Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > RAW, Post Processing and Printing
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15th of February 2007 (Thu)   #1
NorCalAl
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Paradise, CA, USA
Posts: 966
Default Do you do your sharpening in RAW?

Or once it's converted? If you do sharpening in RAW, do you find differences in the different converters?
I wondered about conversion programs before and found that many, many folks asked the same questions and much like the 24-105 vs 24-70 debate, most folks had grown weary of answering yet another post on conversion apps.
But what I'm really wondering - and was then, too, just worded it poorly - is if you do your sharpening in RAW, do you find that you like one converter app over another? Or perhaps more importantly, is there an app you feel does a poor job of RAW sharpening?
I like the sharpening options in DxO, but find the app is very slow. Bibble is really fast, but the sharpening leaves much to be desired. And DPP is fast, has good (to me) sharpening, but lacks some of the flexibility of both Bibble and DxO. Then there's Lightroom...seems to sharpen well, pretty fast and has lots of flexibility.
I'd really love to just use one app, but it seems that different shots demand different processing. Or am I making too much of it?
__________________
Gear List

Nikon, the dark adventure begins...
NorCalAl is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 15th of February 2007 (Thu)   #2
CyberDyneSystems
Admin (type T-2000)
 
CyberDyneSystems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Providence RI
Posts: 40,265
Default Re: Do you do your sharpening in RAW?

I tend to do it only in PSCS after conversion.. but there are times I will do it in the raw converter.. particularly when I used to work with Captrue 1
CyberDyneSystems is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15th of February 2007 (Thu)   #3
drogos
Senior Member
 
drogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: CHICAGO
Posts: 1,218
Default Re: Do you do your sharpening in RAW?

i always do sharpening in Phase one capture to get a "usable " file and than if necessary i add some sharpnesss to eyes in ps ...it's tricky since what you see in phase one is not what you see afterwards in ps ...algorythm for sharpening is pretty strange and it almost looks like sharpening setting is override by some defaults ...so i tent to oversharpen in phase one (200%) to get just right on the spot in ps ..but well i guess there is never to late for sharpening but it can be defenetly to early at times
drogos is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 15th of February 2007 (Thu)   #4
Bodog
Senior Member
 
Bodog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Peculiar, MO
Posts: 1,306
Default Re: Do you do your sharpening in RAW?

Something I read on some post processing guru's website (can't remember which) struck me as meaningful: Only sharpen enough at the conversion stage to offset any blurring caused by the de-mosaicing filter. I find that the default setting in C1 does a good job in that respect. Any further sharpening should be done after the conversion and depends on the individual image and it's intended use.
__________________
JimE
Color? It's all relative...

Last edited by Bodog : 16th of February 2007 (Fri) at 00:11. Reason: clarity
Bodog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th of February 2007 (Thu)   #5
memorex88
Senior Member
 
memorex88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montreal, Quebec Canada
Posts: 1,472
Default Re: Do you do your sharpening in RAW?

I don't but I asked my wife if I could take a pic of her sharpening a knife in the nude, She refused
__________________
Marco

My Gear
memorex88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th of February 2007 (Thu)   #6
cosworth
I'm comfortable with my masculinity
 
cosworth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Duncan, BC, Canada
Posts: 10,928
Default Re: Do you do your sharpening in RAW?

Hell no.

My sharpening is the last step in PP and involves an action with about 40 steps. RAW sharpening is not that precise.
__________________
people will always try to stop you doing the right thing if it is unconventional

Full frame and some primes.
cosworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th of February 2007 (Thu)   #7
ssim
POTN Landscape & Cityscape Photographer 2005
 
ssim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: southern Alberta, Canada
Posts: 10,884
Default Re: Do you do your sharpening in RAW?

Depends on the image. I will sometimes give a very slight amount of sharpening in C1 Pro at the time I do my conversion.

It has long been the standard that sharpening should be your very last step in your post processing workflow. In the past year though, I have seen some of those same people say that they have started to do some very light sharpening at the time of conversion. Things do change and the software applications that support this sharpening have made progress as well.

This really boils down to a personal preference and how good your final product is. If doing an initial amount of sharpening works for you and the image benefits from it, I don't see an issue with doing it.
__________________
My life is like one big RAW file....way too much post processing needed.

Sheldon Simpson | My Gallery | My Gear updated: 20JUL12
ssim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th of February 2007 (Thu)   #8
bsmotril
Goldmember
 
bsmotril's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 2,340
Default Re: Do you do your sharpening in RAW?

Sharpening is one of the areas where Photoshop is superior to RAW. Most of the operations you do in RAW don't change the actual raw data, they just affect the metadata putting markers there that tells Photoshop how to do the Gamma correction, and present the image by way of setting the dark and highlight points in the data set. When you sharpen, you are actually changing pixel data, which is what PS does. When you sharpen in raw, all you do is change the way the thumbnail and JPEG image are presented on your screen, no pixel data is changed (or lost, which is the real benefit of adjusting all your levels, color, contrast, exposure, etc in RAW vs PS). Do your sharpening as your last processing step.
bsmotril is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th of February 2007 (Thu)   #9
Beau Hudspeth
-Cool Title-
 
Beau Hudspeth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: On the "Highway to 'L' " with a cardboard sign reading - "Will photoshop for food" - Beaverton, Or.
Posts: 2,743
Default Re: Do you do your sharpening in RAW?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cosworth View Post
My sharpening is the last step in PP and involves an action with about 40 steps.
I'm curious to see that action please!
__________________
____________________________________________

My FAVORITE Image Gear List

Photoshop Action Set My Flickr
__________________________________________
Beau Hudspeth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th of February 2007 (Thu)   #10
cgratti
Lord_Malone, your still a newb...
 
cgratti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: E-A-G-L-E-S - EAGLES
Posts: 3,315
Default Re: Do you do your sharpening in RAW?

Dont sharpen in RAW, there is a better way to sharpen in PS.

Duplicate the layer.
Click FILTER>OTHER>HIGH PASS and at 7.0
The picture will now look Chrome and ugly.
Set the BLENDING MODE in the layers palette to SOFT OVERLAY and viola!
__________________

Canon 30D
Canon 10D
Canon 28-105 f/3.5-4.5 II USM
Apple iMac G5


cgratti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th of February 2007 (Fri)   #11
Pete
Moderator
Prime Mover
 
Pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 38,607
Default Re: Do you do your sharpening in RAW?

No, Sharpening in ACR won't be much good at all. Although it's useful to start your noise reduction there.

I've found that actions and recipies for sharpening will give you acceptable, but not good results. The best sharpening is when it's tailored for the image itself (and even then targeted for parts of the image that actually need it). Multi-pass sharpening is the way to go, if you can spend the time doing it.
__________________
Pete
Pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th of February 2007 (Fri)   #12
peber
Member
 
peber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 248
Default Re: Do you do your sharpening in RAW?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete View Post
No, Sharpening in ACR won't be much good at all. Although it's useful to start your noise reduction there.

I've found that actions and recipies for sharpening will give you acceptable, but not good results. The best sharpening is when it's tailored for the image itself (and even then targeted for parts of the image that actually need it). Multi-pass sharpening is the way to go, if you can spend the time doing it.
Slightly OT, is there a tutorial somewhere how to do multi-pass sharpening?

/Per
__________________
| EOS 5DMkIII gripped | EOS 7D gripped | EOS 30D gripped | Fuji X100 | EF-S 10-22/3.5-4.5 | EF 16-35/2.8 L | EF 17-40/4.0 L | EF 24-105/4.0 L IS | EF 70-200/2.8 IS II | EF 300/4.0 IS | EF 100/2.8 L IS Macro | EF 50/1.4 | EF 85/1.8 | EF 1.4 MkII extender | Speedlite 580EX II | Speedlite 430X | Zoom H4n | Some Pocketwizard and Lastolite gear|
| Too many bags, all Think Tank |
peber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th of February 2007 (Fri)   #13
tim
Light Bringer
 
tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 49,328
Default Re: Do you do your sharpening in RAW?

I'm a wedding photographer, I only occasionally sharpen. I've done my experiments, in print, not at the almost useless 100% view in photoshop. Take a look at the prints if you do and don't sharpen, after that you'll worry less. That's a good general rule: try it every way you can think of, print it, if your wife/girlfriend/whatever can't tell them apart then miss the step out, it's not important.
tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th of February 2007 (Fri)   #14
mace0002
Member
 
mace0002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 156
Default Re: Do you do your sharpening in RAW?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beau Hudspeth View Post
I'm curious to see that action please!
I would too!!
mace0002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th of February 2007 (Fri)   #15
SuzyView
Cream of the Crop
 
SuzyView's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 31,742
Default Re: Do you do your sharpening in RAW?

Never sharpen in RAW, only in PS.
__________________
Suzie - Still Speaking Canonese!
5D2 7D SL1 (6/14) & G12, the iPad2, iPhone 5 , 5 L's & 2 Primes 23 bags.
My children are the reason, but it's the passion that drives me to get the perfect image of everything.
My Gear and Wishes


SuzyView is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
always sharpening raw ? azpix RAW, Post Processing and Printing 8 15th of April 2007 (Sun) 00:28
Raw Sharpening zeddy General Photography Talk 5 1st of March 2007 (Thu) 11:16
Raw sharpening chrisb99 RAW, Post Processing and Printing 3 29th of June 2006 (Thu) 09:13
Raw vs. JPEG Sharpening: USM vs. FVU Raw Converter vs. CS Pr scottbergerphoto Canon EOS Digital Cameras 7 30th of June 2003 (Mon) 13:15
Sharpening, etc during RAW conversion RobertP RAW, Post Processing and Printing 7 27th of June 2001 (Wed) 04:48


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 17:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.