LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


Sunpak Flat Panel Flash and DRebel...

FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk
Thread started 29 Apr 2004 (Thursday) 17:43   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
pn.md
Member
Joined Mar 2004
76 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

I got the Sunpak Flat Panel Flash and I attached it to my DRebel's hot shoe adapter. However, when I hit the shutter the Sunpak is not triggered. Even tried automatic setting on DRebel.

Is there a setting on the camera or do I need cord between the Sunpak and DRebel? The Sunpak comes with a sync cord but you can't attach it to the DRebel.

Thanx. :)

http://www.sunpak.com/​fp_38_flash.htmlexternal link

IMAGE: http://www.bhphotovideo.com/images/largeimages/323726.jpg

Post #1, Apr 29, 2004 17:43:22




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
G3
Senior Member
Joined Jan 2004
593 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

I haven't used one of these, but it's quite possible that you need a dedicated module to make it work on the Drebel.

Post #2, Apr 29, 2004 22:46:02




LOG IN TO REPLY
slejhamer
Goldmember
slejhamer's Avatar
Joined Jun 2002
1,758 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Haven't used one either, but after reading the description page a couple of basic questions came up:
1. Have you installed charged batteries?
2. Do you have it set to 'slave' ?

Try taking it off camera and setting to slave, triggering with the camera's internal flash. If that works, then there may be an incompatibility with the hot shoe. Just a guess.

Question: in slave mode, does this have any type of delay to account for the Canon's pre-flash? It would be disappointing if the pre-flash triggered it.

Post #3, Apr 30, 2004 04:29:04


Mitch

LOG IN TO REPLY
pn.md
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Joined Mar 2004
76 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

The Sunpak has two switches:
1. on / off
2. Cell/ off-- I'm not sure what this setting means but of course I tried pics with both settings. Still no triggering of Sunpak.

The Sunpak does have a "sync" slot but there's place to plug it into the DREbel.

I'll have to call Sunpak Monday.

PS- the internal flash on the Canon does not trigger the Sunpak.

How is a 550EX Speedlite flash activated with a DRebel?

Post #4, May 01, 2004 12:37:11




LOG IN TO REPLY
G3
Senior Member
Joined Jan 2004
593 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

pn.md wrote:
The Sunpak has two switches:
1. on / off
2. Cell/ off-- I'm not sure what this setting means but of course I tried pics with both settings. Still no triggering of Sunpak.

The Sunpak does have a "sync" slot but there's place to plug it into the DREbel.

I'll have to call Sunpak Monday.

PS- the internal flash on the Canon does not trigger the Sunpak.

How is a 550EX Speedlite flash activated with a DRebel?

The 550EX is a dedicated flash for EOS. It can be mounted to the hotshoe or off camera with an off-camera cord. The Sunpak is not dedicated for EOS, which is why I said you might need a dedicated module for it.

Post #5, May 01, 2004 13:54:57




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)


LIST NEARBY THREADS
2,530 views & 0 likes for this thread
Sunpak Flat Panel Flash and DRebel...
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00071 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.01s
874 guests, 663 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is MoMoPhoto32250

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.