Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > RAW, Post Processing and Printing
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 25th of March 2007 (Sun)   #1
NorCalAl
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Paradise, CA, USA
Posts: 966
Default Can you change the background color in PS?

I'm talking the area behind the photo you're working on. Can you darken it like in LR?
If so - can someone point me to how I do it? I thought I saw a way to do this once, but it could have been another app...I just don't remember.
TIA!
__________________
Gear List

Nikon, the dark adventure begins...
NorCalAl is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 25th of March 2007 (Sun)   #2
Gix
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Martinsville,VA
Posts: 257
Default Re: Can you change the background color in PS?

Choose paint bucket tool and color and hold shift and click in background.
__________________




Gix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th of March 2007 (Sun)   #3
NorCalAl
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Paradise, CA, USA
Posts: 966
Default Re: Can you change the background color in PS?

So this works for the app itself? I'm not talking the photo, but the area behind the photo - the app backdrop. Sorry if I'm not being clear, cause I'm not sure what the area is called. If you had a photo open, and it is not covering the background area, that backgound area is the portion I'm trying to change.
When I do as you suggest, with no photo open, I can select the paint bucket, but once I go to that background area, the cursor becomes just a cursor again.
__________________
Gear List

Nikon, the dark adventure begins...
NorCalAl is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 25th of March 2007 (Sun)   #4
Gix
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Martinsville,VA
Posts: 257
Default Re: Can you change the background color in PS?

When you open a photo you have to maximize 1st or press the f key once. Then it will work. Hope that helps.
__________________




Gix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th of March 2007 (Sun)   #5
NorCalAl
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Paradise, CA, USA
Posts: 966
Default Re: Can you change the background color in PS?

I guess I'm not being clear at all - I'm not interested in changing a single photo. I'm interested in changing the area of Photoshop that is behind the photo you may be working on - the application itself. If you were to have a photo open, but not maximized, so that you can see some of the grey area of the app itself, that grey area is what I'm trying to change.
Anybody? Bueller? Bueller?
__________________
Gear List

Nikon, the dark adventure begins...
NorCalAl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th of March 2007 (Sun)   #6
Mike_Canon5D
Member
 
Mike_Canon5D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: P.R. USA
Posts: 929
Default Re: Can you change the background color in PS?

I don't thnk you can change the application's grey background, but you can change the bg color of the preview window for the picture been edited by using the paint bucket, selecting the color, and clicking the bg while holding the Shift key. This will work as long as the edges of the previewing window are expanded beyond the photos' edges. It is useful when working on graphics that will be used for web design and want to see how the photo will look against certain colors. Hope this helps.
__________________
Gear
Mike Carrio
Mike_Canon5D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th of March 2007 (Sun)   #7
NorCalAl
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Paradise, CA, USA
Posts: 966
Default Re: Can you change the background color in PS?

Perfecto!
__________________
Gear List

Nikon, the dark adventure begins...
NorCalAl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th of March 2007 (Mon)   #8
PhotosGuy
Moderator
 
PhotosGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: S. E. Michigan
Posts: 68,817
Default Re: Can you change the background color in PS?

If you just need a black bkg, hit the F key twice & TAB once. Then once each to go back. Or variations on that.
__________________
FrankC - 20D, RAW, Manual everything...
Classic Carz, Racing, Air Show, Flowers.
www.FrankCizek.com

Find the light... A few Car Lighting Tips, and MOVE YOUR FEET!
Have you thought about making your own book? // Need an exposure crutch?

New Image Size Limits: Image must not exceed 1280 pixels on any side.
PhotosGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th of March 2007 (Mon)   #9
crawford
Member
 
crawford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 263
Default Re: Can you change the background color in PS?

You can change the background colour (in Windows XP anyway) but it requires you to change the settings for Windows:

Clear the screen of windows and right click on the background. Select properties at the bottom of the menu.

Select the appearances tab

Click on the advanced button

In the item list box select Application Background

Click on color1 and select your new background colour. Click on OK

There you have it (but remember ALL applications will have this background colour).

Alan
__________________
Kit: 7D 70-200/f2.8LIS 100-400LIS 17-55/f2.8 IS
crawford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th of March 2007 (Mon)   #10
Headcase650
Senior Member
 
Headcase650's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,631
Default Re: Can you change the background color in PS?

I learn something new every day. This is great, I think changing the background to black is going to make my day.
__________________
60D, Canon 18-135 IS, Sigma 10-20 hsm, 24-70 2.8 hsm, 70-200 2.8 hsm, 430EX II, and all the other stuff that goes along with it.
Headcase650 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th of March 2007 (Mon)   #11
PhotosGuy
Moderator
 
PhotosGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: S. E. Michigan
Posts: 68,817
Default Re: Can you change the background color in PS?

Quote:
I think changing the background to black is going to make my day.
Keep in mind that, if you have a black bkg & want to calibrate your monitor, you should "warm up" the monitor with something like Notepad open so all the RGB guns have been active.
__________________
FrankC - 20D, RAW, Manual everything...
Classic Carz, Racing, Air Show, Flowers.
www.FrankCizek.com

Find the light... A few Car Lighting Tips, and MOVE YOUR FEET!
Have you thought about making your own book? // Need an exposure crutch?

New Image Size Limits: Image must not exceed 1280 pixels on any side.
PhotosGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need to change color to b&w with area of color still showing KENB RAW, Post Processing and Printing 5 23rd of October 2006 (Mon) 18:22
Background change Eagle GyRob Birds 6 26th of June 2006 (Mon) 14:49
How to change color 20D p_rodgers Canon EOS Digital Cameras 11 26th of April 2006 (Wed) 19:29
Color Change on Rebel XT Frogon Canon EOS Digital Cameras 3 17th of April 2006 (Mon) 17:42
Change Background shimano RAW, Post Processing and Printing 2 4th of January 2006 (Wed) 08:29


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.