LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


Wein Hot Shoe To Hot Shoe Safe Sync (HSHSB) Question

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 01 Dec 2006 (Friday) 17:09   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
davvet2
Member
davvet2's Avatar
Joined Oct 2006
32 posts
Central Texas
[MORE/SHARE]

I am thinking about buying a Wein safe sync and don't know which one to get.

My Rebel XTi has 4 pins and 1 larger button on the hotshoe, my Vivitar 283 Flash has one button in the center.

Which one do I need?

Thanks in advance --

Jim

Post #1, Dec 01, 2006 17:09:39




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
TMR ­ Design
Cream of the Crop
TMR Design's Avatar
Joined Feb 2006
23,881 posts
Huntington Station, NY
[MORE/SHARE]

The extra pins on your XTi are for the Canon ETTL to work. Using a shoe cord and shoe with only a hot and ground will manually fire your flash but you lose ETTL. I just learned about this myself.

Post #2, Dec 01, 2006 17:13:32


Please call me Robert or Rob, not TMR
Gear List & Feedback | The Lighting Academyexternal link
"Art is the elimination of the unnecessary." - Pablo Picasso

LOG IN TO REPLY
davvet2
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
davvet2's Avatar
Joined Oct 2006
32 posts
Central Texas
[MORE/SHARE]

Thanks,

My plan was to use the Wein on the hotshoe of my camera, and the flash on top of the Wein.

The guy says the Wein doesn't have any buttons?

Post #3, Dec 01, 2006 17:38:46 as a reply to TMR Design's post 25 minutes earlier.




LOG IN TO REPLY
TMR ­ Design
Cream of the Crop
TMR Design's Avatar
Joined Feb 2006
23,881 posts
Huntington Station, NY
[MORE/SHARE]

I don't know anything about the particular device. Can you post a link to it?

Post #4, Dec 01, 2006 17:51:36 as a reply to davvet2's post 12 minutes earlier.


Please call me Robert or Rob, not TMR
Gear List & Feedback | The Lighting Academyexternal link
"Art is the elimination of the unnecessary." - Pablo Picasso

LOG IN TO REPLY
davvet2
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
davvet2's Avatar
Joined Oct 2006
32 posts
Central Texas
[MORE/SHARE]

Robert,

I finally had sense enough to do a search on the site, and found out that I don't want to use the Wein adapter, as I would have to use the flash in manual. Thanks for trying to help me --

Jim

http://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=127589

Post #5, Dec 01, 2006 20:49:53




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Jon
Moderator

Cocker Spaniel Mod

Jon's Avatar
Joined Jun 2004
68,197 posts
Bethesda, MD USA
[MORE/SHARE]

You can use the 283 in auto; just set the camera to manual or Av, using the aperture the 283's computer dial tells you to use for the approx. distance and ISO in use. And you want just a straight hot shoe Safe Sync. Doesn't need the extra pins, only the main contact.

Post #6, Dec 01, 2006 22:01:48


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

LOG IN TO REPLY
Titus213
Cream of the Crop
Titus213's Avatar
Joined Feb 2005
19,389 posts
Camas, WA USA
[MORE/SHARE]

My Wein SafeSync has a test button and a PC plug. I use it with my Sunpak 555 although I inderstand it might not be necessary with that flash.

Post #7, Dec 02, 2006 01:11:46


Dave
Perspiring photographer.
Visit NorwoodPhotos.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
davvet2
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
davvet2's Avatar
Joined Oct 2006
32 posts
Central Texas
[MORE/SHARE]

Jon wrote in post #2341189external link
You can use the 283 in auto; just set the camera to manual or Av, using the aperture the 283's computer dial tells you to use for the approx. distance and ISO in use. And you want just a straight hot shoe Safe Sync. Doesn't need the extra pins, only the main contact.

Jon,

Where do I find a straight hot shoe safe sync ?

This has all come about over using the Vivitar 283. I tested mine and it puts out 8 volts -- they say the max is 6 volts, and I don't want to ruin my new XTi.

Thanks.

Jim

Post #8, Dec 02, 2006 01:14:10




LOG IN TO REPLY
Titus213
Cream of the Crop
Titus213's Avatar
Joined Feb 2005
19,389 posts
Camas, WA USA
[MORE/SHARE]

http://www.bhphotovide​o.com ...EG&addedTroughType=​searchexternal link

Post #9, Dec 02, 2006 08:16:35


Dave
Perspiring photographer.
Visit NorwoodPhotos.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
davvet2
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
davvet2's Avatar
Joined Oct 2006
32 posts
Central Texas
[MORE/SHARE]

Thanks, Dave

Post #10, Dec 02, 2006 11:39:54




LOG IN TO REPLY
FlashZebra
This space available
FlashZebra's Avatar
Joined Mar 2006
4,426 posts
Northern Kentucky
[MORE/SHARE]

Titus213 wrote in post #2341897external link
My Wein SafeSync has a test button and a PC plug. I use it with my Sunpak 555 although I inderstand it might not be necessary with that flash.

My Sunpak 555 has a sync Voltage of only about 5 Volts, so a "Safe Sync" is not necessary for my particular unit.

There is additional info about other Sunpak 555 units on this site:

http://www.botzilla.co​m/photo/strobeVolts.ht​mlexternal link

But, you should check yours to be sure. All you need is a simple Volt meter and about 1 minute of work.

Enjoy! Lon

Post #11, Dec 02, 2006 17:51:04


*
http://flashzebra.com/external link
*

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
davvet2
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
davvet2's Avatar
Joined Oct 2006
32 posts
Central Texas
[MORE/SHARE]

londuck wrote in post #2344548external link
My Sunpak 555 has a sync Voltage of only about 5 Volts, so a "Safe Sync" is not necessary for my particular unit.

There is additional info about other Sunpak 555 units on this site:

http://www.botzilla.co​m/photo/strobeVolts.ht​mlexternal link

But, you should check yours to be sure. All you need is a simple Volt meter and about 1 minute of work.

Enjoy! Lon

Lon,

I checked mine with a voltmeter in the DC position between the center post and grounding strip, it reads 8 volts on my Korea made Vivitar 283. That 8 volt reading has also been verified by the Botzilla website for other Vivitar 283 Korea made units.

No one has assured me that the 8 volts would work OK on my Rebel Xti without hurting my camera. I've read that the voltage shouldn't exceed 6 volts that's why I was looking into the Wein safe sync -- I may not need it if the 2 volt difference was OK.

Thanks,

Jim

Post #12, Dec 02, 2006 22:22:49




LOG IN TO REPLY
Titus213
Cream of the Crop
Titus213's Avatar
Joined Feb 2005
19,389 posts
Camas, WA USA
[MORE/SHARE]

londuck wrote in post #2344548external link
My Sunpak 555 has a sync Voltage of only about 5 Volts, so a "Safe Sync" is not necessary for my particular unit.

There is additional info about other Sunpak 555 units on this site:

http://www.botzilla.co​m/photo/strobeVolts.ht​mlexternal link

But, you should check yours to be sure. All you need is a simple Volt meter and about 1 minute of work.

Enjoy! Lon

Yup, check it to be sure. My 555 was giving me readings in the 7~8 volt range and since it was going on my 300D I opted to go the safe route. Given the number of shots I took before I got the 20D it probably was over kill.:lol:

Post #13, Dec 03, 2006 00:44:03


Dave
Perspiring photographer.
Visit NorwoodPhotos.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
9,397 views & 0 likes for this thread
Wein Hot Shoe To Hot Shoe Safe Sync (HSHSB) Question
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00084 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
1033 guests, 828 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is Lidas

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.