Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting
Thread started 30 Dec 2006 (Saturday) 04:32
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Add a sync port to 580 EX (DIY)

 
Lotto
Goldmember
Lotto's Avatar
2,454 posts
Joined Mar 2005
Southern California
Dec 30, 2006 04:32 |  #1

Following the idea on Strobist, I add a sync port to my 580. I took some pictures during the process, hope it can provide some visual images for someone want to try it.

It's a pretty simple mod: get a 1/8 mono phone jack from Radio Shack, unscrew 4 screws at the bottom of the 580, unplug the only one cable, drill a hole at the side and stick the phone jack through, solder 2 wires to the center and side pin, and finally tighten the nut outside the flash.

IMAGE NOT FOUND IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
Byte size: ZERO | Content warning: NOT AN IMAGE


I think the original concept was to use the port to connect to the PW. Since I don't own a PW, I use it to connect to my L358, or simply for triggering the master unit without having to push the Test Button while metering.

IMAGE NOT FOUND IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
Byte size: ZERO | Content warning: NOT AN IMAGE


I modded a PC to hotshoe connector first (at right), but I had a feeling that the wire coming out the shoe will break any time. Now that the warranty for my 580 has just expired, it's time to hack it :evil: :lol: .

IMAGE NOT FOUND IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
Byte size: ZERO | Content warning: NOT AN IMAGE


The phone jacks from RS: 3 for $3.99;)
http://www.radioshack.​com ...w=1%2F8&parentPage=​search (external link)

5D, 24-70L, 70-200L IS, 50 f1.4, 100 Macro, 580 & 430EX

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
goforphoto
Goldmember
goforphoto's Avatar
2,067 posts
Joined Nov 2006
Virginia
Dec 30, 2006 04:44 |  #2

Very inventive.


Just another shutterbug.
I am not a photographer, I'm an image capture technician.
Canon 40D - 70-200L f4, 28-135 IS, Nifty Fifty, 70-300 macro, 18-55 420EX Sunpak 266d

LOG IN TO REPLY
Chad ­ McCan
Member
142 posts
Joined Mar 2006
Kansas City, MO
Dec 30, 2006 16:00 |  #3

Do you mind giving us the wiring diagram? Also, your remote, did it have a sync socket in the side, or did you mod that too? I need to do that so I can use a PW with my camera, instead of buying their pre-trigger cable.


Thank you,

Chad McCan

LOG IN TO REPLY
deadpass
Goldmember
deadpass's Avatar
3,352 posts
Joined Jun 2006
phoenix, az
Dec 30, 2006 16:06 |  #4

a wiring diagram or atleast an upclose of the wiring on the flash would be awesome. great job!


a camera
http://www.deadpass.co​mexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Lotto
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Lotto's Avatar
2,454 posts
Joined Mar 2005
Southern California
Dec 30, 2006 17:32 |  #5

Will do. Let me dig up some close up pictures...


5D, 24-70L, 70-200L IS, 50 f1.4, 100 Macro, 580 & 430EX

LOG IN TO REPLY
Lotto
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Lotto's Avatar
2,454 posts
Joined Mar 2005
Southern California
Dec 30, 2006 19:10 as a reply to Lotto's post |  #6

OK, the normal sync plug (lets use 1/8 mono as example) has the 'tip' (A)of plug connects to the center pin of the Canon Speedlites, and the long metal body part (B) connects to the side pin of the Speedlite (under the locking wheel).

Looking at the openned bottom part of the 580, there are 5 color coded wires. The white wire (A) goes to the center pin; the big terminal next the white wire connection (B) goes to the side pin---that terminal has no outside wiring connected to it.

So basically I solder 2 wires--- from the phone jack terminals to the Speedlite circuit board, as illustrated with the blue arrows.

IMAGE NOT FOUND IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
Byte size: ZERO | Content warning: NOT AN IMAGE


A close-up of the finished wiring.

IMAGE NOT FOUND IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
Byte size: ZERO | Content warning: NOT AN IMAGE

5D, 24-70L, 70-200L IS, 50 f1.4, 100 Macro, 580 & 430EX

LOG IN TO REPLY
MDJAK
Cream of the Crop
MDJAK's Avatar
24,576 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Joined Nov 2004
New York
Dec 30, 2006 21:55 as a reply to Lotto's post |  #7

That is fantastic. Truly excellent writeup and very well documented. Should definitely be a sticky, and I hereby call for that.

Now, to my stupidity. First of all, why doesn't the 580 have that jack to begin with? Does the top of the line Nikon flash have one?

Secondly, What is a PW? Is it a Pocket Wizard?

Third, and sorry for being so stupid, what do you need it for? What does it do that you can't do currently?

mark




LOG IN TO REPLY
ifonline
Senior Member
ifonline's Avatar
721 posts
Joined Mar 2006
Braselton, Georgia
Dec 30, 2006 22:09 |  #8

The Nikon SB-800 has both a PC cable port (for connecting to a camera) and a master/slave cable port (for connecting to another SB-800). I have often wondered why the 580EX doesn't have something similar.


Ian
Founder of Lightroom Forums
Nikon D750, 24-120 f/4, 50 f/1.8 See everything HERE.

LOG IN TO REPLY
tdaugharty
Goldmember
tdaugharty's Avatar
1,018 posts
Joined Jul 2005
Atlanta, GA
Dec 30, 2006 22:57 |  #9

MDJAK wrote in post #2466770external link
That is fantastic. Truly excellent writeup and very well documented. Should definitely be a sticky, and I hereby call for that.

Now, to my stupidity. First of all, why doesn't the 580 have that jack to begin with? Does the top of the line Nikon flash have one?

Secondly, What is a PW? Is it a Pocket Wizard?

Third, and sorry for being so stupid, what do you need it for? What does it do that you can't do currently?

mark

I'm wondering the same. Why not just use the wireless canon transmitter? Also with the strobes (JTL), they fire from the on camera flash anyway (Flash Triggered). Is this so you can use the 580's from the PC port? or with PW's?

EDIT: I see in the OP you use this to fire the flash from the meter. I do see benefit there. You don't have to take a picture to read from the flash ;) It is digital though, Ha! (Had to say it)


Canon 5D / XTi - Epson R1800 - Sekonic L-558R
580EXII Speedlite / 430EX Speedlight / Strobes / Props
EF-S 17-55 f/2.8 IS / 24-105mm f/4L IS / 70-200mm f/2.8L IS / 100-400 f/4.5L IS

LOG IN TO REPLY
PacAce
Cream of the Crop
PacAce's Avatar
26,806 posts
Joined Feb 2003
ABE, PA USA
Dec 30, 2006 23:13 |  #10

If you want to use the EX flash off camera and in manual mode, you would need to get some type of hotshoe adapter so that you can fire the flash via a remote device like the Pocket Wizard or a long PC sync cable. Having the "sync" port on the flash itself saves you the trouble of getting and using the hotshoe adapter. And based on some of the cheapie ones out there, having a sync port would be a better option than mounting the flash on a thing that could fall apart any minute and send the flash crashing to the floor. :shock: (Yes, I've had that happen to me once already!).


...Leo

LOG IN TO REPLY
Chad ­ McCan
Member
142 posts
Joined Mar 2006
Kansas City, MO
Dec 30, 2006 23:43 |  #11

What about the remote? My Canon remote doesn't have the sync socket... Did you buy the cheap remote on eBay and it came with one, or did you mod that too?


Thank you,

Chad McCan

LOG IN TO REPLY
jmb4370
Senior Member
jmb4370's Avatar
320 posts
Joined Jul 2006
Newtown, CT
Dec 31, 2006 01:04 |  #12

I have been doing this mod for the whole line of Canon units, including the OffCameraShoeCord, for some time now (my site information is below), and including one sync cable with each mod. The mini jack is ok to use for the 580, although it won't fit in the other units because of size considerations, so I use the sub-mini jack, and then it isn't angled down as much because it fits on the flatter part of the 580.

The custom cables then have to have a sub-mini plug on one end, and can have a variety of plugs on the other end to match the particular transmitter/receiver you are using.

Michael
www.MichaelBassDesigns​.comexternal link


Michael
www.MichaelBassDesigns​.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Lotto
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Lotto's Avatar
2,454 posts
Joined Mar 2005
Southern California
Dec 31, 2006 01:37 |  #13

Leo is right, it provide a port to plug in the Pocket Wizard, Ebay remote, or a simply sync cord to get the flash off the camera. Also when the 580 is mounted on the camera, it could used as a sync terminal for XT/XTi, though I couldn't think of a good reason for using as that yet.

Chad, sorry forgot the remote...yes, it is the Ebay Adidt M1 wire remote. It came with a mini stereo port for used as a extension. I can hook it up to my L358 meter with a sync cord, and it will fire my 20D, so I sure the PW will work with that remote.

tdaughtarty, if I use the 580 on camera to trigger strobes, I have to put the 580 in M mode to eliminate preflash anyway. With this mod, I can just use one of the 15' sync cord that came with the strobe, plug into the 580, and place it anywhere within the length of the cord, add a umbrella as fill light ect, and still could trigger the strobes without any other adapters.


5D, 24-70L, 70-200L IS, 50 f1.4, 100 Macro, 580 & 430EX

LOG IN TO REPLY
TMR ­ Design
Cream of the Crop
TMR Design's Avatar
23,881 posts
Joined Feb 2006
Huntington Station, NY
Dec 31, 2006 09:31 as a reply to Lotto's post |  #14

Excellent MOD Lotto, as usual. Good pictures as well. I almost did the same but my 580EX is still fairly new and under warranty. I ended up modifying my Hama hot shoe adapter so it terminates in a 1/8" mono inline jack.


Please call me Robert or Rob, not TMR
Gear List & Feedback | The Lighting Academyexternal link
"Art is the elimination of the unnecessary." - Pablo Picasso

LOG IN TO REPLY
LuisE
Senior Member
LuisE's Avatar
500 posts
Joined Sep 2005
South Florida, US
Dec 31, 2006 09:45 |  #15

PacAce wrote in post #2467079external link
If you want to use the EX flash off camera and in manual mode, you would need to get some type of hotshoe adapter so that you can fire the flash via a remote device like the Pocket Wizard or a long PC sync cable. Having the "sync" port on the flash itself saves you the trouble of getting and using the hotshoe adapter. And based on some of the cheapie ones out there, having a sync port would be a better option than mounting the flash on a thing that could fall apart any minute and send the flash crashing to the floor. :shock: (Yes, I've had that happen to me once already!).

You right, I also broke my 420EX for the same reason.

Thanks lotto for the info.


Canon 40D,Canon 50D,Canon EFs 10-22 f/3.5-4.5,Canon 70-200 2.8L IS, Canon 24-70 2.8L ,Canon EF 50mm 1.4 USM, , 2 Speedlites 580EX and 420EX

www.luisephotography.c​omexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

157,074 views & 0 likes for this thread
Add a sync port to 580 EX (DIY)
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00099 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.03s
Latest registered member is Panelvan
715 guests, 544 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016