Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing
Thread started 14 Apr 2007 (Saturday) 12:18
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Lightroom Stacking

 
col4bin
Goldmember
col4bin's Avatar
2,264 posts
Joined Feb 2006
San Francisco, CA
Apr 14, 2007 12:18 |  #1

What am I missing here? I select a group of similar RAW files and try to stack them but the stack option is greyed out and not accessible. What am I doing wrong? I looked in the online manual and did what it said.


Frank
http://www.fiorentinop​hotography.comexternal link
My Gear

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
col4bin
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
col4bin's Avatar
2,264 posts
Joined Feb 2006
San Francisco, CA
Apr 14, 2007 12:26 |  #2

hmmm....it appears that you cannot stack when filtering on metadata. Does this sound right?

I can stack when the entire library is shown but as soon as I filter the stacks are gone. This is not very useful.


Frank
http://www.fiorentinop​hotography.comexternal link
My Gear

LOG IN TO REPLY
jbimages
Senior Member
jbimages's Avatar
492 posts
Joined Mar 2007
Sydney, Australia
Apr 14, 2007 21:36 |  #3

You can't stack in collections, only in folders and the stacks are only visible as stacks in folders.


John
Some cameras, some lenses, Various light sources.
My Flickr stuffexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
TeeJay
Goldmember
TeeJay's Avatar
3,834 posts
Joined Jun 2005
Warwickshire - UK
Apr 20, 2007 09:51 |  #4

Sorry to jump in a bit late....

LR "opens" it's stacks when filtering as only one/some of the images in a stack may match your filter, so it auto-expands them so you don't have to go hunting in the stack to find the right one.

TJ


1DsMkIII | 1DMkIIN | 70-200 f/2.8L IS | 24-70 f/2.8L | 24-105 f/4L IS | 17-40 f/4L | 50 f/1.2L | WFT-E1 & E2 Transmitters - Click Here for setup advice | CP-E4 Battery Pack x 2 | ST-E2 | 580EX | 550EX | 430EXII | 420EX | Tripod + monopod | Bowens Esprit Gemini 500W/s heads & Travel-Pak | All this gear - and still no idea :confused:

LOG IN TO REPLY
EOSAddict
Book Committee Immortal
EOSAddict's Avatar
6,067 posts
Joined Apr 2005
Preston, Lancashire, England
Apr 20, 2007 09:56 |  #5

Stacking in LR is a big disappointment... wasted opportunity I hope they fix in Ver 1.1!


Al
My Gear, My Website: www.endofthetrailphoto​graphy.com (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
TeeJay
Goldmember
TeeJay's Avatar
3,834 posts
Joined Jun 2005
Warwickshire - UK
Apr 20, 2007 10:02 |  #6

EOSAddict wrote in post #3074490external link
Stacking in LR is a big disappointment... wasted opportunity I hope they fix in Ver 1.1!

Not wanting you to list ALL your issues (;) ) - but how do you find it disappointing?

The only thing I can possibly find wrong is not being able to stack across folders.


1DsMkIII | 1DMkIIN | 70-200 f/2.8L IS | 24-70 f/2.8L | 24-105 f/4L IS | 17-40 f/4L | 50 f/1.2L | WFT-E1 & E2 Transmitters - Click Here for setup advice | CP-E4 Battery Pack x 2 | ST-E2 | 580EX | 550EX | 430EXII | 420EX | Tripod + monopod | Bowens Esprit Gemini 500W/s heads & Travel-Pak | All this gear - and still no idea :confused:

LOG IN TO REPLY
EOSAddict
Book Committee Immortal
EOSAddict's Avatar
6,067 posts
Joined Apr 2005
Preston, Lancashire, England
Apr 20, 2007 10:13 |  #7

That one mainly! My folder structure is fairly tight (I only keep 200 images in the same folder and separate RAWs and JPGs) so when I imported my pre LR images I imported all my converted JPGs too (until they release the RSP .rws migration tool!). Now I can't stack the RAW and its associated converted JPG as they sit in different folders.

Also my folders are defined by image number not subject so if a subject covers more than one folder I can't stack images.


Al
My Gear, My Website: www.endofthetrailphoto​graphy.com (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
canoflan
Goldmember
canoflan's Avatar
1,059 posts
Joined Jul 2006
Texas, US
Apr 20, 2007 15:53 |  #8
banned

I don't use stacking. I find it better to see all the pics laid out. My preference.


Jesus Christ, as God, creates what I shoot; I simply have the privilege of capturing it.

5D, 30D, 4 L's, 500D macro, Canon CP filter, 580EX, Metz 58, Giottos CF Monopod, Giottos CF tripod, RRS BH-55 head, RRS wedding pro flash flipper thing-a-ma-bob dealy, lighting accessories, white umbrella, PWs, ThinkTank Photo Urban Disguise 40, ThinkTank Photo Airport Addicted...:cool:

PS CS3, LR, iMac, i9900 printer, Ilford Smooth Pearl paper

http://canoflan.exposu​remanager.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

4,097 views & 0 likes for this thread
Lightroom Stacking
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.0008 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is junkyardninja
742 guests, 596 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016