Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Small Compact Digitals by Canon
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10th of January 2007 (Wed)   #1
1320
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 22
Default s3 is grain

anyone know why im getting so much grain when taking pics without flash? i use 100 and 200 for iso so im thinking its just the settings i chose or the file size.

this is a totaly random image i took at work tonight. i held the camera very steady and theres lots of good light in there.
1320 is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 10th of January 2007 (Wed)   #2
MaxZoom
Member
 
MaxZoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 316
Default Re: s3 is grain

If you had a light meter you would realise what looks bringt indoors or at night really is not that bright at all. Keeping the ISO low will keep noise low but then camera shake becomes a problem. The technical side of Photography is about making choices and tradeoffs.
I don't think there is anything wrong with your settings the image looks normal for the lighting you have.
__________________
Max
There's no such thing as a bad photo, just the wrong audience.
EQUIPMENT: Canon Powershot S3 IS, 2x Transcend 2GB x150 SD, 2x 4GB Class 4 Dane-Elec SDHC, LensMate 52mm Adapter Tube and lots of stuff to hang on it.
A couple of flashes and a couple of strobes. My other camera is a Sony DSC-P200.
MaxZoom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th of January 2007 (Wed)   #3
JustShootin'
Member
 
JustShootin''s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: South Florida
Posts: 820
Default Re: s3 is grain

The info I get shows that you were using an 800 ISO, and were in super micro mode, with a shutter speed of only 1/13. If this is true, then I would say you have an excelent shot for a handheld grab shot.

Gary
__________________
Gary
Canon SX40, S100 and a Non Canon dSLR
“Any darn fool can make something complex;
it takes a genius to make something simple.”—Pete Seeger
JustShootin' is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 10th of January 2007 (Wed)   #4
Gerald-NC
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 171
Default Re: s3 is grain

I suddenly feel the need for a piece of gum
__________________
C&C Is Always Welcomed and Encouraged!

Flikr Photos

Canon EOS Rebel XSi / 450D Kit EF-S IS 18-55mm Lens, Shorty 40mm
Gerald-NC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th of January 2007 (Wed)   #5
mishnogram
Member
 
mishnogram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 264
Default Re: s3 is grain

Quote:
Originally Posted by JustShootin' View Post
The info I get shows that you were using an 800 ISO, and were in super micro mode, with a shutter speed of only 1/13. If this is true, then I would say you have an excelent shot for a handheld grab shot.

Gary
If that is an ISO 800 shot then I should have definitely picked up an S3 when HBC was selling them for 299...
__________________
Min
Canon Rebel xt with kit len, Sigma 55-200mm F4-5.6 DC, Canon S2IS, & not enough time to use them all.

http://picasaweb.google.com/mishnogram
mishnogram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th of January 2007 (Wed)   #6
JustShootin'
Member
 
JustShootin''s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: South Florida
Posts: 820
Default Re: s3 is grain

Quote:
Originally Posted by mishnogram View Post
If that is an ISO 800 shot then I should have definitely picked up an S3 when HBC was selling them for 299...
I didn't take the shot, so I don't really know, but That's the info I got from opening the photo with ZoombrowserEX.
__________________
Gary
Canon SX40, S100 and a Non Canon dSLR
“Any darn fool can make something complex;
it takes a genius to make something simple.”—Pete Seeger
JustShootin' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th of January 2007 (Wed)   #7
1320
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 22
Default Re: s3 is grain

ya ok my bad i didnt relize that my camera was on iso 800 one of my buddy probally changed it on me. i dont have all the settings up on the screen so i never saw that. but ya i guess thats pretty good for iso 800 haha. ill try and do the same pic tonight with a lower iso.

another random shot from last night at work.
1320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why the grain? extrememc People 13 1st of January 2007 (Mon) 23:59
Film Grain jamner Still Life, B/W & Experimental 5 1st of January 2007 (Mon) 15:58
20D grain... Justin Horne Canon EOS Digital Cameras 4 2nd of October 2005 (Sun) 15:41
golden grain ad jpsimon People 6 14th of February 2005 (Mon) 21:28
Old Grain Wagon KarinaB1970 Nature & Landscapes 3 11th of January 2005 (Tue) 10:50


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 17:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.