FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk
Thread started 22 Mar 2007 (Thursday) 10:56   
LIST NEARBY THREADS

ben4633
Joined Aug 2006
766 posts
USA
[MORE/SHARE]

I am still kinda new at this and this website has taught me tons in a pretty short time. I want to know if there is a good way to select a aperature setting and know how large my depth of field will be. Right now I am using the trial and error method of selecting different settings and shooting away till I get what I want. Also, it is very easy to get too much backround blur, which in some pictures can be very distracting. I am trying to take pictures where objects in the backround or foreground are still distinguishable but blurry while my subject is sharp. How do you guys go about selecting an aperature for your shots? Thanks in advance for all your advice!

Post #1, Mar 22, 2007 10:56:40

Canon 7D - Canon 50D - Canon 28-135 IS - Canon 580 EXII - Canon 15-85 - Canon 10-22 - Canon 70-200 IS 4.0L - Canon 400L 5.6

http://www.flickr.com/​photos/aaronbphotos/external link

sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
inthedeck
Cream of the Crop
Joined Sep 2006
11,108 posts
St. Augustine, FL by way of NY.
[MORE/SHARE]

Personally, for landscapes, I try and use f/16 and slower (f/22, etc). For Macro, DOF is very shallow, so f4 and faster (i.e. f/2.8, etc) is best. For Flowers in a window, f/8 to f/11 is best. There's lots of variations...and all depends on what you are shooting.

Can you post a pic, and maybe some could help you figure out what you want blurred, and what not? That might explain a little more, as to what you are trying to do. Also, stopping down a lens, to say f/8 or f/11 will usually produce a nice sharp object, with a bit of blur in the bg.

Here's a thread -- THREAD 1 -- in which the DOF is shallow (i.e. f 5/6) for that particular shot.