LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


Add a sync port to 580 EX (DIY)

FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting
Thread started 30 Dec 2006 (Saturday) 04:32   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
Lotto
Goldmember
Lotto's Avatar
Joined Mar 2005
2,454 posts
Southern California
[MORE/SHARE]

Following the idea on Strobist, I add a sync port to my 580. I took some pictures during the process, hope it can provide some visual images for someone want to try it.

It's a pretty simple mod: get a 1/8 mono phone jack from Radio Shack, unscrew 4 screws at the bottom of the 580, unplug the only one cable, drill a hole at the side and stick the phone jack through, solder 2 wires to the center and side pin, and finally tighten the nut outside the flash.

IMAGE NOT FOUND IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
Byte size: ZERO | Content warning: NOT AN IMAGE


I think the original concept was to use the port to connect to the PW. Since I don't own a PW, I use it to connect to my L358, or simply for triggering the master unit without having to push the Test Button while metering.

IMAGE NOT FOUND IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
Byte size: ZERO | Content warning: NOT AN IMAGE


I modded a PC to hotshoe connector first (at right), but I had a feeling that the wire coming out the shoe will break any time. Now that the warranty for my 580 has just expired, it's time to hack it :evil: :lol: .

IMAGE NOT FOUND IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
Byte size: ZERO | Content warning: NOT AN IMAGE


The phone jacks from RS: 3 for $3.99;)
http://www.radioshack.​com ...w=1%2F8&parentPage=​searchexternal link

Post #1, Dec 30, 2006 04:32:46


5D, 24-70L, 70-200L IS, 50 f1.4, 100 Macro, 580 & 430EX

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
goforphoto
Goldmember
goforphoto's Avatar
Joined Nov 2006
2,067 posts
Virginia
[MORE/SHARE]

Very inventive.

Post #2, Dec 30, 2006 04:44:46


Just another shutterbug.
I am not a photographer, I'm an image capture technician.
Canon 40D - 70-200L f4, 28-135 IS, Nifty Fifty, 70-300 macro, 18-55 420EX Sunpak 266d

LOG IN TO REPLY
Chad ­ McCan
Senior Member
Joined Mar 2006
142 posts
Kansas City, MO
[MORE/SHARE]

Do you mind giving us the wiring diagram? Also, your remote, did it have a sync socket in the side, or did you mod that too? I need to do that so I can use a PW with my camera, instead of buying their pre-trigger cable.

Post #3, Dec 30, 2006 16:00:33


Thank you,

Chad McCan

LOG IN TO REPLY
deadpass
Goldmember
deadpass's Avatar
Joined Jun 2006
3,348 posts
tempe, az
[MORE/SHARE]

a wiring diagram or atleast an upclose of the wiring on the flash would be awesome. great job!

Post #4, Dec 30, 2006 16:06:16


a camera
http://www.deadpass.co​mexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Lotto
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Lotto's Avatar
Joined Mar 2005
2,454 posts
Southern California
[MORE/SHARE]

Will do. Let me dig up some close up pictures...

Post #5, Dec 30, 2006 17:32:37


5D, 24-70L, 70-200L IS, 50 f1.4, 100 Macro, 580 & 430EX

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Lotto
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Lotto's Avatar
Joined Mar 2005
2,454 posts
Southern California
[MORE/SHARE]

OK, the normal sync plug (lets use 1/8 mono as example) has the 'tip' (A)of plug connects to the center pin of the Canon Speedlites, and the long metal body part (B) connects to the side pin of the Speedlite (under the locking wheel).

Looking at the openned bottom part of the 580, there are 5 color coded wires. The white wire (A) goes to the center pin; the big terminal next the white wire connection (B) goes to the side pin---that terminal has no outside wiring connected to it.

So basically I solder 2 wires--- from the phone jack terminals to the Speedlite circuit board, as illustrated with the blue arrows.

IMAGE NOT FOUND IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
Byte size: ZERO | Content warning: NOT AN IMAGE


A close-up of the finished wiring.

IMAGE NOT FOUND IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
Byte size: ZERO | Content warning: NOT AN IMAGE

Post #6, Dec 30, 2006 19:10:41 as a reply to Lotto's post 1 hour earlier.


5D, 24-70L, 70-200L IS, 50 f1.4, 100 Macro, 580 & 430EX

LOG IN TO REPLY
MDJAK
" ...a complete lack of talent "
MDJAK's Avatar
Joined Nov 2004
24,532 posts
New York
[MORE/SHARE]

That is fantastic. Truly excellent writeup and very well documented. Should definitely be a sticky, and I hereby call for that.

Now, to my stupidity. First of all, why doesn't the 580 have that jack to begin with? Does the top of the line Nikon flash have one?

Secondly, What is a PW? Is it a Pocket Wizard?

Third, and sorry for being so stupid, what do you need it for? What does it do that you can't do currently?

mark

Post #7, Dec 30, 2006 21:55:42 as a reply to Lotto's post 2 hours earlier.




LOG IN TO REPLY
ifonline
Senior Member
ifonline's Avatar
Joined Mar 2006
721 posts
Braselton, Georgia
[MORE/SHARE]

The Nikon SB-800 has both a PC cable port (for connecting to a camera) and a master/slave cable port (for connecting to another SB-800). I have often wondered why the 580EX doesn't have something similar.

Post #8, Dec 30, 2006 22:09:36


Ian
Founder of Lightroom Forums
Canon EOS-5D Mark III + Canon 24-105 ƒ/4L IS USM
See everything HERE.

LOG IN TO REPLY
tdaugharty
Goldmember
tdaugharty's Avatar
Joined Jul 2005
1,018 posts
Atlanta, GA
[MORE/SHARE]

MDJAK wrote in post #2466770external link
That is fantastic. Truly excellent writeup and very well documented. Should definitely be a sticky, and I hereby call for that.

Now, to my stupidity. First of all, why doesn't the 580 have that jack to begin with? Does the top of the line Nikon flash have one?

Secondly, What is a PW? Is it a Pocket Wizard?

Third, and sorry for being so stupid, what do you need it for? What does it do that you can't do currently?

mark

I'm wondering the same. Why not just use the wireless canon transmitter? Also with the strobes (JTL), they fire from the on camera flash anyway (Flash Triggered). Is this so you can use the 580's from the PC port? or with PW's?

EDIT: I see in the OP you use this to fire the flash from the meter. I do see benefit there. You don't have to take a picture to read from the flash ;) It is digital though, Ha! (Had to say it)

Post #9, Dec 30, 2006 22:57:48


Canon 5D / XTi - Epson R1800 - Sekonic L-558R
580EXII Speedlite / 430EX Speedlight / Strobes / Props
EF-S 17-55 f/2.8 IS / 24-105mm f/4L IS / 70-200mm f/2.8L IS / 100-400 f/4.5L IS

LOG IN TO REPLY
PacAce
Cream of the Crop
PacAce's Avatar
Joined Feb 2003
26,804 posts
ABE, PA USA
[MORE/SHARE]

If you want to use the EX flash off camera and in manual mode, you would need to get some type of hotshoe adapter so that you can fire the flash via a remote device like the Pocket Wizard or a long PC sync cable. Having the "sync" port on the flash itself saves you the trouble of getting and using the hotshoe adapter. And based on some of the cheapie ones out there, having a sync port would be a better option than mounting the flash on a thing that could fall apart any minute and send the flash crashing to the floor. :shock: (Yes, I've had that happen to me once already!).

Post #10, Dec 30, 2006 23:13:09


...Leo

LOG IN TO REPLY
Chad ­ McCan
Senior Member
Joined Mar 2006
142 posts
Kansas City, MO
[MORE/SHARE]

What about the remote? My Canon remote doesn't have the sync socket... Did you buy the cheap remote on eBay and it came with one, or did you mod that too?

Post #11, Dec 30, 2006 23:43:34


Thank you,

Chad McCan

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
jmb4370
Senior Member
jmb4370's Avatar
Joined Jul 2006
320 posts
Newtown, CT
[MORE/SHARE]

I have been doing this mod for the whole line of Canon units, including the OffCameraShoeCord, for some time now (my site information is below), and including one sync cable with each mod. The mini jack is ok to use for the 580, although it won't fit in the other units because of size considerations, so I use the sub-mini jack, and then it isn't angled down as much because it fits on the flatter part of the 580.

The custom cables then have to have a sub-mini plug on one end, and can have a variety of plugs on the other end to match the particular transmitter/receiver you are using.

Michael
www.MichaelBassDesigns​.comexternal link

Post #12, Dec 31, 2006 01:04:05


Michael
www.MichaelBassDesigns​.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Lotto
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Lotto's Avatar
Joined Mar 2005
2,454 posts
Southern California
[MORE/SHARE]

Leo is right, it provide a port to plug in the Pocket Wizard, Ebay remote, or a simply sync cord to get the flash off the camera. Also when the 580 is mounted on the camera, it could used as a sync terminal for XT/XTi, though I couldn't think of a good reason for using as that yet.

Chad, sorry forgot the remote...yes, it is the Ebay Adidt M1 wire remote. It came with a mini stereo port for used as a extension. I can hook it up to my L358 meter with a sync cord, and it will fire my 20D, so I sure the PW will work with that remote.

tdaughtarty, if I use the 580 on camera to trigger strobes, I have to put the 580 in M mode to eliminate preflash anyway. With this mod, I can just use one of the 15' sync cord that came with the strobe, plug into the 580, and place it anywhere within the length of the cord, add a umbrella as fill light ect, and still could trigger the strobes without any other adapters.

Post #13, Dec 31, 2006 01:37:07


5D, 24-70L, 70-200L IS, 50 f1.4, 100 Macro, 580 & 430EX

LOG IN TO REPLY
TMR ­ Design
Cream of the Crop
TMR Design's Avatar
Joined Feb 2006
23,881 posts
Huntington Station, NY
[MORE/SHARE]

Excellent MOD Lotto, as usual. Good pictures as well. I almost did the same but my 580EX is still fairly new and under warranty. I ended up modifying my Hama hot shoe adapter so it terminates in a 1/8" mono inline jack.

Post #14, Dec 31, 2006 09:31:20 as a reply to Lotto's post 7 hours earlier.


Please call me Robert or Rob, not TMR
Gear List & Feedback | The Lighting Academyexternal link
"Art is the elimination of the unnecessary." - Pablo Picasso

LOG IN TO REPLY
LuisE
Senior Member
LuisE's Avatar
Joined Sep 2005
500 posts
South Florida, US
[MORE/SHARE]

PacAce wrote in post #2467079external link
If you want to use the EX flash off camera and in manual mode, you would need to get some type of hotshoe adapter so that you can fire the flash via a remote device like the Pocket Wizard or a long PC sync cable. Having the "sync" port on the flash itself saves you the trouble of getting and using the hotshoe adapter. And based on some of the cheapie ones out there, having a sync port would be a better option than mounting the flash on a thing that could fall apart any minute and send the flash crashing to the floor. :shock: (Yes, I've had that happen to me once already!).

You right, I also broke my 420EX for the same reason.

Thanks lotto for the info.

Post #15, Dec 31, 2006 09:45:25


Canon 40D,Canon 50D,Canon EFs 10-22 f/3.5-4.5,Canon 70-200 2.8L IS, Canon 24-70 2.8L ,Canon EF 50mm 1.4 USM, , 2 Speedlites 580EX and 420EX

www.luisephotography.c​omexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
141,263 views & 0 likes for this thread
Add a sync port to 580 EX (DIY)
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00084 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.03s
1155 guests, 874 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is dewaynelovesabby

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.