Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 25 Mar 2007 (Sunday) 17:54
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Can you change the background color in PS?

 
NorCalAl
Senior Member
966 posts
Joined Sep 2006
Location: Paradise, CA, USA
     
Mar 25, 2007 17:54 |  #1

I'm talking the area behind the photo you're working on. Can you darken it like in LR?
If so - can someone point me to how I do it? I thought I saw a way to do this once, but it could have been another app...I just don't remember.
TIA!


Gear List

Nikon, the dark adventure begins...

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Gix
Senior Member
281 posts
Joined May 2006
Location: Martinsville,VA
     
Mar 25, 2007 18:12 |  #2

Choose paint bucket tool and color and hold shift and click in background.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
NorCalAl
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
966 posts
Joined Sep 2006
Location: Paradise, CA, USA
     
Mar 25, 2007 18:27 |  #3

So this works for the app itself? I'm not talking the photo, but the area behind the photo - the app backdrop. Sorry if I'm not being clear, cause I'm not sure what the area is called. If you had a photo open, and it is not covering the background area, that backgound area is the portion I'm trying to change.
When I do as you suggest, with no photo open, I can select the paint bucket, but once I go to that background area, the cursor becomes just a cursor again.


Gear List

Nikon, the dark adventure begins...

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Gix
Senior Member
281 posts
Joined May 2006
Location: Martinsville,VA
     
Mar 25, 2007 19:04 as a reply to  @ NorCalAl's post |  #4

When you open a photo you have to maximize 1st or press the f key once. Then it will work. Hope that helps.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
NorCalAl
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
966 posts
Joined Sep 2006
Location: Paradise, CA, USA
     
Mar 25, 2007 20:25 |  #5

I guess I'm not being clear at all - I'm not interested in changing a single photo. I'm interested in changing the area of Photoshop that is behind the photo you may be working on - the application itself. If you were to have a photo open, but not maximized, so that you can see some of the grey area of the app itself, that grey area is what I'm trying to change.
Anybody? Bueller? Bueller?


Gear List

Nikon, the dark adventure begins...

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Mike_Canon5D
Senior Member
Avatar
930 posts
Joined Apr 2006
Location: P.R. USA
     
Mar 25, 2007 20:44 |  #6

I don't thnk you can change the application's grey background, but you can change the bg color of the preview window for the picture been edited by using the paint bucket, selecting the color, and clicking the bg while holding the Shift key. This will work as long as the edges of the previewing window are expanded beyond the photos' edges. It is useful when working on graphics that will be used for web design and want to see how the photo will look against certain colors. Hope this helps.


Gear
Mike Carrio

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
NorCalAl
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
966 posts
Joined Sep 2006
Location: Paradise, CA, USA
     
Mar 25, 2007 21:37 |  #7

Perfecto!


Gear List

Nikon, the dark adventure begins...

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PhotosGuy
Moderator
Avatar
75,249 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 2099
Joined Feb 2004
Location: Middle of Michigan
     
Mar 26, 2007 09:20 |  #8

If you just need a black bkg, hit the F key twice & TAB once. Then once each to go back. Or variations on that.


FrankC - 20D, RAW, Manual everything...
Classic Carz, Racing, Air Show, Flowers.
Find the light... A few Car Lighting Tips, and MOVE YOUR FEET!
Have you thought about making your own book? // Need an exposure crutch?
New Image Size Limits: Image must not exceed 1600 pixels on any side.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
crawford
Senior Member
Avatar
269 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 4
Joined Oct 2006
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
     
Mar 26, 2007 14:46 |  #9

You can change the background colour (in Windows XP anyway) but it requires you to change the settings for Windows:

Clear the screen of windows and right click on the background. Select properties at the bottom of the menu.

Select the appearances tab

Click on the advanced button

In the item list box select Application Background

Click on color1 and select your new background colour. Click on OK

There you have it (but remember ALL applications will have this background colour).

Alan


AWOL for a few years but back now.
1DX plus too many lenses

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Headcase650
Goldmember
Avatar
1,632 posts
Joined Jun 2004
     
Mar 26, 2007 18:07 |  #10

I learn something new every day. This is great, I think changing the background to black is going to make my day.


60D, Canon 18-135 IS, Sigma 10-20 hsm, 24-70 2.8 hsm, 70-200 2.8 hsm, 430EX II, and all the other stuff that goes along with it.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PhotosGuy
Moderator
Avatar
75,249 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 2099
Joined Feb 2004
Location: Middle of Michigan
     
Mar 26, 2007 19:42 |  #11

I think changing the background to black is going to make my day.

Keep in mind that, if you have a black bkg & want to calibrate your monitor, you should "warm up" the monitor with something like Notepad open so all the RGB guns have been active.


FrankC - 20D, RAW, Manual everything...
Classic Carz, Racing, Air Show, Flowers.
Find the light... A few Car Lighting Tips, and MOVE YOUR FEET!
Have you thought about making your own book? // Need an exposure crutch?
New Image Size Limits: Image must not exceed 1600 pixels on any side.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,520 views & 0 likes for this thread
Can you change the background color in PS?
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is eyecancu
794 guests, 389 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.