Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 6th of January 2007 (Sat)   #1
theloanexperts
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 18
Default CONNECTING TO A MONITOR

I have a Canon 20D EOS. I want to connect my camera to a monitor to view my portrait subjects on a larger screen instead of on the tiny camera screen.

The instruction manual for my camera gives directions for connecting to a TV set. I don't want something that cumbersome in my studio.

Is there a way to connect it, either to my computer which will then dispay the image on the monitor....or....is there a way to connect it directly to a regular computer monitor without having to have the computer, keyboard, or mouse involved?

If I can connect straight to a monitor, I would probably need to get one with a video cable connection port (which I don't know if they make them like that anymore).

I would appreciate any assistance you folks can give me on the best way to do this.

Thanks!
theloanexperts is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 6th of January 2007 (Sat)   #2
Crypto
Goldmember
 
Crypto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Northern Va
Posts: 2,648
Default Re: CONNECTING TO A MONITOR

Yes, use DPP and EOS Utility. I guess this came with the 20D as it did with my 30D.
__________________
TCProimages
Canon 5DII
Canon 40D
Canon 100-400L, Canon 24-70L, Canon MP65 macro,Canon 100L Macro
Crypto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th of January 2007 (Sat)   #3
pcasciola
POTN SHOPKEEPER
 
pcasciola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Millstone Township, NJ
Posts: 3,129
Default Re: CONNECTING TO A MONITOR

Remote Capture works pretty well (part of the EOS Utility set), and there are 3rd party apps like DSLR Pro that are good too. You have to use computer to control it, and the only problem is you cannot view your subject live through the monitor. You can only see the results after you take the shot. You can control many settings of the camera through the software too which is pretty cool.
__________________
Philip Casciola
Pro Camera Gear - POTN Shop
Canon 7D, EF 50/1.8, EF 85/1.8, EF 300/4L IS, EF-S 18-55, Tamron 28-75/2.8, EF 70-200/2.8L IS
Sigma 1.4x & 2x, Tamron 1.4x, Gitzo 2220 Explorer, 322RC2 grip
pcasciola is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 6th of January 2007 (Sat)   #4
theloanexperts
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 18
Default Re: CONNECTING TO A MONITOR

Ok....I apologize for my ignorance. Am I to understand that I cannot connect directly to a monitor with the cable supplied or what?

I don't know what a DPP is or EOS utility or how to utilize either one for what I want to accomplish.

Basically, I just want to view my subject on the monitor (not Photoshop it or anything) to make sure I have the proper lighting, position, etc.

I want to view it on a larger screen than just the tiny one on the camera.

Can I connect my camera straight to a monitor to do this?

Thanks. And again, I apologize for my lack of knowledge with digital.
theloanexperts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th of January 2007 (Sat)   #5
gryphonslair99
Member
 
gryphonslair99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Wichita, Kansas
Posts: 491
Default Re: CONNECTING TO A MONITOR

Sounds like you are wanting to preview the photo before taking it. With a DSLR you can not do that. Any SLR camera, including DSLR cameras, has a mirror infront of the sensor that reflects what is seen by the lens up to the view finder where you can then see and compose your photograph. That is the heart of the single lens reflex (SLR) system. This mirror blocks the sensor until you press the shutter. At that point, the shutter moves out of the way and the sensor or film can then record the image as the shutter moves out of the way, before the shutter closes and the mirror return to it's proper position infront of the sensor.

A DSLR will not act like a Point and Shoot camera.

If you are wanting to just view the photo after the shot has been taken, get a small LCD tv/monitor. You will also probably find it a lot easier to learn about the DPP and EOS Utility software. There are many useful functions in both.
__________________
You don't take a photograph. You ask, quietly, to borrow it.
______________________________________________
Gear List

gryphonslair99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th of January 2007 (Sat)   #6
theloanexperts
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 18
Default Re: CONNECTING TO A MONITOR

Ok..I think I understand. Now my question is...If I want to view the shot AFTER it is taken, on a monitor. Can I connect my camera directly to the monitor and not use a computer to do this? If so, then I would need a monitor that has a cable video input like the end of the cable supplied with my camera...correct?
theloanexperts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th of January 2007 (Sat)   #7
Bill Ng
Senior Member
 
Bill Ng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Hartsdale, NY
Posts: 1,203
Default Re: CONNECTING TO A MONITOR

Quote:
Originally Posted by theloanexperts View Post
Ok..I think I understand. Now my question is...If I want to view the shot AFTER it is taken, on a monitor. Can I connect my camera directly to the monitor and not use a computer to do this? If so, then I would need a monitor that has a cable video input like the end of the cable supplied with my camera...correct?
You'll have to get an LCD TV ... they can come in relatively smaller sizes (27" is the smallest I've seen, but then again I've never looked for anything smaller). A regular LCD monitor will not work, no.

Bill
Bill Ng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th of January 2007 (Sat)   #8
pcasciola
POTN SHOPKEEPER
 
pcasciola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Millstone Township, NJ
Posts: 3,129
Default Re: CONNECTING TO A MONITOR

You would connect the camera to a computer with the USB cable, run the EOS Utility that is included with the Canon software, and this would allow you to view images as you take them on an external monitor.

As far as I know, the only dSLR on the market today that does what you are asking (preview on an external monitor through video out) is the 20Da, which is a customized version of the 20D intended for astrophotographers.

EDIT: If you use the video out cable to a TV, you will be looking at the images in an extremely low resolution.
__________________
Philip Casciola
Pro Camera Gear - POTN Shop
Canon 7D, EF 50/1.8, EF 85/1.8, EF 300/4L IS, EF-S 18-55, Tamron 28-75/2.8, EF 70-200/2.8L IS
Sigma 1.4x & 2x, Tamron 1.4x, Gitzo 2220 Explorer, 322RC2 grip

Last edited by pcasciola : 6th of January 2007 (Sat) at 21:44.
pcasciola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th of January 2007 (Sat)   #9
jfrancho
Cream of the Crop
 
jfrancho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,341
Default Re: CONNECTING TO A MONITOR

I generally dislike laptops, unless the advantage of portability outweighs the negatives. Shooting portraits tethered to a laptop via the USB cable and EOS Remote Capture software is a very useful tool. It also makes great fun at parties. You will have to read the manual and install the software for this.
__________________

jfrancho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th of January 2007 (Sat)   #10
Bill Ng
Senior Member
 
Bill Ng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Hartsdale, NY
Posts: 1,203
Default Re: CONNECTING TO A MONITOR

People .. he's not asking about connecting to a computer, he's asking about connecting to a monitor ... just a monitor. You know that cable they include with your camera to connect it to a TV .. he wants to connect to a monitor.

Bill
Bill Ng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th of January 2007 (Sat)   #11
jfrancho
Cream of the Crop
 
jfrancho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,341
Default Re: CONNECTING TO A MONITOR

No kidding - asked and answered. What he wants can't be done. Is there a problem with posting related information for the OP's benefit?
__________________

jfrancho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th of January 2007 (Sat)   #12
pcasciola
POTN SHOPKEEPER
 
pcasciola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Millstone Township, NJ
Posts: 3,129
Default Re: CONNECTING TO A MONITOR

The OP asked about displaying on a monitor. A monitor is not a TV. Using the video out with the video cable is meant to be hooked to a TV. To view images after they are shot on a monitor, you must use the USB cable to a computer, and the EOS Utility or similar 3rd party software.
__________________
Philip Casciola
Pro Camera Gear - POTN Shop
Canon 7D, EF 50/1.8, EF 85/1.8, EF 300/4L IS, EF-S 18-55, Tamron 28-75/2.8, EF 70-200/2.8L IS
Sigma 1.4x & 2x, Tamron 1.4x, Gitzo 2220 Explorer, 322RC2 grip
pcasciola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of January 2007 (Sun)   #13
wannasmaxx
Senior Member
 
wannasmaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,175
Default Re: CONNECTING TO A MONITOR

If you buy a dell 2007 wfp monitor, it has a port for RCA composite inputs. I use mine similarly. except my ps2 is hooked up to it.Pics up in a minute
__________________
20D, BG-E2, 24-70/2.8L, 70-200/2.8LIS, 430EX
wannasmaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of January 2007 (Sun)   #14
SkipD
Cream of the Crop
 
SkipD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Southeastern WI, USA
Posts: 19,769
Default Re: CONNECTING TO A MONITOR

Quote:
Originally Posted by wannasmaxx View Post
If you buy a dell 2007 wfp monitor, it has a port for RCA composite inputs. I use mine similarly. except my ps2 is hooked up to it.Pics up in a minute
Even with a high-res monitor, when the photo is converted to composite video, a lot of the resolution of the image is lost.

The best way to display images from the camera in a "live" fashion while retaining the quality of the image is to use a computer connected to the camera.

The simplest and fastest way to show images would be via a television or a monitor with composite video inputs directly connected to the camera, but you'd have to live with the much poorer resolution. For merely choosing one image over another at a shooting session, that should be acceptable.
__________________
Skip Douglas
A few cameras and almost 50 years behind them .....
..... but still learning all the time.
SkipD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of January 2007 (Sun)   #15
pcasciola
POTN SHOPKEEPER
 
pcasciola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Millstone Township, NJ
Posts: 3,129
Default Re: CONNECTING TO A MONITOR

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkipD View Post
Even with a high-res monitor, when the photo is converted to composite video, a lot of the resolution of the image is lost.
I was thinking the same thing, but I'm still curious to see how it looks.

I wasn't aware any monitors had composite inputs, but I just remembered that any display without a tuner is referred to as a monitor.

But, yes, and NTSC's 480 interlaced lines of resolution (2 fields of 240 lines interlaced) must look pretty bad compared to a computer monitor with 1024-1200 constant lines.
__________________
Philip Casciola
Pro Camera Gear - POTN Shop
Canon 7D, EF 50/1.8, EF 85/1.8, EF 300/4L IS, EF-S 18-55, Tamron 28-75/2.8, EF 70-200/2.8L IS
Sigma 1.4x & 2x, Tamron 1.4x, Gitzo 2220 Explorer, 322RC2 grip
pcasciola is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Printer / Monitor / LCD Monitor Calibration kellylipp RAW, Post Processing and Printing 15 21st of November 2008 (Fri) 08:12
Monitor/Monitor Caliberation Hardware Recommendation Sought Coco-Puffs Accessories & Storage 24 19th of March 2007 (Mon) 03:57
Connecting old and new Rense Still Life, B/W & Experimental 2 15th of November 2006 (Wed) 13:45
Connecting to PC boopee39 Small Compact Digitals by Canon 6 12th of November 2004 (Fri) 09:54
Connecting G-1 with XP dicky109 Canon G-series Digital Cameras 2 3rd of May 2003 (Sat) 21:57


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.