Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Small Compact Digitals by Canon
Thread started 10 Jan 2007 (Wednesday) 05:09
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

s3 is grain

 
1320
Junior Member
22 posts
Joined Oct 2006
Jan 10, 2007 05:09 |  #1

anyone know why im getting so much grain when taking pics without flash? i use 100 and 200 for iso so im thinking its just the settings i chose or the file size.

this is a totaly random image i took at work tonight. i held the camera very steady and theres lots of good light in there.

IMAGE: http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y186/noride/cc55ee48.jpg



LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
MaxZoom
Senior Member
MaxZoom's Avatar
316 posts
Joined Sep 2006
Dublin, Ireland
Jan 10, 2007 07:58 |  #2

If you had a light meter you would realise what looks bringt indoors or at night really is not that bright at all. Keeping the ISO low will keep noise low but then camera shake becomes a problem. The technical side of Photography is about making choices and tradeoffs.
I don't think there is anything wrong with your settings the image looks normal for the lighting you have.


Max :rolleyes:
There's no such thing as a bad photo, just the wrong audience.
EQUIPMENT: Canon Powershot S3 IS, 2x Transcend 2GB x150 SD, 2x 4GB Class 4 Dane-Elec SDHC, LensMate 52mm Adapter Tube and lots of stuff to hang on it.
A couple of flashes and a couple of strobes. My other camera is a Sony DSC-P200.

LOG IN TO REPLY
JustShootin'
Senior Member
JustShootin''s Avatar
820 posts
Joined Jan 2007
South Florida
Jan 10, 2007 09:06 |  #3

The info I get shows that you were using an 800 ISO, and were in super micro mode, with a shutter speed of only 1/13. If this is true, then I would say you have an excelent shot for a handheld grab shot.

Gary


Gary
Canon SX40, S100 and a Non Canon dSLR
“Any darn fool can make something complex;
it takes a genius to make something simple.”—Pete Seeger

LOG IN TO REPLY
Gerald-NC
Member
171 posts
Joined Dec 2006
Jan 10, 2007 09:26 |  #4

I suddenly feel the need for a piece of gum ;)


C&C Is Always Welcomed and Encouraged!
Flikr Photosexternal link
Canon EOS Rebel XSi / 450D Kit EF-S IS 18-55mm Lens, Shorty 40mm

LOG IN TO REPLY
mishnogram
Senior Member
mishnogram's Avatar
264 posts
Joined Nov 2006
Ontario Canada
Jan 10, 2007 11:03 |  #5

JustShootin wrote in post #2518261external link
The info I get shows that you were using an 800 ISO, and were in super micro mode, with a shutter speed of only 1/13. If this is true, then I would say you have an excelent shot for a handheld grab shot.

Gary

If that is an ISO 800 shot then I should have definitely picked up an S3 when HBC was selling them for 299...


Min
Canon Rebel xt with kit len, Sigma 55-200mm F4-5.6 DC, Canon S2IS, & not enough time to use them all.
http://picasaweb.googl​e.com/mishnogramexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
JustShootin'
Senior Member
JustShootin''s Avatar
820 posts
Joined Jan 2007
South Florida
Jan 10, 2007 12:18 |  #6

mishnogram wrote in post #2518736external link
If that is an ISO 800 shot then I should have definitely picked up an S3 when HBC was selling them for 299...

I didn't take the shot, so I don't really know, but That's the info I got from opening the photo with ZoombrowserEX.


Gary
Canon SX40, S100 and a Non Canon dSLR
“Any darn fool can make something complex;
it takes a genius to make something simple.”—Pete Seeger

LOG IN TO REPLY
1320
THREAD ­ STARTER
Junior Member
22 posts
Joined Oct 2006
Jan 10, 2007 15:35 as a reply to JustShootin''s post |  #7

ya ok my bad i didnt relize that my camera was on iso 800 one of my buddy probally changed it on me. i dont have all the settings up on the screen so i never saw that. but ya i guess thats pretty good for iso 800 haha. ill try and do the same pic tonight with a lower iso.

another random shot from last night at work.

IMAGE: http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y186/noride/b9b4d910.jpg



LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

1,103 views & 0 likes for this thread
s3 is grain
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Small Compact Digitals by Canon


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00109 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.01s
Latest registered member is MikeShanePhoto
823 guests, 583 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016