Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 20th of November 2006 (Mon)   #1
Jim Arnold
Junior Member
 
Jim Arnold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2
Exclamation Problem with 2nd shot in Single Shot Mode

I have been having an issue with my EOS-1D (original) firing a 2nd shot when I am in Single Shot mode. This of course plays havoc with my strobes in that the 2nd image is blank, and this is a waste of both already excessive battery use. This happens somewhat frequently but is not predictable. Is this a switch problem or could it be a shutter issue?
Jim Arnold is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 21st of November 2006 (Tue)   #2
Jim G
I feel thoroughly satisfied
 
Jim G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Australia.
Posts: 12,251
Default Re: Problem with 2nd shot in Single Shot Mode

When you say blank do you mean the entire frame is black?
Jim G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st of November 2006 (Tue)   #3
PacAce
Moderator
 
PacAce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: ABE, PA USA
Posts: 26,807
Default Re: Problem with 2nd shot in Single Shot Mode

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Arnold View Post
I have been having an issue with my EOS-1D (original) firing a 2nd shot when I am in Single Shot mode. This of course plays havoc with my strobes in that the 2nd image is blank, and this is a waste of both already excessive battery use. This happens somewhat frequently but is not predictable. Is this a switch problem or could it be a shutter issue?
Are you firing the 2nd shot immediately afer the 1st one? If so, you may not be giving your strobe (or flash) a chance to recharge.
__________________
...Leo
PacAce is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 21st of November 2006 (Tue)   #4
Jon
Moderator

Cocker Spaniel Mod

 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 67,790
Default Re: Problem with 2nd shot in Single Shot Mode

Sounds like a switch problem somewhere. Whether it's accidentally putting you in Continuous mode or whether there's a broken circuit that opens and re-closes before you release the shutter, I wouldn't try to say, but if you're only trying for a single shot and are getting 2, that'd be my guess. As you say it's erratic, I'd be more inclined to think that it's a broken circuit in the shutter release path.
__________________
Jon
----------

Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities

Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AI Servo or Single Shot? Papaw Weddings and Other Family Events 15 10th of July 2007 (Tue) 16:47
drive mode (ie single shot or ai servo) mrkeenan0 General Photography Talk 2 27th of June 2007 (Wed) 21:39
1 single Hype R shot . DevinL. Transportation 6 18th of May 2007 (Fri) 06:36
Multiple shots on single shot mode - 30D vs Rebel XT Rellik Canon EOS Digital Cameras 4 6th of March 2007 (Tue) 08:52
burst mode vs. single shot elbirth Canon EOS Digital Cameras 14 9th of July 2005 (Sat) 16:15


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.