up my pics

The only place where it could really cause more than a passing annoyance would be if it were to get on the sensor. Dust and stray fibers in the viewfinder might be annoying, but pose no threat to the photo.
__________________
People that know me call me Dan
You'll never be a legitimate photographer until you have an award winning duck in your portfolio!
Crayons, Coloring Book, Refrigerator Art and What I Really Think About
Woolburr is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can you use a vacuum to clean a camera? segasaturn Canon EOS Digital Cameras 19 18th of July 2007 (Wed) 03:45
Dust specks inside the lens..any way to clean it? Hossam Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 3 10th of January 2007 (Wed) 20:08
Best way to clean the outside of the camera? PhotoScout Canon EOS Digital Cameras 13 29th of October 2006 (Sun) 08:32
HELP What do you use to clean your camera? Trisha0624 Canon EOS Digital Cameras 11 16th of April 2006 (Sun) 15:25
Keeping Your Camera Clean dimman Accessories & Storage 0 5th of October 2005 (Wed) 01:34


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 19:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.