LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


New here - help with

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon G-series Digital Cameras
Thread started 18 May 2002 (Saturday) 11:34   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
jefflackey
Hatchling
Joined May 2002
2 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

I found a short thread on this, but I need major help!

I'm a decent photographer, love my G-2, and I want to be able to play more with light and shadows. I also would like to be able to do more portrait and people photography.

So - I really want to venture off into the world of off-camera, studio style photography with my G-2.

Could someone be kind and patient enough to reply with a couple of things: one, a tutorial for dummies on how to do this with a G-2; and secondly, a specific list of the type of equipment needed (e.g., this hotshoe converter, this cord, this slave, these types of lights, etc.) I know the latter is a very broad request, but if I had some specific lists of equipment, it would be very helpful in understanding how all of this goes together. And I do understand that costs for a two light set-up (what I'm looking for now) can vary tremendously, but again, if I have some specific lists I can figure out what i can substitute.

Thanks!

Jeff Lackey

Post #1, May 18, 2002 11:34:12




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Clare
Hatchling
Joined Mar 2002
8 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Hi Jeff

I'm sort of hoping that someone can help with the tutorial stuff as well!

I've been playing with the G2 letting the camera flash trigger my Vivitar 285 flash using a slave with cord to the flash. I mounted the flash on a tripod and use the bounce card for the flash I got years ago. Mostly I'm doing close-up/still life type of phots and I get good results but not great results. I'm not yet really re-working the images through software yet either, so - lots to learn!!

I have been recording my images in RAW format setting the camera f/stop and the 285 to match. I still need to experiment some more!

Good luck

Clare

Post #2, May 18, 2002 18:54:11




LOG IN TO REPLY
kiwikeith
Member
Joined Apr 2002
52 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Hi Clare
I am using my G2 for studio portraits and am setting it up normally on my Tripod,setting it on manual and just using the inbuilt flash to trigger my monolights which both have slave cells on them.
I currently use 1 x monolight (strobe) as a main and a large,thick piece of polystyrene that builders use to line walls for insulation,as a reflector (or fill).
I started out covering the flas with a small,thick piece of paper attached with masking tape in order to diffuse the flash and I set the flash on red eye.I star out with say 160th second and F8 and see what the exposure looks like and then I adjust shutter speed or aperture till I get the right exposure,easy!
If you want more details just email me.You can see some of the results at this site.

http://www.photosig.co​m/myportfolios.php?id=​6696external link
The Danae photos were with 35mm camera.The rest G2

Regards
keith

Post #3, May 20, 2002 07:01:00




LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
TeamSpeed's Avatar
Joined May 2002
26,012 posts
NW Indiana
[MORE/SHARE]

I haven't tried this yet, but to soften the flash a bit, would putting a PDA screen protector over the flash diffuse it enough? They are probably too clear and the flash would still overpower the scene.

Post #4, May 21, 2002 08:42:31


Past Equipment | My Galleryexternal link
Resources For Sale: High ISO Denoiser Actionexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
jefflackey
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
Joined May 2002
2 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

I'm a bit puzzled - I've read several places that the problem with using the flash on the G-2 to trigger the slaves on studio flashes is that the G-2 flashes twice - once to set exposure followed by the main flash.

Ah - I just noticed that you are using manual - is that how you get around this problem? I'd really like to find a good solution that allows me to use exposure modes in addition to pure manual.

Cheers - Jeff

Post #5, May 22, 2002 19:33:54




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
kiwikeith
Member
Joined Apr 2002
52 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

For a list of studio lighting equipment needed go to photo.net and do a search on the forums and also Zuga.net do search on their forums..portraits,glam​our etc.
I have a New Bowens monolight 500ws and an old broncolor 250ws monolight,that is more than enough to get you going .IF you are in the UK or USA you are lucky and can get studio sets..lights, stands, umbrellas and even backgounds in kit form really cheap.Check them out!
I have struck no problems with pre flash,I think you are right using manual mode negates the pre flash.
If you use a Wein safe sync cord you will still have to use it on manual.The beauty of the g2 digital is that you get instant feedback and so you can try what you like.
If you want to do studio work you will not need other exposure modes..did you say you knew something about photography..can't remember.
Manual gives you the ability to set any aperture,any shutter speed ,as long as you have a decent tripod.
What specific exposure modes are thinking of.
For portraits 125th second f8 will cover most situations.
Regards
Keith

Post #6, May 27, 2002 06:08:01




LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
1,641 views & 0 likes for this thread
New here - help with
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon G-series Digital Cameras



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00068 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.01s
1137 guests, 838 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is davemcg

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.