Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > The POTN Lounge
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 14th of March 2004 (Sun)   #1
FlyingPete
I am immune

Default Protect that data!

I have almost 20GB of 'digital assets' (mainly photos) now. As my day job is as a storage engineer I know all to well that hard disks can fail, and I would be devastated if I lost them all so I keep them on a pair of hardware mirrored ATA hard disks that are not my main work machine.

I used to save them to CD-ROM, but this is time consuming and I had one too many CD failures (luckily I burn two copies of everything, and leave one at work).

If my house burns down, or if one of the local volcano erupts (apparently due in the next few hundred years, great photo op though!) I will loose all my data, as I don't have an offsite anymore, I am thinking of a removable drive.

How does everyone else protect their data? I have heard too many horror stories about people keeping all their data on a single disk and loosing it all to not take this stuff seriously. I hope I am not being too paranoid!
FlyingPete is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 14th of March 2004 (Sun)   #2
CoolToolGuy
Boosting Ruler Sales

I have Backup My PC, which is Veritas Backup Exec for desktops. I currently backup to CD-RW, but that gets old, so I have a DVD-RW drive waiting in the wings. My intent is to let BUMP do incremental backups in the middle of the night - much easier with the 4.7 GB of the DVD.

I grew up in my day job as a DASD guy, so this is near and dear to my heart.

Have Fun
Rick 8)
CoolToolGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th of March 2004 (Sun)   #3
Scottes
Trigger Man - POTN Retired