Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > Talk About Photography > General Photography Talk
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 22nd of March 2007 (Thu)   #1
ben4633

Default How do I get the depth of field I want?

I am still kinda new at this and this website has taught me tons in a pretty short time. I want to know if there is a good way to select a aperature setting and know how large my depth of field will be. Right now I am using the trial and error method of selecting different settings and shooting away till I get what I want. Also, it is very easy to get too much backround blur, which in some pictures can be very distracting. I am trying to take pictures where objects in the backround or foreground are still distinguishable but blurry while my subject is sharp. How do you guys go about selecting an aperature for your shots? Thanks in advance for all your advice!

http://www.flickr.com/photos/aaronbphotos/
ben4633 is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 22nd of March 2007 (Thu)   #2
inthedeck
Cream of the Crop

Default Re: How do I get the depth of field I want?

Personally, for landscapes, I try and use f/16 and slower (f/22, etc). For Macro, DOF is very shallow, so f4 and faster (i.e. f/2.8, etc) is best. For Flowers in a window, f/8 to f/11 is best. There's lots of variations...and all depends on what you are shooting.

Can you post a pic, and maybe some could help you figure out what you want blurred, and what not? That might explain a little more, as to what you are trying to do. Also, stopping down a lens, to say f/8 or f/11 will usually produce a nice sharp object, with a bit of blur in the bg.

Here's a thread -- THREAD 1 -- in which the DOF is shallow (i.e. f 5/6) for that particular shot.