LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


lightroom still sloooow

FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing
Thread started 19 Feb 2007 (Monday) 07:28   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
In2Photos
Cream of the Crop
In2Photos's Avatar
Joined Dec 2005
19,808 posts
Near Charlotte, NC.
[MORE/SHARE]

Victoria Bampton wrote in post #3421938external link
You'll have to wait a little longer.......... :D

Nuh, uh! ;) How did I know that was coming? :lol:

Post #136, Jun 22, 2007 13:54:04


Mike, The Keeper of the Archive

Current Gear and Feedback| My Pbase Galleryexternal link | mdsportsphoto.comexternal linkhttp://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=835433

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Victoria ­ Bampton
Goldmember
Victoria Bampton's Avatar
Joined May 2007
1,365 posts
Southampton, UK
[MORE/SHARE]

I'm getting predictable!!! ;) I'd tell you if I could, but you'll just have to wait for Tom.

Post #137, Jun 22, 2007 14:03:34


Victoria :D
Lightroom Queen websiteexternal link
Lightroom 3 Book available now!
Free List of Lightroom Shortcutsexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
constrict
Goldmember
constrict's Avatar
Joined Oct 2006
1,026 posts
Maine
[MORE/SHARE]

I'm gonna have to agree, lightroom, while a little faster than the beta, is STILL SLOW!!!

Also, I can't even import photos directly from my camera without nothing happening (lightroom basically freezes)

I REALLY REALLY REALLY WANT TO LIKE LIGHTROOM...but it's not running well.

Post #138, Jun 22, 2007 15:14:37


5D | 5DIII | 1DIV| 16-35 f2.8L II | 24-70 f2.8L II | 70-200 f2.8L IS II | 24 f1.4L II | 35 f1.4L | 50mm f1.4 | 85mm f1.2 II
http://www.tomcouture.​comexternal link| http://facebook.com/co​uturephotosexternal link
| http://instagram.com/t​omcoutureexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
mantra
Goldmember
mantra's Avatar
Joined Nov 2006
1,572 posts
Italy, Rome
[MORE/SHARE]

Victoria Bampton wrote in post #3421423external link
It's probably having to render 1:1 previews Mantra - try selecting the files in Grid mode, and going to Library menu > Previews > Render 1:1 Previews and see if it's quicker once it's finished creating them.

:o

yes victoria i did:o :o
but the zoom fit to monitor is still slow
zoom ratio 1:2 or 1:1 is fast
Edit: yeah victoria it makes lightroom run good with 1:1 preview render
in the preview cache , which are the best setting for speed?
size & quality?

to be sincere i don't trust about adobe , they makes boat heavy & slow programs, outside photoshop cs2 or cs3 (they are that i tried) , photoshop elements is pathetic , is amazing slow compare to cs3
cool edit was a great program , now audition (the new cool edit version but ADOBE) is pathetic and nobody use it more, nothing to compare to the others audio editor like wavelab
the adobe pdf reader is a kidding ,foxit pdf reader is 1MB and has more feature

i don't say that adobe doesn't make great programs , but they seems coded with feet :D

Post #139, Jun 23, 2007 00:40:55 as a reply to constrict's post 9 hours earlier.


canon 5d markII,24L & 24ts , 35L ,17-40L,24-70L,70-200 2.8ISL,50 1.4,85 1.4 , canon eos 3 ,eos 5 ,t90 , ae program and some very sweet fd lenses
3 analogic Hasselblad and 2 anologic Mamiya

LOG IN TO REPLY
Victoria ­ Bampton
Goldmember
Victoria Bampton's Avatar
Joined May 2007
1,365 posts
Southampton, UK
[MORE/SHARE]

If you ever need to zoom in, set it rendering 1:1 previews while you sleep one night - it takes up disc space, but it does speed things up no end. Standard previews depends on your screen resolution - somewhere between 1x and 1.5x your resolution seems to be the sweet point.

And you don't have to trust Adobe - no one's forcing you to buy their programs! :D

Post #140, Jun 23, 2007 02:26:56


Victoria :D
Lightroom Queen websiteexternal link
Lightroom 3 Book available now!
Free List of Lightroom Shortcutsexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
mantra
Goldmember
mantra's Avatar
Joined Nov 2006
1,572 posts
Italy, Rome
[MORE/SHARE]

Victoria Bampton wrote in post #3424810external link
If you ever need to zoom in, set it rendering 1:1 previews while you sleep one night - it takes up disc space, but it does speed things up no end. Standard previews depends on your screen resolution - somewhere between 1x and 1.5x your resolution seems to be the sweet point.

And you don't have to trust Adobe - no one's forcing you to buy their programs! :D

yeah baby :o , thanks :oops:
i like them , the adobe programs , i like photoshop
but they make good programs but slow
my resolution is 1280x1024 , what should i set?

Post #141, Jun 23, 2007 05:36:50


canon 5d markII,24L & 24ts , 35L ,17-40L,24-70L,70-200 2.8ISL,50 1.4,85 1.4 , canon eos 3 ,eos 5 ,t90 , ae program and some very sweet fd lenses
3 analogic Hasselblad and 2 anologic Mamiya

LOG IN TO REPLY
Victoria ­ Bampton
Goldmember
Victoria Bampton's Avatar
Joined May 2007
1,365 posts
Southampton, UK
[MORE/SHARE]

Try 1024 and try 1440 and see which works best for you.

Post #142, Jun 23, 2007 06:53:57


Victoria :D
Lightroom Queen websiteexternal link
Lightroom 3 Book available now!
Free List of Lightroom Shortcutsexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
constrict
Goldmember
constrict's Avatar
Joined Oct 2006
1,026 posts
Maine
[MORE/SHARE]

I've been experimenting with exporting web galleries today, they seem work locally, but as soon as I upload the files none of the images show up.

lightroom is REALLY falling short of impressing me anymore.

Post #143, Jun 23, 2007 15:46:17


5D | 5DIII | 1DIV| 16-35 f2.8L II | 24-70 f2.8L II | 70-200 f2.8L IS II | 24 f1.4L II | 35 f1.4L | 50mm f1.4 | 85mm f1.2 II
http://www.tomcouture.​comexternal link| http://facebook.com/co​uturephotosexternal link
| http://instagram.com/t​omcoutureexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
mantra
Goldmember
mantra's Avatar
Joined Nov 2006
1,572 posts
Italy, Rome
[MORE/SHARE]

1.1 finally is out

Post #144, Jun 27, 2007 06:39:33 as a reply to constrict's post 3 days earlier.


canon 5d markII,24L & 24ts , 35L ,17-40L,24-70L,70-200 2.8ISL,50 1.4,85 1.4 , canon eos 3 ,eos 5 ,t90 , ae program and some very sweet fd lenses
3 analogic Hasselblad and 2 anologic Mamiya

LOG IN TO REPLY
Rellik
Senior Member
Rellik's Avatar
Joined Sep 2006
720 posts
Vancouver, BC
[MORE/SHARE]

Yes, download version 1.1. It is much much faster.

Post #145, Jun 27, 2007 13:02:22


-Derek 40D, 5D, 5D MK II, 1D Mark III
35L, 50L, 85L, 17-40L, 24-70L, 24-105L, 70-200 F2.8L IS
Vancouver Wedding Photographerexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Gerdav43
Senior Member
Gerdav43's Avatar
Joined Sep 2003
310 posts
Pennsylvania
[MORE/SHARE]

Yes Indeed. Not so slow anymore..............a​t least on my computer. It seems to be much more usable and I will now give it a full go. I've been waiting for this. I have it loaded on a Vista Machine.

Post #146, Jun 28, 2007 10:13:27 as a reply to Rellik's post 21 hours earlier.


Canon 60D
Canon 70-200 F4 L + Sigma 1.4 T-con
Canon 50mm 1.8
Canon Speedlite 580EX/Canon Speedlite 420EX

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
mantra
Goldmember
mantra's Avatar
Joined Nov 2006
1,572 posts
Italy, Rome
[MORE/SHARE]

Gerdav43 wrote in post #3453518external link
Yes Indeed. Not so slow anymore..............a​t least on my computer. It seems to be much more usable and I will now give it a full go. I've been waiting for this. I have it loaded on a Vista Machine.

did u try on xp?

Post #147, Jun 28, 2007 10:34:21


canon 5d markII,24L & 24ts , 35L ,17-40L,24-70L,70-200 2.8ISL,50 1.4,85 1.4 , canon eos 3 ,eos 5 ,t90 , ae program and some very sweet fd lenses
3 analogic Hasselblad and 2 anologic Mamiya

LOG IN TO REPLY
EOSAddict
Book Committee Immortal
EOSAddict's Avatar
Joined Apr 2005
6,063 posts
Preston, Lancashire, England
[MORE/SHARE]

Loaded on XP Main PC (2GB P4 3.0) and Vista laptop (1GB Core 2 Duo 1.6G) and works sweet on both

Post #148, Jun 28, 2007 11:31:20


Al
My Gear, My Website: www.e-ScapePhotography.co.ukexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Gerdav43
Senior Member
Gerdav43's Avatar
Joined Sep 2003
310 posts
Pennsylvania
[MORE/SHARE]

mantra wrote in post #3453586external link
did u try on xp?

No I did not. I have no need for a dual boot machine. All of my other applications work just fine on Vista. In fact, based on forum chatter around the internet it seemed my machine still worked faster than most machines. It just wasn't where I thought it should be. I feel that it is appropriately responsive at this time. I will let you know if that changes.

Post #149, Jun 28, 2007 14:23:20


Canon 60D
Canon 70-200 F4 L + Sigma 1.4 T-con
Canon 50mm 1.8
Canon Speedlite 580EX/Canon Speedlite 420EX

LOG IN TO REPLY
rfreschner
ishka bibble
rfreschner's Avatar
Joined Jan 2005
2,576 posts
Andover, CT...................... Go Red Sox!
[MORE/SHARE]

mantra wrote in post #3453586external link
did u try on xp?

My setup is the same as Al's and it is very responsive - much more so than 1.0.

Post #150, Jun 28, 2007 14:30:34


Rick
"We both can't be wrong; I must be right"
Bob Welch
Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
11,001 views & 0 likes for this thread
lightroom still sloooow
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00333 for 5 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.03s
1013 guests, 814 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is jentacularist

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.