Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Small Compact Digitals by Canon
Thread started 15 Apr 2002 (Monday) 21:58
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Remote Capture = webcam?

 
kirktalon
Mostly Lurking
10 posts
Joined Mar 2002
Apr 15, 2002 21:58 |  #1

I'm sure not the first one to think about this and does or could Remote Capture work as a webcam for S30 or S40, other canon cameras?




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Rustle
Member
207 posts
Joined Apr 2002
Apr 16, 2002 14:05 |  #2

video output = webcam

Our cameras won't function as webcams out of the box. The problem is the driver. A basic webcam is a TWAIN source that sends imaging data via its driver. You can then use a program such as Microsoft Netmeeting to pick up the TWAIN data.

From what I've seen, Canon's drivers will only function that way for Remote Capture, which has absolutely no online chat functionality. And there's no way that I can see to push the data to Netmeeting. If you want that to happen, we'll all have to petition Canon to build an all-purpose video-output driver. It's not impossible, because other camera companies do it.

There is, however, an alternative. If your computer has video inputs (usually through the video card or a tv tuner module), you can connect the video out port on a digital camera or video camera to them. Then, you should be able to fire up Netmeeting and tell it to use the video inputs as the video source (which is the video coming from the camera).

I haven't tried this process with my S30, but my dad uses his Kodak digital camera and ATI video card as a Webcam. This sounds like a lot to go though, but would you rather buy a cheap webcam or a USB tv tuner? I'd rather have the latter, simply because it has more functionality (I love having a tv on my computer).

If anyone's thinking about pursuing this, I can test out the process with my S30. I don't really need to, since I have a webcam, so I'd like to know that a few people will benefit before I spend the time.

Russ




LOG IN TO REPLY
kirktalon
THREAD ­ STARTER
Mostly Lurking
10 posts
Joined Mar 2002
Apr 16, 2002 17:37 |  #3

Thanks for the reply Russ. I hope you do and can find a way of using the S30 as a webcam although I have to say I don't really use chatrooms so would I really need it? Are there other applications besides chat rooms? Can it be used in instant messaging? Also keep in mind that I am a Apple computer user and what you do will have to have some universality to it.




LOG IN TO REPLY
Rustle
Member
207 posts
Joined Apr 2002
Apr 17, 2002 13:27 |  #4

Chat applications aren't quite the same as chat rooms. Netmeeting is an online collaboration tool (free from MS) that enables people to share video, documents, and even desktops over the Internet. That's pretty much all that I use my Webcam for (and sporadically at best). I guess video conferencing is a better description than chat application.

The only uses I can think of for Webcams are video conferencing and posting images to a Website (like a security camera). You could probably find other people on the Web doing funky things with their Webcams.

I'm pretty sure that Netmeeting exists for Mac, but I've never used it and don't have access to a Mac right now. So, anything I did on my PC wouldn't clearly apply to you. I have done video editing on a high-end Mac workstation, so I know the parts exist to capture video. Problem is, I don't know how you'd go about connecting everything together. Bottom line: if you really need a Webcam, you might just want to buy one.

Russ




LOG IN TO REPLY
kirktalon
THREAD ­ STARTER
Mostly Lurking
10 posts
Joined Mar 2002
Apr 19, 2002 18:47 |  #5

Well, you seem like a well informed person. Thanks for sharing your knowledge and good luck in what I will assume is your new young career.

I don't think I really need a webcam right now. It was/is fun to think of it as a bonus with the S30.




LOG IN TO REPLY
Rustle
Member
207 posts
Joined Apr 2002
Apr 19, 2002 23:44 |  #6

Thanks for the compliment. I'm 25 (having spent seven years in school), so I don't feel young. But it's all relative, right? ;)

Russ




LOG IN TO REPLY
Tom ­ Brown
Junior Member
28 posts
Joined Dec 2001
Apr 21, 2002 01:21 |  #7

I can remember when 25 seemed old. No, wait... that was when 35 seemed old. No...

I think I'm with Rustle on this one. If you need a web cam, you need a web cam. Pekka has some software for doing remote capture with a D30 that I'm pretty sure works with my S110 and probably works with your S30 too. You may be able to use that to capture frames for displaying on the web.




LOG IN TO REPLY
kirktalon
THREAD ­ STARTER
Mostly Lurking
10 posts
Joined Mar 2002
Apr 21, 2002 19:26 |  #8

So Pekka is the person who oversees this message board or whatever it is we are using????




LOG IN TO REPLY
dreamstudios
Hatchling
1 post
Joined Jun 2002
Jun 16, 2002 21:16 |  #9

Has there been any development on this matter?

It would be quite cool to use the S30 as a webcam.. Sounds like all we need is for someone to hack together a TWAIN driver.

Chris.




LOG IN TO REPLY
Rustle
Member
207 posts
Joined Apr 2002
Jun 17, 2002 08:52 |  #10

No development. I didn't think there was much interest in the video-capture solution. That, and I found my Webcam.

Russ




LOG IN TO REPLY
saphir
Hatchling
4 posts
Joined Mar 2002
Jun 19, 2002 03:21 |  #11

I hope there will be developpement in near futur of a "video capture driver".

I think that the breeze developper can do this ... but i don't know if he want to.

perhaps if we are a lot ...




LOG IN TO REPLY
catod6
Hatchling
1 post
Joined Aug 2003
Aug 11, 2003 16:43 |  #12

Rustle wrote:

There is, however, an alternative. If your computer has video inputs (usually through the video card or a tv tuner module), you can connect the video out port on a digital camera or video camera to them. Then, you should be able to fire up Netmeeting and tell it to use the video inputs as the video source (which is the video coming from the camera)...
Russ

I tried connecting my S30 camera video out to my TV card, and it works well !!
I now can use my S30 for MS-Messenger video calls.
The connection is very simple: just connect your S30 video out to the video in of your tv card.
The only limitation I noticed is that once in several minutes the camera is auto turning off, since I don't use it for shooting. I someone has a solution for that, I will be glad to hear...

Ori.




LOG IN TO REPLY
carl.h
Junior Member
23 posts
Joined Jul 2003
Aug 12, 2003 02:08 |  #13

Hi
Please see my other post in this forum "Reply from Canon". I sent an email to canon and asked them just this question that you have here.




LOG IN TO REPLY
stopbath
Goldmember
1,537 posts
Joined Jul 2003
Aug 12, 2003 08:13 |  #14

You should be able to turn off the power saving feature in one of the menus.

Check your camera's menus, or your manual.




LOG IN TO REPLY
lcfred
Junior Member
24 posts
Joined Sep 2003
Sep 10, 2003 14:35 |  #15

Hi there.. .I was looking for something about it and I found a prog: Cam4you http://www.jpegclub.or​g/cam4you/external link)

I didn't test yet but It seems top work... at least is a freeware and there are some good functions on it (including a webcam mode... that I'm goig to test! ;-)a
)

Let's see!!




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

12,312 views & 0 likes for this thread
Remote Capture = webcam?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Small Compact Digitals by Canon


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00159 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is Iceknights2000
983 guests, 641 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 5577, that happened on Mar 02, 2016