Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > Talk About Photography > General Photography Talk
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 2nd of February 2007 (Fri)   #1
Elizabeth44
Member
 
Elizabeth44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 156
Default Studio space.../ how much do I need?

So, I am making the leap into studio photography. I have done mostly equestrian to this point.
I want to turn a room in my house into a studio. If I have a backdrop and basic lighting set up, how much space do I need. My office right now isn't that big.
Will it work? Anyone have some basic measurments they could give me?
Thanks so much in advance!
Elizabeth44 is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 2nd of February 2007 (Fri)   #2
DocFrankenstein
Cream of the Crop
 
DocFrankenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: where the buffalo roam
Posts: 12,290
Default Re: Studio space.../ how much do I need?

You need room for your subjects, lights,the background and the camera with yourself in there.
__________________
National Sarcasm Society. Like we need your support.
DocFrankenstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of February 2007 (Sat)   #3
Elizabeth44
Member
 
Elizabeth44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 156
Default Re: Studio space.../ how much do I need?

Well, obviously... But since I have never seen how much room a bckdrop stand and light stands takes up and how far away I need to have them to the subject and how far away the subject is to the bckdrop etc. I was just looking for a general room size that would be "ideal".
Thanks again!
Elizabeth44 is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 3rd of February 2007 (Sat)   #4
DocFrankenstein
Cream of the Crop
 
DocFrankenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: where the buffalo roam
Posts: 12,290
Default Re: Studio space.../ how much do I need?

It depends on the subject then, doesn't it?
__________________
National Sarcasm Society. Like we need your support.
DocFrankenstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of February 2007 (Sat)   #5
ssim
POTN Landscape & Cityscape Photographer 2005
 
ssim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: southern Alberta, Canada
Posts: 10,884
Default Re: Studio space.../ how much do I need?

Most home offices tend to be an extra bedroom convertered. If this is what you are using and it is standard sized you might get away with enough space to do single portraits and this might only be head and shoulders.

The space that I have is 22'X13' and I sometimes find it not quite wide enough. I like to be able to move my lighting back on the sides and this doesn't allow it for a group larger than 3 or 4. The larger space also allows for greater control of the lighting. In a smaller space you will get the light bouncing off of all the walls and is sometimes more difficult to control it if you don't want this. This can also work to your advantage as well in this area.

You can get away with alot less space than I have. You want to feel comfortable. You don't want to have to shoot your subjects with a wide angle lens which puts you up "in their face". It makes your subject feel uncomfortable not to mention the potential for lens distortion.

I tried one other room in my house which was 15x11 and it worked ok but I still had trouble doing full length shots with the focal length I wanted.

I hope that this is of some assistance to you. What is the size of the room that you are considering?
__________________
My life is like one big RAW file....way too much post processing needed.

Sheldon Simpson | My Gallery | My Gear updated: 20JUL12
ssim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of February 2007 (Sat)   #6
PhotosGuy
Moderator
 
PhotosGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: S. E. Michigan
Posts: 68,764
Default Re: Studio space.../ how much do I need?

Quote:
how much space do I need.
At least one horse wide?

OK, one important factor is height so you have some room to work with. Ideally at least 9-10', but more would be better. (Bigger is always better.)
OTOH, this basement was only 6' 2" & worked OK for one person.
Simple 2 Light Portrait Set-up
__________________
FrankC - 20D, RAW, Manual everything...
Classic Carz, Racing, Air Show, Flowers.
www.FrankCizek.com

Find the light... A few Car Lighting Tips, and MOVE YOUR FEET!
Have you thought about making your own book? // Need an exposure crutch?

New Image Size Limits: Image must not exceed 1280 pixels on any side.
PhotosGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of February 2007 (Sat)   #7
Elizabeth44
Member
 
Elizabeth44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 156
Default Re: Studio space.../ how much do I need?

Thanks Sheldon, that really helps me to figure out which room I should be using.
LOL Frank, that's a measurement I can relate to!
The room I wanted to use is going to be way too small. It's just that my house is more open concept. The bedroom's are filled with children, so that's not an option. So I've decided the best room I have is one that I have 22 feet in width and 19 feet in length. The ceiling is cathedral, 15ft. I really like this room as it has a ton of natural light. Will this ever work against me? Do I need to consider getting blinds?
I can't wait to get started. I have alot to learn but I'm looking forward to it.
Cheers!
Elizabeth44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of February 2007 (Sat)   #8
PhotosGuy
Moderator
 
PhotosGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: S. E. Michigan
Posts: 68,764
Default Re: Studio space.../ how much do I need?

Quote:
Will this ever work against me? Do I need to consider getting blinds?
Blinds are a good idea, even if it faces north. Canada get's the same lovely weather that we do, which means sun/clouds/rain/sun/clouds... all in the same 2 hour period, & you may not want overcast WB light seeping in on things you decide to use incandescent light on. Best to have full control.
15' should work out great, too.
__________________
FrankC - 20D, RAW, Manual everything...
Classic Carz, Racing, Air Show, Flowers.
www.FrankCizek.com

Find the light... A few Car Lighting Tips, and MOVE YOUR FEET!
Have you thought about making your own book? // Need an exposure crutch?

New Image Size Limits: Image must not exceed 1280 pixels on any side.
PhotosGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Studio Space ? BayAreaPhotog The Business of Photography 4 6th of March 2007 (Tue) 20:03
Studio space... ArenGh General Photography Talk 6 2nd of November 2006 (Thu) 14:42
How much space for a studio? artisticexpressions The Business of Photography 8 24th of August 2006 (Thu) 01:55
Studio Space minatophase3 The POTN Lounge 2 5th of April 2005 (Tue) 12:30


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 21:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.