Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon G-series Digital Cameras
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 18th of May 2002 (Sat)   #1
jefflackey

Default New here - help with

I found a short thread on this, but I need major help!

I'm a decent photographer, love my G-2, and I want to be able to play more with light and shadows. I also would like to be able to do more portrait and people photography.

So - I really want to venture off into the world of off-camera, studio style photography with my G-2.

Could someone be kind and patient enough to reply with a couple of things: one, a tutorial for dummies on how to do this with a G-2; and secondly, a specific list of the type of equipment needed (e.g., this hotshoe converter, this cord, this slave, these types of lights, etc.) I know the latter is a very broad request, but if I had some specific lists of equipment, it would be very helpful in understanding how all of this goes together. And I do understand that costs for a two light set-up (what I'm looking for now) can vary tremendously, but again, if I have some specific lists I can figure out what i can substitute.

Thanks!

Jeff Lackey
jefflackey is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 18th of May 2002 (Sat)   #2
Clare

Default Re: New here - help with

Hi Jeff

I'm sort of hoping that someone can help with the tutorial stuff as well!

I've been playing with the G2 letting the camera flash trigger my Vivitar 285 flash using a slave with cord to the flash. I mounted the flash on a tripod and use the bounce card for the flash I got years ago. Mostly I'm doing close-up/still life type of phots and I get good results but not great results. I'm not yet really re-working the images through software yet either, so - lots to learn!!